Kate Daniels Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kate Daniels stars as a mercenary in this series of books which is penned by Ilona Andrews that is set in an Atlanta just a bit in the future, and the periods of magic and tech follow each other. Guns and cars work during the times of tech, while planes and anything technological fails during times of magic.

Order of Kate Daniels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Magic Bites 2007 Description / Buy
2 Magic Burns 2008 Description / Buy
3 Magic Strikes 2009 Description / Buy
4 Magic Mourns (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
5 Magic Bleeds 2010 Description / Buy
6 Magic Slays 2011 Description / Buy
7 Magic Gifts (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
8 Magic Dreams (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
9 Magic Rises 2013 Description / Buy
10 Magic Breaks 2014 Description / Buy
11 Magic Shifts 2015 Description / Buy
12 Magic Binds 2016 Description / Buy
13 Magic Triumphs 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Kate Daniels Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Small Magics 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Kate Daniels World Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gunmetal Magic 2012 Description / Buy
2 Magic Steals 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Kate Daniels Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Small Magics 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

No one knows when the periods will start or end, they just happen. The forgotten spells of magic work during this time. Magical creatures exist and roam around. Kate fights different kinds of monsters, and she is a special person. This is due to her being a human that has a few magical abilities, but is a great warrior more importantly.

The series began being released in the year 2007, when “Magic Bites” was published. “Magic Burns” made it onto the New York Times’ extended bestseller list in the year 2008, reaching the 32 spot.


For those readers looking to get into the “Kate Daniels” series by Ilona Andrews, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Magic Bites”, “Magic Burns”, and “Magic Strikes”.

Magic Bites: This is the first novel in the “Kate Daniels” series and was released in the year 2007. Rogue mages cast spells when magic is up, bringing the monsters, and the cars do not start and the guns do not work. When technology comes back, the magic goes. It leaves all kinds of problems, on a supernatural level, behind.

Kate Daniels, who works as a mercenary, is currently having a run of bad luck. She makes her money cleaning up any magical problems that come up. Kate’s guardian is killed, and she wants justice. It is a quest that pulls her into a fight between two of the strong factions inside of the magic circles in Atlanta.

Masters of the Dead (who are necromancers that can control vampires) as well as the Pack (who are a group of shapchangers) lay the blame at the others’ feet for some odd killings that go down. It might just be that Kate’s guardian getting killed is part of the same puzzle. She is pressured from both sides to catch the killer, and finds that she is not in her element. That being said, she would not have it any other way.

Magic Burns: This is the second novel in the “Kate Daniels” series and was released in the year 2008. Kate’s job cleaning up after magic gone wrong has shown her some nasty occupational hazards. Usually, magic and tech go back forth. Usually. Once in every seven year span, there is a flare and magic runs rampant. Kate has some big time problems that she will have to deal with on a huge scale. This time, a divine one.

Kate goes off to get some stolen maps back for the Pack, and finds there is quite a lot at stake here. While a flare is happening, goddesses and gods are able to manifest, and fight it out to gain power. These stolen maps are just the opening move in a huge tug of war between a pair of gods that hope to be reborn. The city may not live on if Kate is unable to stop the huge showdown coming.

Magic Strikes: This is the third novel in the “Kate Daniels” series and was released in the year 2009. Kate Daniels is asked to work for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, and has many more paranormal issues right now. That is saying a lot in a place like Atlanta, where magic goes away and comes back.

Derek, Kate’s werewolf buddy, is found and almost dead, and it makes her have to face the greatest challenge ever. Her investigation takes her to something called the Midnight Games, which is the ultimate invite only, preternatural fighting tournament where no holds are barred. She and Curran (who is the Lord of the Beasts) find out about a dark plot that could forever change the face of the shapeshifting community in Atlanta.


You will also enjoy the “Jane Yellowrock” series by Faith Hunter. This series stars the vampire hunter named Jane Yellowrock who has the ability to turn into any creature she wants. She can do this because she comes from Cherokee blood. The series began in the year 2009, with the publication of “Skinwalker”.

Fans of this series also enjoy the “Mercy Thompson” series by Patricia Briggs. Mercy Thompson stars in this series of books as a Blackfoot Indian’s daughter. Mercy can turn into a coyote, and is a Native American shifter that is not bound by the moon.

What Is The Next Book in The Kate Daniels Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kate Daniels Series. The newest book is Magic Triumphs and was released on August, 28th 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.