Twins Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Twins is a series of novels written by Enid Blyton. Most fans of Enid Blyton know her for her mystery novels featuring precocious children who keep putting their minds to the task of righting wrongs and finding the truth behind crimes.

Most such fans are unaware of the myriad of books Enid wrote in her early years; many of them illustrated children’s books lacking in the boarding school and mystery aspects the author has become known for.

Order of The Twins Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales of the Twins ( By: Enid Blyton) 1948 Description / Buy
2 Hello Twins ( By: Enid Blyton) 1951 Description / Buy
3 Come Along Twins ( By: Enid Blyton) 1952 Description / Buy
4 Here come the twins ( By: Enid Blyton) 1953 Description / Buy
5 Trouble for the twins ( By: Enid Blyton) 1955 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Twins’ is one such early series. The series first started publication in 1948 with ‘Tales of the Twins’ which essentially established the tone that would carry on throughout the series’ run.

As the name suggests, the Twins series revolves around twins. Jinny and Johnny are identical in every way, except for the fact that Jinny is a girl and Johnny is a boy. The books do not tell any particular narrative.

Rather, they are a collection of three to five shorts stories that find the twins engaging in some sort of adventure. The adventures are appropriate for the age of the twins. In other words, rather than taking on criminal masterminds like the children of Famous Five, Jinny and Johnny will spend an afternoon caring for a dog with a thorn in its foot.

Each story forces the twins to undertake an activity through which they learn lessons. These lessons include learning to share and being kind to things that might not initially seem like they deserve kindness.

The books include colorful illustrations of Jinny and Johnny’s adventures.

Even though the ‘Twins’ books are illustrated children’s titles, they clearly bear the mark of Enid Blyton, especially in the way they are written. The author, who was born in 1897, always knew that she wanted to write. However, the people around her discouraged the activity because they deemed it a waste of time.

Fortunately for Enid, her father was always encouraging her to experiment with her writing abilities. Enid eventually gained the confidence to submit some of her stories to different magazines and that set her on the path to becoming a renowned author.

Enid Blyton spent some time as a teacher, and that spirit manifests clearly in the way she crafts the stories of the Twins series, with each tale clearly bringing out a message for younger readers to enjoy.

Best Twins Books

The Twins books are not as well known amongst readers at the present. But those individuals who read them as children remember fondly the messages they imparted, with some of the best books in the series including:

Tale of the Twins: The first book in the ‘Twins’ series tells three primary stories. The first story finds Jinny and Johnny sulking after a beautiful ball, a present from their mother, is destroyed by a dog. They look for the dog with the intention of hitting and scolding it. But they are drawn in by its sympathetic plight.

The second story finds the twins stumbling upon a scarecrow. The scarecrow initially frightens them and even comes to them in their dreams. But their mother shows them a different way of looking at the scarecrow.

The third story revolves around the twins finding a parcel dropped by a postman and trying to decide whether or not they should open it.

Hello Twins: The second book in the ‘Twins’ series brings even more engaging stories to the table than its predecessor. The first tale in the book pits Jinny against Johnny when she accuses him of stealing her lovely little engine. Johnny isn’t amused by the accusation and cries.

The second story finds the twins lost in the woods and trying to find their way out.

In the third story, the twins need to find some money to buy their mother an expensive gift.

Other Book Series You May Like

1). The “Wishing Chair” Series by Enid Blyton

The Wishing Chair series follows the adventures of Mollie and Peter, siblings whose attempts at finding their mother a great gift lead them to an antique shop where they stumble upon a magic chair.

Because the chair has wings, Mollie and Peter are able to go on all sorts of adventures, visiting new lands and meeting new people.

2). “Mr. Galliano’s Circus” Series by Enid Blyton

This series of novels from Enid Blyton tells the story of Jimmy Brown who joins the circus with his parents. There he meets all manner of unique and quirky individuals.

What Is The Next Book in The Twins Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Twins Series. The newest book is Trouble for the twins and was released on January, 1st 1955.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *