Iris Johansen Books

Iris Johansen is a romance and crime fiction author best known for her bestselling novels. Born on April 7, 1938, Johansen did not launch her writing career until her children left home for college. Upon completion, her son, Roy developed into an award-winning novelist and screenwriter while her daughter, Tamara joined her mother in authorship but as a research assistant.

Johansen became an acclaimed novelist in the early 1980s. At the time, her genre of preference was strictly romance. However, she diversified and ventured into other genres over time. In 1996, she started writing crime fiction novels; a genre that she has propelled her writing career even further. In fact, her prowess earned her seventeen consecutive New York Times bestsellers. Her most acclaimed work in this genre and overall is the Eve Duncan series.

Order of Beau Lantry Series

# Read Title Published
1 White Satin 1985
2 Blue Velvet 1985
3 And the Desert Blooms 1986

Order of Catherine Ling Series

# Read Title Published
1 Chasing the Night 2010
2 What Doesn't Kill You 2012
3 Live to See Tomorrow 2014
4 Your Next Breath 2015

Order of Clanad Series

Order of Donovan Enterprises Series

# Read Title Published
1 Stormy Vows 1983
2 Tempest at Sea 1983

Order of Eve Duncan Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Face of Deception 1998
2 The Killing Game 1999
3 The Search 2000
4 Body of Lies 2002
5 Dead Aim 2002
6 Blind Alley 2004
7 Countdown 2005
8 Stalemate 2006
9 Quicksand 2008
10 Blood Game 2009
11 Eight Days to Live 2010
12 Chasing the Night 2010
13 Eve 2011
14 Quinn 2011
15 Bonnie 2011
16 Sleep No More 2012
17 Taking Eve 2013
18 Hunting Eve 2013
19 Silencing Eve 2013
20 Shadow Play 2015
21 Hide Away 2016
22 Night and Day 2016

Order of Eve, Quinn and Bonnie

# Read Title Published
1 Eve 2011
2 Quinn 2011
3 Bonnie 2011

Order of Hannah Bryson Series

# Read Title Published
1 Silent Thunder 2008
2 Shadow Zone 2010

Order of Iris Johansen Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 The Reluctant Lark 1983
2 The Bronzed Hawk 1983
3 The Forever Dream 1985
4 The Spellbinder 1987
5 One Touch of Topaz 1988
6 Strong, Hot Winds 1988
7 Wicked Jake Darcy 1989
8 Tender Savage 1990
9 An Unexpected Song 1990
10 The Tiger Prince 1992
11 Winter Bride 1992
12 The Magnificent Rogue 1993
13 Star-Spangled Bride 1993
14 The Ugly Duckling 1994
15 Midnight Warrior 1994
16 The Beloved Scoundrel 1994
17 The Beloved Scoundrel 1994
18 Dark Rider 1995
19 Long After Midnight 1997
20 And Then You Die.... 1997
21 No One to Trust 2002
22 Fatal Tide 2003
23 Firestorm 2003
24 On the Run 2005
25 Killer Dreams 2006
26 Pandora's Daughter 2007
27 Dark Summer 2008
28 Deadlock 2009
29 Storm Cycle 2009
30 Everlasting & Tender Savage 2011
31 The Perfect Witness 2014
32 No Easy Prey 2017
33 Look Behind You 2017

Order of Kendra Michaels Series

# Read Title Published
1 Close Your Eyes 2011
2 With Open Eyes 2012
3 Sight Unseen 2014
4 The Naked Eye 2015
5 Night Watch 2016

Order of Lion's Bride Series

# Read Title Published
1 Lion's Bride 1996
2 The Treasure 2008

Order of Santa Flores Series

# Read Title Published
1 No Red Roses 1984
2 Return To Santa Flores 1984

Order of Sedikhan Series

Order of The Delaneys Series

# Read Title Published
1 York, The Renegade 1986
2 Matilda, the Adventuress 1987
3 This Fierce Splendor 1988
4 Wild Silver 1988
5 Satin Ice 1988

Order of Wind Dancer Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Wind Dancer 1991
2 Storm Winds 1991
3 Reap the Wind 1997
4 Final Target 2001
Print: Print PDF

Iris Johansen Awards:

Ever since she became a published author, Iris Johansen has won multiple awards and gotten nominations for many others. The most notable wins are perhaps the 1986 RT Reviewers Choice Award for the novel “Always” (Bantam Loveswept category) and the 2008 RT Reviewers Choice Award for “Dark Summer” in the Suspense Novel category. In 1997 and 1998 she was an RT award nominee for contemporary suspense. Other recognizable achievements include multiple RT Book Reviews Top Picks (for “Night and Day”, “The Perfect Witness”, “Shadow Play”, and others)

Iris Johansen Books into Movies:

As mentioned already, Iris Johansen’s most praised work is the Eve Duncan series. This crime fiction masterpiece features a series of books organized in subseries. Of all the novels, her 1999 release “The Killing Game” has a film adaptation with the same title. The Lifetime Original Movie was released in 2011 and stars Laura Prepon as Eve Duncan and Naomi Judd as Sandra Duncan, Eve’s mother. The film’s plot does not deviate from the book’s plot. It revolves around Eve Duncan, a forensic sculptor. 10 years after the mysterious disappearance and murder of her daughter, Bonnie, Eve is contacted by a man who claims to be Bonnie’s killer. The man offers sketchy but taunting clues that subconsciously bring out Eve’s obsession with the case. Now she has to gambles with her life and that of others in a bid to uncover the mysterious death of her daughter and the identity of the killer.

Best Iris Johansen Books:

Iris Johansen’s Eve Duncan series is the most loved. Three of the most appreciated books in the series are:

The Face of Deception: first published in 1998, this crime fiction novel is the first of the series. After losing her daughter, Bonnie to a serial killer, Eve Duncan dedicates all her time and energy to her career. The forensic sculptor rebuilds faces from skull bones and her gifted hands have earned her a reputation as the best at what she does. John Logan, a billionaire uses his money to entice Eve into rebuilding a face. What she doesn’t know is that there are very powerful people who don’t want the skull’s identity to be revealed and they are willing to do anything to ensure the secret is safe. She soon reconstructs the face and discovers that it is shrouded with very dark secrets that might get her and Logan killed. Now they have to combine forces and use their wits and might to survive.

The Killing Game: a serial killer is on the loose and he has sights on an innocent child. He knows Eve Duncan is still in grief over the murder of her daughter, Bonnie. Her body has never been found and he knows that Eve will want to investigate the skeletons discovered at Georgia’s Talladega Falls just in case one of them is Bonnie’s. Let the game begin; Eve wants to find her daughter’s remains but the killer wants his ultimate prize – Eve’s life. He has a bunch of tricks up his sleeve and he is willing to use them like a chess master to lure the forensic sculptor into his trap.

The Search: this third installment of the Eve Duncan series was first published in 2000. Johansen takes a different angle and brings in Sarah Patrick who was first introduced in The Killing Game as the main character while Eve Duncan takes up a supporting role. Sarah and Monty, her golden retriever partner, are pulled into a search and destroy mission by John Logan, Eve’s billionaire ex-boyfriend after his research station that is based in South America is attacked and his chief scientist kidnapped. The trio manages to track and rescue the hostage only to find out that the sadistic attempts at destroying Logan have just started. Now Sarah and Monty are squarely in the war and have to partner with Logan if they are to survive the killer’s quest for vengeance.