The Selection Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Selection is a series of young adult novels that follow the exploits of a young girl with ambitious dreams to rule her country.

Order of Selection Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Selection 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Prince 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Elite 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Guard 2014 Description / Buy
5 The One 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Queen 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Heir 2015 Description / Buy
8 The Favorite 2015 Description / Buy
9 The Crown 2016 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Selection Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Queen 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Prince 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Selection 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Elite 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Guard 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Favorite 2015 Description / Buy
7 The One 2014 Description / Buy
8 The Heir 2015 Description / Buy
9 The Crown 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Written by Kiera Cass, the books take place in the country of Illea, a land that was once the United States. A series of catastrophic occurrences destroyed modern society as it is known today.

From the ashes of the United States of old arose a new society, one that was subdivided into eight castes around which the wealth and privilege of the new country were distributed. By the time The Selection, the first novel in the Selection series kicks off, the caste system is all but law.

Readers are introduced to America Singer, a precocious girl in her late teens with a significant problem on her hands. America couldn’t imagine her life without Aspen Leger.

He completed her in ways no one else could. But they couldn’t be together because Aspen was a level 6, one caste lower than America. As such, any relationship between the two of them was all but forbidden.

For a time, America and Aspen were content to pursue their love in the shadows, holding dates in the dark of night and hoping to hell that their relationship remained a secret. But Aspen came to the eventual realization that, with the restrictions of his caste, he could never care for America in the way that she deserved.

So he encouraged her to join the selection, a competition that called upon the country’s most eligible women to participate in a clash of wills for the chance to marry Maxon, the Prince of Illea.

America was reluctant to take this path. The notion of becoming a princess and enjoying the luxuries the highest caste in the land had to offer never appealed to her. But then, against all odds, her submission was accepted.

Not only was life among royalty more to America Singer’s liking than she expected but she quickly found her fondness for Prince Maxon growing; this was as Aspen secured a position at the palace as a guard, forcing America to question her feelings and desires.

The Selection series follows America as she contends against the other contestants in the Selection, bonds with Maxon and struggles to make sense of her relationship with Aspen.

This is as the country of Illea struggles to overcome political turmoil in light of a series of rebel attacks designed to remake the country’s social fabric.

The Selection books are more romance than anything else. They have been criticized for their exaggerated characterizations and the author’s perceived ignorance of the nature of politics and war in modern-day America.

The Selection Awards

The first novel in the selection series received Volunteer State Book award, Colorado Blue Spruce Award, Iowa High School Book Award and, Louisiana Teen Reader’s Choice nominations in 2014 and 2015.

Best The Selection Books

The Selection books tend to attract as much fervent hate as they do determined adoration, with some of the best novels in the series including:

The Elite: The Selection brings 35 girls together in a competition to win the heart of Prince Maxon. With that number having been whittled down to six, the contest is rapidly approaching a climax.

Unfortunately for America Singer, she still doesn’t know what she wants. She knows she’s grown really fond of Maxon but Aspen is still lodged deep within her heart.

Unfortunately for America, her competitors are not so indecisive, and if she isn’t careful, she just might lose her one chance at a happy ending.

The One: America Singer never wanted to enter the Selection. She cared little for the prince and the crown. But now everything’s changed. America’s never felt closer to Maxon. But things in Illea are taking a dark turn.

There are threats outside working to bring the country to its knees. America must fight for herself and the future of those she loves.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out “The Darkest Minds” Series By Alexander Bracken. A mysterious disease killed most of America’s children; some of those that survived developed dangerous abilities. Ruby is one such child. She escaped her government’s brutal rehabilitation camp and now leads others like her in a fight to burn their country’s corrupt system to the ground.

Another series to read is the “Twilight Saga” Series by Stephenie Meyer. Bella Swan is an ordinary teenage girl who moves to Arizona to live with her father. There she meets a vampire and a werewolf each of whom is determined to claim her love.

What Is The Next Book in The Selection Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Selection Series. The newest book is The Crown and was released on May, 3rd 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.