The Princess Diaries Books

The phrase ‘The Princess Diaries’ refers to a series of novels written for young readers by Meg Cabot. The books tell stories that repeatedly transition between New York City and Genovia, a fictional nation in Europe.

Order of The Princess Diaries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Princess Diaries 2000 Description / Buy
2 Princess in the Spotlight 2001 Description / Buy
3 Princess in Love 2001 Description / Buy
4 Princess in Waiting 2002 Description / Buy
5 Princess Lessons 2003 Description / Buy
6 Project Princess 2003 Description / Buy
7 Princess in Pink 2003 Description / Buy
8 Princess in Training 2004 Description / Buy
9 The Princess Present 2004 Description / Buy
10 Party Princess 2006 Description / Buy
11 Sweet Sixteen Princess (Short Story) 2006 Description / Buy
12 Princess on the Brink 2006 Description / Buy
13 Princess Mia 2007 Description / Buy
14 Forever Princess 2008 Description / Buy
15 Royal Wedding 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Mia Thermopolis, the central focus, is introduced to readers in ‘The Princess Diaries’, the first novel in the series.

At the time, Mia hates her life. A resident of Greenwich Village, Mia lives a rather privileged life. Her parents are clearly wealthy enough to afford to send her to one of the better schools in Manhattan.

But she is quite unpopular. She doesn’t appreciate her height or the fact that she is so flat-chested. Mia has a boy she absolutely adores but he doesn’t even know she exists. Her poor algebra scores are merely the icing on a very bad cake.

When Mia’s mother reveals that she is actually dating one of her teachers, the protagonist’s life implodes. She didn’t think things could get any worse.

But then her grandmother came to town and threw her life into disarray. People often ignored Mia because they thought she was just another ordinary girl.

They had no idea that Mia’s father was a prince and Mia was his only heir.

In fact, Mia herself was unaware of this particular aspect of her heritage. Most girls would have been ecstatic to discover that they had royal blood.

But Mia was apprehensive. She wanted nothing to do with the complexity of royal life. However, her father gave her little choice in the matter.

Not long after, her grandmother came to town. The woman wasn’t like any grandmother Mia had ever seen. She was strong, regal, and cold, and she was determined to transform Mia into the very image of Genovia royalty, a journey that the young girl wasn’t all that keen to undertake.

The Princess Diary series tells Mia’s story as she slowly but surely comes to terms with her new life. The girl chronicles her exploits and adventures in a series of diaries.

Her life and the series as a whole revolves around her lessons with her grandmother, her relationship with her best friend Lily and the love that eventually blossoms between the heroine and Michael, Lily’s older brother.

These books have a massive fanbase that loves Mia’s lively spirit and engaging personality.

The Princess Diaries Awards

These books have won a number of accolades over the years, this including the Evergreen Award from Washington, the Teens Public Library Award from New York, and the Volunteer Book Award from Tennessee.

The Princess Diaries Books into Movies

These novels were adapted into two movies. The first movie was simply called Princess Diaries. The sequel was titled Royal Engagement’.

Best The Princess Diaries Books

These novels are relatively typical of the YA genre and they are praised more for their charming heroine than anything else, with some of the best books in the series including:

Forever Princess: Mia’s life is great. Her senior year is winding down. Colleges are loving her. Things couldn’t be better, except for maybe the fact that no one wants to publish the novel she wrote, and her father’s election campaign is going poorly, and she isn’t even certain that her perfect boyfriend is the one.

Royal Wedding: The last five years of Mia’s life have been a wild ride. But she has finally reached a point of stability.

The princess’ longtime boyfriend finally popped the question, and Mia can’t wait to tackle her nuptials.

However, external forces are conspiring against her. Not only is her grandmother out to shake her boyfriend’s confidence but a faction in the kingdom is working behind the scenes to remove her father from the throne.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the “Pink and Green” Series by Lisa Greenwald. Lucy Desberg is a 12-year-old girl who works for her family’s struggling drugstore. She’s a natural problem solver. When she isn’t helping her parents keep their business afloat, Lucy can be found aiding her friends in their efforts to overcome beauty disasters.

Meg Cabot‘s “Insatiable” is another great read. Meena Harper is a special girl. She knows how people will die. Meena thought she had seen everything paranormal there was to see in life. Then she met a prince with a dark side and she realized that life still had so many surprises left for her to stumble upon.

What Is The Next Book in The Princess Diaries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Princess Diaries Series. The newest book is Royal Wedding and was released on January, 1st 2015.