Weezie and Bebe Mysteries Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Weezie and Bebe Mysteries is a series of mystery/suspense novels written by Mary Kay Andrews. Set in the South, the books feature a garbage picker who solves crimes in her spare time.

Get notified when Mary Kay Andrews releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Weezie & Bebe Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savannah Blues ( By: Mary Kay Andrews) 2002 Description / Buy
2 Savannah Breeze (By: Mary Kay Andrews) 2006 Description / Buy
3 Blue Christmas (By: Mary Kay Andrews) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Christmas Bliss ( By: Mary Kay Andrews) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

No one really knows how to categorize the Weezie and Bebe series. Some people are happy to simply call them mystery/suspense novels. Others are quick to point out the fact that a lot of time is spent delving into the personal lives of the heroine and her supporting cast, so much so that this series would be better classified as chick-lit.

All the interest in the heroine’s love life has also compelled certain voices to call these romance novels.

The focus of Mary Kay Andrews’ stories is Weezie Foley. Readers meet her in Savannah Blues, the first novel in the series, just as she makes her latest attempt at starting over.

Weezie was married. She lived in a beautiful home in the historic district of Savannah, Georgia that she had painstakingly restored. But then her marriage fell apart and Weezie’s ex-husband had the audacity to throw her out of their home.

Weezie landed on her feet, though. Because she wouldn’t vacate their property, the heroine was eventually awarded the carriage house.

She had to contend with her ex-husband’s new sour fiance. But Weezie was glad to have a roof over her head. If that wasn’t enough, the protagonist also breathed new life into her antique collecting career.

It was her job to ruffle through the junk that some people had thrown away to find the gems that others might want.

Weezie wasn’t looking for trouble. She just wanted to make sense of her new life as a single woman. But then her ex-husband’s fiance died and everyone decided that Weezie had done the dirty deed.

Unable to trust the police to exonerate her, Weezie decided to do the impossible. She decided that she would investigate the case on her own.

The Weezie and Bebe Mysteries series follows the adventures that the garbage picker eventually undertakes as a burgeoning detective with a complicated life.

The Weezie and Bebe books spend a lot of time exploring Weezie Foley’s personal life, not only her daily activities as an antique expert but the work she does as a baker for her friend Bebe’s restaurant.

Some emphasis is also placed on Daniel, the attractive chef that seems to share Weezie’s every interest but who Weezie shies away from because her marriage burned her.

It is worth noting that Weezie never actively seeks out trouble. In fact, she is more than happy to let the police solve any murders and crimes she encounters.

The protagonist only acts when those closest to her are harmed and she concludes that the police are incapable of delivering justice.

Weezie and Bebe Mysteries Awards

The first book in this series was nominated for an Edgar and Macavity Award in 2003.

Best Weezie and Bebe Mysteries Books

People love these books because they spend as much time looking at the minutiae of the heroine’s life as they do unraveling the mysteries, with some of the best books in the series including:

Savannah Blues: Weezie is an antique picker with a problem. When they divorced, her husband threw her out of the house she had worked so hard to restore. Then he stuck her in the carriage house and brought a new fiance home.

Weezie would have loved nothing better than to put her ex-husband and their divorce behind her. But then someone killed the man’s ex-fiance and framed Weezie for the crime.

Savannah Breeze: Bebe Loudermilk, Weezie’s friend, just lost everything. The Southern belle was seduced by a handsome conman who stole every asset of significance that she owned. Now Bebe is heading to Fort Lauderdale.

The swindler has been spotted in the area. Joined by Weezie, the divorcee will stop at nothing to get back what she’s owed.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Charleston Harbor” Series by Debbie White. Annie McPherson is unlucky in love. All the blind dates her aunt organizes never end well. So she just wants to be left alone as she runs her bakery. She is ready to spend the rest of her life as a single woman.

Women are the last thing on Jack’s mind. A horrible break-up nearly ruined his life. When he walks into a shop to pick up some cakes for his niece, he doesn’t expect Annie to sweep him off his feet.

You may also like the “Moonlight Harbor” Series by Sheila Roberts. Jenna Jones was happily married. Now she’s in her early forties and divorced. With her ex claiming spousal support, Jenna can barely support herself and her teenage daughter.

So when her aging aunt asks her to come to town to run the Driftwood Inn, she doesn’t hesitate. Jenna’s new town is quite rundown and the Driftwood Inn needs a lot of work.

But the heroine has many new friends to help her start over, some of them more handsome than others.

What Is The Next Book in The Weezie & Bebe Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Weezie & Bebe Mysteries Series. The newest book is Christmas Bliss and was released on October, 15th 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *