Parasol Protectorate Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Parasol Protectorate is a series of novels by Young Adult Fiction and Fantasy writer, Gail Carriger. The five novels feature Alexia Tarabotti a soulless lady with considerable assets that include, a battle parasol, a large Scottish werewolf, and treacle tart tenancies.

Get notified when Gail Carriger releases a new book at

Order of Alexia Tarabotti Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soulless ( By: Gail Carriger) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Changeless ( By: Gail Carriger) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Blameless ( By: Gail Carriger) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Heartless ( By: Gail Carriger) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Timeless ( By: Gail Carriger) 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Curious Case of the Werewolf That Wasn't (Short Story) ( By: Gail Carriger) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Meat Cute (Short Story) ( By: Gail Carriger) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Gail Carriger releases a new book at

Order of The Parasol Protectorate Manga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 1 ( By: Gail Carriger) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 2 ( By: Gail Carriger) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3 ( By: Gail Carriger) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alexia Tarabotti is an unmarried woman born to British mother and an Italian father, Alessandro Tarabotti. She has the unusual condition of being preternatural or soulless, which she gets from her parents. The condition gives her the power to turn humans into supernatural beings with a simple touch. But turning people into the supernatural is not all she does, as she is also an expert in parasol combat.

The first novel in the series, Soulless introduces Alexia Tarabotti who is facing a litany of tribulations. She has to confront repeated attacks from a vampire that does not bother to introduce himself, she is half-Italian, a spinster whose father is recently deceased, and she has no soul. Things only go downhill when she accidentally murders the vampire. Queen Victoria sends his best man for the job, the gorgeous, messy, and loud werewolf, Lord Macon to get to the bottom of the crime.

In a tale that sees vampires disappearing and appearing, every finger of suspicion is pointed at Alexia. She now has to unravel the mystery of what is happening in High Society London. What follows is an intriguing tale, as Gail demonstrates her supreme skill in the writing of an award winning high stakes fantasy novel.


The first novel in the Parasol Protectorate series has won many awards over the years. It won the Alex Award by the American Library Association, and the 2009 PEARL Award for Best New Author. It also made the shortlist for the 2010 Locus Award for Best First Novel, the 2010 Compton Crook Awards, and the 2010 John W. Campbell Awards. It also was on the Top 20 Sleeper Hits, the Locus Recommended Reading First Novel List, Best of 2010, and the 2009 Indiebound Notables. All the novels in the series made the Locus and New York Times bestseller lists in addition to other awards. Other awards include a 2011 nomination for Prix des Imaginales for Heartless, Science Fiction Book Club’s Best Book of the Year, and the 2013 Prix Julia Verlanger Award.


The Parasol Protectorate series of novels has been optioned for the big screen by Parallel Films, with Ted Elliot of the Pirates of the Caribbean and Shrek fame set to be chief screenwriter for the movie.


With multiple awards, nominations and widespread fan popularity, the first novel in the Parasol Protectorate series is generally deemed one of the best novels in the series.

Timeless: The fifth novel, is an excellent novel in the Parasol Protectorate series that sees Alexia Tarabotti is settling into London society after recently becoming Lady Maccon. It just the life she wanted as she now has to integrate and mingle with London High Society of vampires and werewolves, and take care of precocious toddler that is so supernatural, that she does not have a moment of dullness in her new lifestyle. It is all domestic bliss until a summons from Alexandria means that she has to drop everything and together with her family, heads across the Mediterranean to Egypt to unravel a set of complex mysteries.

Heartless: The fourth novel in the Parasol Protectorate series, Heartless is another brilliantly written story. Alexia is called into action when an unknown ghost makes a threat against Queen Victoria. The investigation leads her down a path that digs up her husband’s sordid past. And that is not all as she has to deal with. Gail has to take up an invasion of zombie porcupines, Madame Lefoux’s troublesome inventions, and her sister’s shocking involvement with the suffragate movement, all while she is pregnant. Can she flush out the ghost threatening to kill the queen before it is too late? Is it even a ghost or one of the friendly vampires she hangs out with in London High Society?


Parasol Protectorate fans also enjoy the “Kate Daniels” series of romance and science fiction novels by Ilona Andrews. Kate Daniels who has magic in her blood lives in a world devoured by magic, making her a target. As such, she spends most of her life hiding in plain sight even as she finds it hard to control her mouth. Fans of the Parasol Protectorate series also like the “Girl Genius” series of fantasy novels by Phil and Kaja Foglio. The novels feature Agatha, a lab assistant who discovers that she has magical powers, which she uses to save herself and others from the ugliest of fates.

What Is The Next Book in The Alexia Tarabotti Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Alexia Tarabotti Series. The newest book is Meat Cute and was released on February, 16th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *