Wicked Lovely Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Wicked Lovely is the title of a series of Young Adult Romance novels written by Melissa Marr. It constitutes full-length novels and short stories.

Get notified when Melissa Marr releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Wicked Lovely Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wicked Lovely ( By: Melissa Marr) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Ink Exchange ( By: Melissa Marr) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Fragile Eternity ( By: Melissa Marr) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Radiant Shadows ( By: Melissa Marr) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Stopping Time ( By: Melissa Marr) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Darkest Mercy ( By: Melissa Marr) 2011 Description / Buy
7 Old Habits ( By: Melissa Marr) 2011 Description / Buy
8 Faery Tales & Nightmares ( By: Melissa Marr) 2012 Description / Buy
9 Desert Tales ( By: Melissa Marr) 2013 Description / Buy
10 Tales of Folk & Fey (By: Melissa Marr) 2019 Description / Buy
11 Dark Court Faery Tales (By: Melissa Marr) 2019 Description / Buy
12 Love Hurts (Short Story) ( By: Melissa Marr) 2019 Description / Buy
13 Cold Iron Heart ( By: Melissa Marr) 2020 Description / Buy
14 Summer Bound (Short Story) ( By: Melissa Marr) 2020 Description / Buy
15 Winter Dreams (By: Melissa Marr) 2020 Description / Buy
16 Wicked Mercy ( By: Melissa Marr) 2022 Description / Buy
17 Dark Sun (By: Melissa Marr) 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Wicked Lovely: Desert Tales Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sanctuary ( By: Melissa Marr) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Challenge ( By: Melissa Marr) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Resolve ( By: Melissa Marr) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Wicked Lovely, the first novel in the series, actually started as a short story called The Sleeping Girl. But Melissa, the author, saw potential in the characters. So she turned the story into a full-length novel and submitted it to an agent.

The book takes readers to a world where faeries are real. The affairs of the magical realm are managed by the Dark Court and the High Court, two factions of the fae that represent the darkness and the light.

For peace to persist, perfect harmony must be maintained between these two entities. However, that is easier said than done.

The politics of the dark and the high court is messy, complicated by matters of love and romance. Fortunately, faeries have the freedom to administer their affairs in isolation, away from the meddling hands of human beings.

This freedom is nurtured by a special ability these creatures have to hide from human eyes. Faeries are ruthless and they will not hesitate to bring harm to those individuals who either intentionally or accidentally pierce the veil maintaining their secrecy.

Aishlin, the heroine of Wicked Lovely, was told very early on in her life that her special ability to see faeries had to remain a secret. Her grandmother repeatedly warned her of the consequences she would suffer if the fae ever realized that she could see them.

Aishlin spent several years successfully hiding her gift. But then she met Keenan, Lord of Summer, and everything changed. Aishlin’s special sight came to light and she realized that she had a far grander role to play in the future of the fae that she could have ever imagined.

Because Aishlin is such a critical figure in the first Wicked Lovely novel, some people might be shocked to find that she only plays a minor role in the sequels.

In truth, the Wicked Lovely series doesn’t have a central protagonist. Each installment in the series actually stands on its own, featuring a new heroine, a pair of heroes and a new villain that must be overcome.

The setting doesn’t change. At the center of each book are the political machinations of the Dark Court and the High Court.

The romance is also never far. Love triangles abound in Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely stories. Her heroines are repeatedly forced to choose between both human and faery men.

The decisions they make in this arena always have lasting consequences for both humans and fae.

Wicked Lovely Awards

Book 2 was nominated for a Buckeye Children’s Award in 2010. Book 4 actually won the RT Reviewers Choice Award in 2010 whereas Book 1 earned nominations from accolades like the Delaware Diamonds Award, the Tayshas Reading prize, and the Green Mountain Book Award.

This is on top of winning the Rita Award in 2008.

Best Wicked Lovely Books

These novels are typically praised for their detailed exploration of fae culture, with some of the best books in the series including:

Radiant Shadows: A long time ago, Devlin was ordered by Sorcha, the High Queen, to kill a Halfling called Ani. But Devlin, ever the loyal soldier, disobeyed. He spared Ani.

Now Devlin’s lies are coming apart. Rae, a girl he agreed to shelter without Sorcha’s knowledge or permission, has been found by the High Queen.

If that wasn’t bad enough, Ani isn’t making things easy for Devlin. The Hound isn’t one to stand by and watch as others fight her battles.

Darkest Mercy: The Fae are in disarray. Keenan is missing. And as Queen, Aishlin worries for the safety of the Summer King but she is also preoccupied with her feelings for Seth.

Meanwhile, Keenan must come to terms with his conflicting feelings for both his new and old love before war descends upon his court.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out “The Bullets” Series by Coralee June as well. This reverse-harem series follows the exploits of a privileged girl with a seemingly perfect home life whose encounter with the four boys she loves brings the skeletons in her family’s closet to light.

You may also like the “Shadow Falls” Series by C.C. Hunter. Kylie Galen thought she was normal. Then she discovered her new powers and was shipped off to Shadow Falls, a camp populated by werewolves, vampires and various other supernatural creatures.

What Is The Next Book in The Wicked Lovely Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Wicked Lovely Series. The newest book is Dark Sun and was released on February, 12th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *