The Norby Chronicles Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Norby is the chief protagonist in the Norby Chronicles series of novels by Isaac Asimov. Norby made his first appearance in the 1983 published title “Norby the Mixed Up Robot” and went on to be the lead in eleven more tiles. While Janet Asimov wrote about 90% of the novels, Isaac Asimov polished some parts of the work and added his name to the series to enhance sales.

Order of Norby Series By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov

# Read Title Published Details
1 Norby, the Mixed-Up Robot (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1983 Description / Buy
2 Norby's Other Secret (Short Story) (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1984 Description / Buy
3 Norby and the Invaders (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1985 Description / Buy
4 Norby and the Lost Princess (Short Story) (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1985 Description / Buy
5 The Norby Chronicles (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1986 Description / Buy
6 Norby and the Queen's Necklace (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1986 Description / Buy
7 Norby: Robot for Hire (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1987 Description / Buy
8 Norby Finds a Villain (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1987 Description / Buy
9 Norby Through Time and Space (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1988 Description / Buy
10 Norby Down to Earth (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1989 Description / Buy
11 Norby and Yobo's Great Adventure (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1989 Description / Buy
12 Norby and the Oldest Dragon (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1990 Description / Buy
13 Norby and the Court Jester (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1996 Description / Buy
14 Norby and the Terrified Taxi (By: Isaac Asimov, Janet Asimov) 1997 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Norby character was originally a robot that had been brought into being by another robot known as Mentor First on an interstellar planet. His first mission proved a disaster as the ship he was traveling in veered into the asteroid belt, to be discovered by inventor and salvager McGilicuddy eons later. McGillicuddy welded most of what was remaining of the robot into a new robot that he called Norby. In time, the robot ended up in the hands of Jefferson Wells, who bought him from a used robot shop that promised that he was one of the best teaching robots they had.

The first novel in the series “Norby the Mixed Up Robot” is a story that follows a recently graduated space academy officer named Jeff Wells. Jeff has purchased a teaching robot that he believes will be instrumental in learning Martian Swahili. But Norby the robot turns out to have far many more special powers than most robots he has come across. Norby comes with hyperspace and anti-gravity capacities, even though controlling those powers is a problem for the robot that has not been suing them.

Things become even more complicated when Ing the Ingrate announces his plans to take over the galaxy. Being the evil man that he is, it is now up to Jeff, Norby, and Jeff’s older brother to take him on. What follows is a fascinating science fiction narrative that showcases the skills of Isaac Asimov in writing one of the most popular of series, that was later adapted into a serialized comic by Boys Life in the 90s.

BEST Norby Chronicles BOOKS:

Norby Finds A Villain: The sixth novel in the Norby Chronicles is generally regarded as one of its best. In this novel, Ing the villain from the first title in the series and Norby’s arch nemesis makes a return. Ing comes with even better skills, which make it very easy for him to steal the hyperspace capable space ship, the only one in the federation’s possession.

With the ship under his control, he deploys it in opening a portal into an alternate universe that allows an alien race called the Biguglies to enter the earth. It now up to Norby and his friends to fight and defeat the aliens, and while at it neutralize Ing and retake the space ship.

Norby and the Terrified Taxi: The eleventh title in the series is a fabulous story and fitting end to the Norby Chronicles series. Norby and his erstwhile friend Jeff are flying in deep space when they stumble upon an alien being from across the galaxy who has some bizarre technology. The technology has the power to connect the minds of robots and human beings alike and is aptly named “The Connector”.

Using the connector, the three travelers go back in space and time to study ancient periods in the history of the Earth such as the Cretaceous era, and well into the future where man and machine converge.

Norby and the Lost Princess: This is another charming book in the Norby Chronicles series. Norby gets together with his friends to travel to another planet. Eons ago an alien race known as “Others” had abducted humans and left them on the mysterious planet. The humans had populated and even established a new kingdom. But now a princess had been lost awhile testing a new spaceship that came with a hyper drive that had not been sufficiently tested. The three friends now have to find the princess and the very precious space ship, that the king is paying a very huge price if they are found.


Many fans of the Norby Chronicles series of novels are also fans of “The Old Man’s War” series of novels by John Scalzi. The series of novel is about old retired men who venture out into space for a life of adventure, war betrayal, and politics.

Fans of the Norby Chronicles books also enjoy “The Forever War” series by Joe Haldeman. The series features William Mandella, a military veteran that chooses to escape into space to fight an unconquerable and inscrutable enemy, rather than live in an intrusive and autocratic world.

What Is The Next Book in The Norby Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Norby Series. The newest book is Norby and the Terrified Taxi and was released on November, 1st 1997.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *