C.S. Harris Books

C.S. Harris is the pen name used by the award-winning author, Candice Proctor of historical and historical mystery novels. Harris graduated with a degree in Classics and later earned a Ph.D. majoring in European history.

Order of Sebastian St. Cyr Series

Order of Jax Alexander Mystery Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Archangel Project 2008
2 The Solomon Effect 2009
3 The Babylonian Codex 2010

Order of C.S. Harris Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Night in Eden 1997
2 The Bequest 1998
3 September Moon 1999
4 The Last Knight 2000
5 Whispers of Heaven 2001
6 Midnight Confessions 2002
7 Beyond Sunrise 2003

Order of C.S. Harris Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Women, Equality, and the French Revolution 1990
Print: Print PDF

She is a scholar of the 19th century Europe and French Revolution. Retired academics, the author, worked at the Midwestern State University and the University of Idaho. She also worked as an archeologist visiting a variety of society, such as Cherokee in Tennessee, Hudson Bay in Fort in San Juan, ancient cemetery and the middle age manor house in Winchester, England.

Harris is the daughter of a university professor and air force officer, she loves traveling, and she has spent many of her years abroad and has lived in Jordan France, Australia, Spain, England, and Greece. The author currently resides in New Orleans, Louisiana together with her husband Steve Harris a retired army officer.

C.S. Harris is popularly known for Sebastian St. Cyr series that feature the main character, Sebastian, an aristocrat detective in England.


When Maidens Mourn & Why Kings Confess were nominated for 2012 & 2014 RT’s Reviewers Choice Award for Best Historical Mystery category respectively. Midnight Confessions won the Romantic Times Award for the Best American Historical novels category. Subsequently, the same book was a top picked by the Romantic Times and appeared on the Publishers Weekly starred review.

Night in Eden was the winner of the Romantic Times Award for the best first book. Why Mermaids Sing was the winner of 2007 RT’s Reviewers Choice Award for Best Historical Mystery.


These are two best books by C.S Harris, Where the Serpents Sleep (2008) & What Remains of Heaven (2009)

Where the Serpents Sleep: In the fourth book of Sebastian Mystery series, C.S Harris sends Sebastian right into the innards of hell as he tries to aid the Jarvis in determining the reason why eight ladies were murdered in a fire incidence at Magdalen House a refuge house for prostitute under the sponsorship of Society of Friends.

Hero Jarvis was undertaking research at Magdalen House so as to get a bill passed in Parliament for the relief of destitute women when the house is overrun by people with the intent of doing harm to some of its residents. Rose the woman Hero was interviewing is suspicious that the intruders are there to kill her, Hero manages to escape while Rose is shot dead and the house set ablaze thus eight women burn up.

Since Hero clearly understands that the fire was scheduled to hide the truth that one woman was shot so goes to Sebastian to get some assistance in establishing why Rose was the target in the whole ordeal. On Sebastian side, he had eight months of riding, drinking and going wild and is on the verge of self-destruction. Thus Hero intervention at least gives him something to preoccupy his heart and mind even if it means dealing with criminals.

Sebastian and Hero form an uneasy alliance as they follow a trail of clues that sends them out of the brothels and docksides of London to the Mayfair mansions of a prominent family with dark secrets.

Risking their reputation and above all their lives, the two race against time and all odds to stop a serial killer whose intention threatens to send the entire nation into mourning.

As the story progresses, the two characters, Sebastian and Hero get much time together and advance their relationship. There is also a shocking revelation as to why Rose, a lady from a noble family would become a prostitute.

What Remains of Heaven: It is London year 1812 when a controversial Bishop of London is found battered to death in an ancient stone chamber and beside the Bishop corpse is the remains of a man killed decades ago.

The Archbishop Canterbury thus asks Sebastian to take charge of the murder. To Sebastian perturbation, the last person to be seen with the bishop alive was Hero Jarvis. Following the trail of clues that manages to get, Sebastian gathers a list of suspects that include William Franklin the son of Ben Franklin to Prince Regent closest friends.

With all the ups and downs, Sebastian must face the very well-guarded secrets of his family’s past and the shocking truth that could make him question who and what he is.