Brenda Chapman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Brenda Chapman is a Canadian author that writes mystery novels for children as well as adults. Chapman was born in 1955. She spent her childhood in Terrace Bay, Ontario.

Order of Anna Sweet Mysteries Series

1My Sister's Keeper (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
2The Hard Fall (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
3To Keep a Secret (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
4A Model Death (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
5No Trace (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy
6Missing Her (Short Story) 2017Description / Buy
7Killer Heat (Short Story) 2020Description / Buy
8Too Close to Home (Short Story) 2020Description / Buy

Order of Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries Series

1Cold Mourning 2014Description / Buy
2Butterfly Kills 2015Description / Buy
3Tumbled Graves 2016Description / Buy
4Shallow End 2017Description / Buy
5Bleeding Darkness 2018Description / Buy
6Turning Secrets 2019Description / Buy
7Closing Time 2020Description / Buy

Order of Brenda Chapman Standalone Novels

1Running Scared (Short Story) 2004Description / Buy
2Hiding in Hawk's Creek (Short Story) 2006Description / Buy
3Where Trouble Leads (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
4Trail of Secrets (Short Story) 2009Description / Buy
5In Winter's Grip 2010Description / Buy
6The Second Wife (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
7Second Chances 2012Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author studied English Literature at Lakehead University before earning her Education Degree from Queen’s University. She started writing because she was passionate about mysteries and thrillers.

When she was young, Chapman loved Enid Blyton. When she wasn’t reading ‘The Famous Five’ and ‘The Secret Seven’, the author would dream about going on adventures like her favorite heroes.

At the time, Chapman lived in a small, isolated town near Lake Superior. The notion of running off to an exotic location to solve mysteries in the company of a clever dog appealed to her.

Her decision to study English Literature at University made sense at the time. In high school, the author read voraciously. She also had a talent for churning out well-written essays.

She was convinced that an English degree would make effective use of her talents. The author realized too late that the degree did not give her any significant marketable skills.

This is why she eventually found her way to a teacher’s college before spending the next 15 years teaching special education. During those years, the author kept writing. But she never pursued the activity seriously.

Chapman would pen poems and articles for her own amusement. Her big break came when she secured a federal position as a writer and editor. At first, the job was quite exciting. Or at the very least, it felt like a step in the right direction where the author’s career was concerned.

But it only took a few months, during which she wrote documents about pesticides, for Brenda Chapman to realize that she needed a creative outlet. She garnered some success in 2001 when she wrote ‘True North’. The author did not expect the article to gain so much traction.

After getting quite a few of her articles published without receiving any monetary rewards, Chapman’s husband asked her to submit her work to larger magazines.

The goal was to use the rejection letters she would receive to claim tax write-offs. The concept made sense to Chapman. She wrote ‘True North’, an article about the stark differences between her childhood and that of her children.

She sent it to ‘Canadian Living’, a popular national magazine. But rather than a rejection, the editor accepted the article. Even most astounding, she called Chapman to tell her that ‘True North’ was the best submission she had received in years.

Her words encouraged the author to pursue her writing. But she was not content with that particular bit of success. Chapman wanted to tell stories and that is what she did when she wrote ‘Running Scared’, her first novel.

Brenda Chapman Awards

Chapman won the Audrey Jessup Mystery Short Story Contest.

Best Brenda Chapman Books

The author is grateful for everything she learned from a transplanted American Poet that taught her writing course in university. He taught her how to use precise language. Chapman’s best books include:

Cold Mourning: Kala Stonechild left Ontario to join a specialized crime unit in Ottawa. Kala, who comes from a First Nations Reserve, is strong and intelligent. She also prefers to work alone.

But her new boss is exerting quite a bit of pressure on her. They have to solve the case of a wealthy businessman that disappeared. Tom Underwood’s case is challenging because so many people wanted him dead. Kala is expected to bring him home before the holidays end.

Butterfly Kills: Jacques Rouleau has a difficult puzzle on his hands. Leah Thompson, a university student, was dead. Someone had murdered her. Della Munroe was still alive. But her husband had raped her.

Sergeant Rouleau knows that the crimes are related. His team’s murder investigation keeps stumbling upon Della’s name. Both women had secrets and those secrets sparked a series of violent acts.

To identify the connection between the two cases, the detective needs Kala Stonechild’s help.
Kala doesn’t want to stick around. She knows Rouleau and she wants to help him. The ghosts of her past won’t let her rest. But if she doesn’t act, if she doesn’t uncover the truth, more families could suffer.

When Does The Next Brenda Chapman book come out?

Brenda Chapman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Too Close to Home and was released on April, 25th 2020. It is the newest book in the Anna Sweet Mysteries Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *