The Secret World Chronicles Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Secret World Chronicles is a collection of science fiction and fantasy novels and short stories that began as a series of podcasts.

Get notified when Mercedes Lackey releases a new book at

Order of The Secret World Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Invasion ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Sgian Dubh ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2011 Description / Buy
3 White Bird ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Strike a Pose ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2011 Description / Buy
5 World Divided ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Revolution ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Exemplar ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2014 Description / Buy
8 Collision ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Avalanche ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2017 Description / Buy
10 Echo One ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Even though the literary version of the series is normally attributed to Mercedes Lackey, the novels are actually the work of multiple authors.

The fact that the Secret World Chronicles novels are so coherent tends to surprise people. It is quite rare to come across a book, let alone a series of books whose individual chapters are written by different authors that isn’t a complete mess.

The successful composition of this series can be imputed to Lackey who played an active role in the writing and compiling of the various chapters that make up the individual installments in this series.

The Secret World Chronicles takes readers to a world where the supernatural is real. There are people who manifested special powers in reaction to traumatic events. And now they use those powers to protect the world.

Invasion, the first novel, kicks the series off with a catastrophe. An army of transdimensional Nazis in special suits of armor invades the world.

It falls on the shoulders of Echo, the world’s most prominent organization of Meta-humans to counter their attack. However, stopping the Third Reich is easier said than done.

The foes facing Echo’s operatives are not only determined but inventive. And their invasion is quite grand, constituting ostensible assaults on major cities and stealthy strikes on those targets that will hurt the heroes the most.

It will take all the strength Echo can muster to keep the world from imploding.

It wouldn’t be erroneous to suggest that all the Secret World Chronicles books tell a singular story. The Third Reich is a recurring enemy that repeatedly haunts the world.

Every time the heroes think they have a handle on their foe, the Third Reich and the mysterious organization backing their invasion changes tactics, forcing Earth’s meta-humans to reevaluate their tactics.

Even though these books are science fiction superhero comic books come to life, they are very character based.

At their core is a menagerie of human beings with more personal quirks than they know what to do with.

Their inability to triumph against evil is often driven by their inability to overcome their demons.

And while Mercedes Lackey has quite the large cast of characters and she frequently changes them out, replacing old heroes and villains with new ones, a small set of protagonists always remains constant.

They include the magician and romance writer, Victoria Nagy; the blue-skinned heroine with the healing powers, Belladonna Parker; and the super-strong, super-fast hero, John Murdock.

You also have the CCCP, a group of superheroes from Russia whose nation rejected them; so they now fight for America and its principles.

The Secret World books are not perfect. But they are more cohesive and entertaining than any series of novels written by multiple authors has any right to be.

Best The Secret World Chronicles Books

These novels have been commended for refusing to sacrifice romance in favor of action and science fiction adventure, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Invasion: When Nazis in special suits come knocking, the world’s meta-humans must band together to stop a catastrophe from ensuing. But these special operatives are hardly in the best shape to save humanity.

You have Victoria, a powerful meta-human who can’t bear to leave her house, Murdock, who doesn’t know how to stop running from his problems, and the CCCP operative Red Savior who loves communism.

World Divided: The Third Reich attacked and things took a turn for the worst. But Echo, earth’s Meta-human organization came through. They beat the Nazi invasion back, though the cost was great.

But now they are more determined than ever to hunt down the Thule Society, the people that made the Nazi invasion happen.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Saga of the Forgotten Warrior” Series by Larry Correia as well. Long ago, a war among the Gods saw the demons cast down to the lower planes. There they wreaked havoc for a long time until the gods sent a hero to stop them. Centuries later, gods and demons are just a myth.

Ashok Vadal is the wielder of an ancient weapon and he’s about to learn that his life is a lie.

Another great series is the “Maradaine” Series by Marshall Ryan Maresca. To his peers, Veranix Calbert is just an ordinary magic student struggling to pass his classes at the University of Maradaine. None of them know of his nightly activities as the Thorn, a powerful figure who opposes the crime boss of Dentonhill.

What Is The Next Book in The Secret World Chronicles Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Secret World Chronicles Series. The newest book is Echo One and was released on April, 27th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *