Gail Carriger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Gail Carriger is the pseudonym of the author of Steampunk fiction Tofa Borregaard. She was born on 4th May 1976 in Bolinas, in Marin County, California. She attended Marin Academy for her high school studies and received her college degree from Oberlin College. In 2000, she finalized her master’s degree in archeological materials from Nottingham University and 2008; she got her master’s degree in Anthropology from the University of California Santa Cruz.

Get notified when Gail Carriger releases a new book at

Order of Alexia Tarabotti Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soulless 2009 Description / Buy
2 Changeless 2010 Description / Buy
3 Blameless 2010 Description / Buy
4 Heartless 2011 Description / Buy
5 Timeless 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Curious Case of the Werewolf That Wasn't (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Meat Cute (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of The Parasol Protectorate Manga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 1 2012 Description / Buy
2 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 2 2012 Description / Buy
3 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Finishing School Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Etiquette & Espionage 2013 Description / Buy
2 Curtsies & Conspiracies 2013 Description / Buy
3 Waistcoats & Weaponry 2014 Description / Buy
4 Manners & Mutiny 2015 Description / Buy

Order of The Custard Protocol Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Prudence 2015 Description / Buy
2 Imprudence 2016 Description / Buy
3 Competence 2018 Description / Buy
4 Reticence 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Delightfully Deadly Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Poison or Protect 2016 Description / Buy
2 Defy or Defend 2020 Description / Buy
3 Ambush or Adore 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Supernatural Society Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Romancing the Inventor 2016 Description / Buy
2 Romancing the Werewolf (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of San Andreas Shifters Series as G.L. Carriger

# Read Title Published Details
1 Marine Biology (Short Story) (As: G.L. Carriger) 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Sumage Solution (As: G.L. Carriger) 2017 Description / Buy
3 The Omega Objection (As: G.L. Carriger) 2018 Description / Buy
4 The Enforcer Enigma (As: G.L. Carriger) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Claw & Courtship Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 How To Marry A Werewolf 2018 Description / Buy

Order of The Tinkered Stars Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crudrat 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Tinkered Starsong Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Divinity 36 (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy
2 Demigod 12 2023 Description / Buy
3 Dome 6 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Gail Carriger Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 My Sister's Song (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Fairy Debt (Short Story) 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Gail Carriger Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Heroine's Journey: For Writers, Readers, and Fans of Pop Culture 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Tinkered Stars Series as G.L. Carriger

# Read Title Published Details
1 The 5th Gender 2019 Description / Buy

Gail Carriger Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Steampunk II: Steampunk Reloaded 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Mammoth Book Of Paranormal Romance 2 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Book of the Dead 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Gail Carriger published her novel Soulless in 2009. The readers positively received the book. This earned her a nomination for the John W. Campbell Award for the Best New Writer Category. Other books include; Changeless (2010), Heartless (2011), Timeless (2012) all published by Orbit Books publishers.


Her first novel Soulless was a Locus Award finalist and a Compton Crook Award nominee for Best First Novel. Changeless, her second book, and Blameless were ranked among New York Times Bestseller.


These are the best three books written by Gail Carriger;

Timeless: Timeless is the fifth and the final book in the series The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger. The protagonist Alexia Tarabotti also known as Lady Maccon is finally settling into her new life. She is preternatural meaning that she has no soul meaning that she cannot be affected by the powers of other supernatural beings. She is known by other supernatural such as werewolves and the vampires as the soul sucker due to her ability to give them the “true death.” Alexia is married to a werewolf, and she has a daughter named Prudence, who is metanatural meaning that she is capable of absorbing supernatural powers on contact, thus earning her name in the sect as the “soul stealer.” Most of the supernatural fear them while others long to be free from the immortality curse.

Soon the family is summoned to the court of Vampire Queen of Egypt, Queen Matakara. When they arrive in Egypt, the couple (the werewolf and the soul sucker) are welcomed by a much more disturbing reality. The God Breaker Plague appear to be expanding while back in Jolly London, the werewolf pack is trying to find out the conundrum behind the God-Breaker Plague. The story later unravels into a whirlwind, the wild adventure of mummies, mishaps, proper etiquette, supernatural politics and steam-powered inventions.

Prudence: This is an adult fiction novel that is a mix of humor, paranormal, steampunk and some bits of romance and historical fiction.

Lady Prudence better known as Rue is causing havoc in the streets of London. She is the daughter of a werewolf father and a preternatural mother Lady Alexia Maccon and also the adopted daughter of Vampire Lord Akeldama. Also, she possesses metanatural powers in that she can temporarily steal powers of any supernatural she comes in contact.

Her mother proposes that it is high time for her daughter to put an end to her wild behavior. At the same time, Lord Akeldama is considering sending Prudence on a mission to collect a variety of Tealeaf, thus plans on sending Rue to India. She is sent to India with a crew of the brightest and the best, however, what awaits her in India is the revelation that could shift geopolitical balance of the entire empire.

Manners and Mutiny: Sophronia, Dimity, and Agatha are given some multiple tests in their final year. The test does not only test the class skills but also test out of the class skills. The three friends have a ball with the boy’s school (Bunson’s on Swiffle-on-Exe) were Dimity brother and their friend View attend.

Felix de Mersey, Sophronia suitor, also attends the event. Both Felix and Sephronia are in dispute due to the involvement of Felix in the death of Soap (Sophronia first suitor). Felix is the son if the Grand Gherkin of the Picklemen, and it is evident that the Picklemen are up to something.

Unfortunately, Sophronia gets burdened with work such that she has not time to figure out Picklemen motives. It is evidently clear that her heart wants Soap, but her high society and social standards of her folks cannot allow her to be with the only black werewolf in England.

Will Soap win over Sophronia? What is the motive of the Picklemen? Moreover, why is Felix trying so much to win her? Manners and Mutiny novel are fun and action packed that seeks to keep the readers engaged from the first paragraph to the last one.

When Does The Next Gail Carriger book come out?

Gail Carriger doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Dome 6 and was released on October, 1st 2023. It is the newest book in the Mortal Instruments Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *