Wolfe Family Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Wolfe Family is a series of Westerns written by James Carlos Blake. Wolfe Family is more of a family saga. However, the book plays with so many genres that most industry professionals are happy to simply categorize the series as a Western.

Get notified when James Carlos Blake releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Wolfe Family Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Country of the Bad Wolfes ( By: James Carlos Blake) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Rules of Wolfe ( By: James Carlos Blake) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The House of Wolfe ( By: James Carlos Blake) 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Ways of Wolfe ( By: James Carlos Blake) 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Bones of Wolfe ( By: James Carlos Blake) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novels take a multi-generational peak into the Wolfe family. Roger Blake Wolfe was a pirate. He left Mary Parham, his wife, mere months after his twin sons were born. Country of the Bad Wolfes, the first novel in the Wolfe Family series, looks at the lives of Samuel and Roger Wolfe as they proceed to cause mayhem all over Mexico and the United States.

James Carlos Blake’s career was made by his stories which explored outlaw life on the border between Mexico and the United States. Blake was born in Mexico. He has Mexican, Irish and English ancestry.

The American author finished elementary school in Brownsville, Texas (St. Joseph’s Academy) before he moved to Miami to pursue his high school Education.

Blake spent a few years in the army before returning to civilian life and getting his BA and MA, not to mention a Bowling Green State University MFA Degree.

Blake’s Wolfe Family series could be classified as historical fiction. After all, the author takes readers all the way back to New England in the 18th century. From there, Blake follows the machinations of the Wolfe Family through the 19th and 20th Century.

Each book takes readers to a different member of a particular generation of the Wolfe clan. And they are all typically up to no good. Roger Blake Wolfe’s twins are drawn into the Mexican war in the first book.

Eddie Gato Wolfe from the second book is immersed in the operations of the gun-running section of the family. Though he becomes so dissatisfied with his limited role in the business that he runs over to Mexico and gets involved with a drug cartel, a decision that almost gets him killed.

Jessica Juliet Wolfe is just in the wrong place at the wrong time. A gangster takes an entire wedding party hostage and Jessica just happens to be in attendance. In this case, Jessica is fortunate that her relatives are outlaws because they waste little time in mounting a rescue.

The Wolfe Family novels are very violent. However, James Carlos Blake earns that violence by preceding all the blood and gore with proper character development.

James Carlos Blake has been praised for his succinct writing style and muscular prose.

Wolfe Family Awards

The Rules of Wolfe, the second Wolfe Family novel was nominated for a Dagger Award. Country of the Bad Wolfes was nominated for a Spur Award.

Best Wolfe Family Books

James Carlos Blake has been praised for telling stories that are so vivid that he has fooled some readers into believing that the Wolfe Family was a real clan that existed in history, with some of the best books in the series including:

Country of the Bad Wolfes: The Wolfe family began in New Hampshire. The year was 1828 when a pirate lit the spark that would bring a clan of outlaws into being. Readers are initially allowed to follow up on the adventures of Roger Blake Wolfe’s twin sons who were so close as children but eventually went their separate ways.

The book then introduces readers to another set of twins who, as teenagers, show a boldness that drives them to kill and maim and explore the untamed wild.

James Carlos Blake shows audiences the paths and decisions that turned the Wolfe Family from random nobodies to legendary outlaws.

Rules of Wolfe: Eddie Gato Wolfe is unhappy. He is allowed to participate in the Wolfe Family’s gun-running affairs but his role is simply too minuscule. He needs to do more. That impetuous attitude drives the youngster to run off to Mexico.

There he joins a Mexican Drug Cartel and falls for his boss’ girl. Pretty soon, Eddie and his new love interest are on the run from a vengeful man who won’t be satisfied until he skins Eddie alive.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “McRyan Mystery” Series by Roger Stelljes. Michael McKenzie McRyan is a handsome 4th generation Detective that works with the St. Paul Homicide unit. McRyan spends his days balancing his crime-solving duties with his burgeoning relationship with Assistant District Attorney Sally Kennedy.

You may also enjoy the “Joe Johnson Thriller” Series by Andrew Turpin. Joe Johnson is a former CIA operative and Nazi hunter who spends this series digging into and unraveling war crimes around the world that have gone unsolved.

What Is The Next Book in The Wolfe Family Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Wolfe Family Series. The newest book is The Bones of Wolfe and was released on July, 7th 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *