Those Manning Men Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Manning Sisters was a series of novels written in 1990 by Debbie Macomber. The novels were relatively well received. As the name suggests, they followed sisters from the Manning family and the complications assaulting their romantic lives.

Get notified when Debbie Macomber releases a new book at

Order of Those Manning Men Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Marriage of Inconvenience ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Stand-In Wife ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1992 Description / Buy
3 Bride on the Loose ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1992 Description / Buy
4 Same Time, Next Year ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1995 Description / Buy
5 The Manning Brides (Collection of book 1 & 2) (By: Debbie Macomber) 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Manning Grooms (Collection of book 3 & 4) (By: Debbie Macomber) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Silver Bells ( By: Debbie Macomber) 2009 Description / Buy

Order of The Manning Sisters Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Cowboy's Lady ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Sheriff Takes a Wife ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Two years later, Debbie released Those Manning Men. Originally, the series was just a trilogy of books. Then Debbie released another book in 1995, and then another one in 2009, so many years after the last one.

And as the name suggests, the spin-off of the Manning Sisters follows the men in the Manning Family who are just as lost when it comes to matters of romance as the Manning Sisters.

The stories that Debbie tells here have a similar theme. You have men and women that get together in situations they expect to be platonic. However, their friendships slowly but surely burgeon into something more romantic.

The first novel in the series, Marriage of Convenience, starts with Rich Manning’s female friend asking him to help her conceive a child. Jamie is looking for something convenient and uncomplicated. However, Rich Manning will only give her a child if they marry. It doesn’t take the pair long to discover that there might be something so much more passionate between them than they initially assumed.

The next two books continue to push this theme of two friends coming together and discovering that their relationship has the potential to grow romantically.

Debbie Macomber has been writing novels since the 1980s. Despite having a reading handicap, Debbie persevered until she achieved her dream. She often speaks of the five years she spent struggling to sell her manuscripts to publishers.

She was met with many rejections, this including one Editor from Harlequin that told her to simply throw her manuscript away. Luckily for Debbie, she didn’t listen. Instead, she sold this same manuscript to Silhouette Books.

Debbie has since gained renown as one of the best writers in the Romance genre, and she has only grown stronger with the passing of time.

Best Those Manning Men Books

The fact that this series is merely a spin-off doesn’t mean the books are somehow diminished in quality, with some of the best titles in this series including the following:

Same Time, Next Year: James Wilkens might be a dignified Judge but he cannot always control circumstances. When he rescues Summer Lawton from a distressing situation, the pair shares an unforgettable night.

Unsatisfied with the fleeting experience, James and Summer promise to meet again in a year’s time in the same place. However, even a repetition of the experience wasn’t enough. So James makes what some people might consider an impulsive decision and marries Summer.

However, even with the passion of their love, James and Summer’s future isn’t so certain, not with all the odds they are facing.

This book tells a light and sweet love story. James is Christy Manning’s ex. Even though he isn’t a Manning by blood, the family treats him like a son. At the start of the book, he is a little quiet and reserved, this as opposed to Summer Lawton who is a little wild.

The pair has to overcome the interfering ways of their families, not to mention those individuals working to expand James’ prospects as a judge and for whom Summer is an obstacle.

Silver Bells: Phillip Lark did his best to raise his rambunctious daughter, and he more or less succeeded in his efforts. Now, the daughter is determined to find Lark a wife. She sets her sights on Carrie Weston, a lovely woman by any standards.

Lark has always opposed the idea of remarrying but Carrie just might change his mind.

This book reaches back into previous Manning books and reintroduces a few familiar characters. The story here is predictable but that doesn’t make the book any less entertaining. Debbie knows how to keep things interesting, even when you can guess how they will play out.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Lake District Mysteries” are written by Martin Edwards, a British Author. The crime novels are set in the Lake District in England. They feature Daniel Kind, a historian, and Hannah Scarlet, a Detective Chief Inspector. They work together to solve crimes.

The “From Manhattan with Love” series is written by Sarah Morgan. The novels are pretty conventional when it comes to the romantic genre, and follow men and women living in Manhattan who struggle with issues of love and romance.

What Is The Next Book in The Those Manning Men Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Those Manning Men Series. The newest book is Silver Bells and was released on October, 1st 2009.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *