Word & Void Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Word/ Void is a series of dark urban fantasy book written by a bestselling American author of science fiction, fantasy, literature and fiction books. The series is set in the late twentieth century and early 21st century and focuses Nest Freemark, and John Ross forced acquaintances who use magic given to the by the embodiment of good in the world known as the Word. They use their magic to overcome evil forces of the void from defeating mankind and taking control over the world.

Get notified when Terry Brooks releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Word & Void Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Running with the Demon ( By: Terry Brooks) 1997 Description / Buy
2 A Knight of the Word ( By: Terry Brooks) 1998 Description / Buy
3 Angel Fire East ( By: Terry Brooks) 1999 Description / Buy
4 Imaginary Friends (Short Story) ( By: Terry Brooks) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Word/ Void books are where the large Shannara series kicks off. Brooks began the publication of Word/ Void in 1997 when Running with the Demon the first book in the series was published. The other two novels in the series A Knight of the Word and Angel Fire East were published in 1998 and 1999 respectively.


These are three best books in Word/ Void series by Terry Brooks, Running with the Demon (1997) and A Knight of the Word (1998).

Running with the Demon: Many years ago, Terry Brooks, the man behind the creation of Word/Void books transformed fantasy fiction with the Sword of Shannara- the first fantasy novels to make its way to the best sellers list.

Now in Running with the Demon, the author does nothing less than to rekindle the fantasy fiction once more- by inventing a powerful and sophisticated new mythos of the Void and the Word, between evil versus good.

One of the hottest months of July in decades, two men set their foot in Hopewell, Illinois, a site for a lengthy and bitter steel strike. One of the men is a demon, the puppet of the Void who is determined to use frustrations and anger of the society to achieve a lethal goal.

The other man is John Ross, a soldier of the Word, a man whom while he sleeps the world changes for the worst if he fails to turn it for the good of waking up. He has been given the ability to see what would happen in the future and he does not have the power to change it.

The person at stake is the life of a teenage girl who is mysteriously linked to the two men and the lives of residents of Hopewell and the future of the country.

This hottest month of July, while families and friends tour the Sinnisssippi Park, and fireworks explode in the air in celebration of independence and freedom, the fate of mankind will be decided.

Running with the Demon features a story that weaves together fading innocence, family drama, enlightenment, the cataclysm in a way that will forever transform how you think about fantasy stories.

In the Running with the Devil, there is a constant challenge between the good and the evil- and in this case being Words versus the Void. The story invokes the idea that evil is always evolving and always attacking the moral fiber in the world.

On the other hand, good is always there, and unlike evil- something that which is good does not change, but it’s still ready to stand firm and fight against the ever-changing evil.

A Knight of the Word: Book two in The Word and the Void series by Terry Brooks. The novel features some new characters, but some such as John Ross, Nest, and O’olish Amaneh are still retained. However, in this installment, John Ross is the man in danger and Nest must convince him to the Word otherwise he faces death if he falls.

The story takes place exactly five years after the first novel in the series, Running with the Demon when Nest is grieving the death of her grandpa, Bob Freemark. She is faced with some difficult choices to make- first whether to sell her house and balancing her duties to serve Word and her dream when she gets news about Ross.

After a failure for which Ross blames himself, he quits being a soldier of the Word. But the fact is that no one quits being a Knight of the Word until the Word can release him.


If you like The Word and Void trilogy, then you will find these two novel series worth reading, “Dreamers” series by Eddings Leigh Eddings and “The Book of Silence” by William Horwood.

What Is The Next Book in The Word & Void Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Word & Void Series. The newest book is Imaginary Friends and was released on October, 31st 2011.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *