Eve Duncan Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Written by the American author, Iris Johansen’s, Eve Duncan is a fictional scientific character in a series of suspense novels. This series began long ago in the year 1998 with the face of deception as the first book to be published. Every single year, Iris would come out with one novel in the series. Reading the Eve Duncan series is much easier as the stories in the series are interconnected and furthermore, we get to experience the progressive development of the main character.

Get notified when Iris Johansen releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Eve Duncan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Face of Deception ( By: Iris Johansen) 1998 Description / Buy
2 The Killing Game ( By: Iris Johansen) 1999 Description / Buy
3 The Search (By: Iris Johansen) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Body of Lies ( By: Iris Johansen) 2002 Description / Buy
5 Blind Alley ( By: Iris Johansen) 2004 Description / Buy
6 Countdown ( By: Iris Johansen) 2005 Description / Buy
7 Stalemate (By: Iris Johansen) 2006 Description / Buy
8 Quicksand (By: Iris Johansen) 2008 Description / Buy
9 Blood Game (By: Iris Johansen) 2009 Description / Buy
10 Eight Days to Live ( By: Iris Johansen) 2010 Description / Buy
11 Chasing the Night (By: Iris Johansen) 2010 Description / Buy
12 Eve (By: Iris Johansen) 2011 Description / Buy
13 Quinn (By: Iris Johansen) 2011 Description / Buy
14 Bonnie (By: Iris Johansen) 2011 Description / Buy
15 Sleep No More ( By: Iris Johansen) 2012 Description / Buy
16 Taking Eve ( By: Iris Johansen) 2013 Description / Buy
17 Hunting Eve ( By: Iris Johansen) 2013 Description / Buy
18 Silencing Eve ( By: Iris Johansen) 2013 Description / Buy
19 Shadow Play ( By: Iris Johansen) 2015 Description / Buy
20 Hide Away ( By: Iris Johansen) 2016 Description / Buy
21 Night and Day ( By: Iris Johansen) 2016 Description / Buy
22 Mind Game ( By: Iris Johansen) 2017 Description / Buy
23 Shattered Mirror ( By: Iris Johansen) 2018 Description / Buy
24 Dark Tribute ( By: Iris Johansen) 2019 Description / Buy
25 Smokescreen ( By: Iris Johansen) 2019 Description / Buy
26 The Persuasion ( By: Iris Johansen) 2020 Description / Buy
27 The Bullet (By: Iris Johansen) 2021 Description / Buy
28 A Face to Die For (By: Iris Johansen) 2022 Description / Buy
29 Captive (By: Iris Johansen) 2022 Description / Buy
30 The Survivor (By: Iris Johansen) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Eve Duncan Books into Movies

The second book, The Killing Game, was adapted into a 2011 television film of the same name. Laura Prepon played the role of Eve Duncan as Naomi Judd played the Role of Sandra Duncan, Eve’s mother.


The Face of Deception: After losing her dearest child to the merciless arms of the kidnappers and killers, Eve, a forensic sculptor is able to pull through this by putting a lot of effort in her career. She becomes the best in her field of specialty especially for the skill of reconstruction of faces from the naked skull bones. Eve specifically specializes in the identification of the missing children. When John Logan, a billionaire came to ask for her help in the identification of an adult skull, she rejected the offer because at that time she had too much on her plate to handle.

Logan goes ahead to make the offer more tempting by telling her that he would donate a lot a large amount of money to a charity organization for missing children in exchange for her services. This forces her to agree reluctantly because she knows they need the money. Eve does not really trust Logan and her instincts tell her that maybe Logan is hiding some very important information regarding the case. Some questions that are running at the back of her mind include; does this billionaire really believe that he has discovered new understanding about the Kennedy assassinations? Or is it that this skull somehow ties him to the mysterious murder?

Her wildest guesses don’t even come close to the truth that she finds out when she takes the time to study the restored face. Now Eve and Logan have proof of a very dark secret that could land them in trouble. It is very dangerous to a point that they both have to combine both their cunning and sheer nerve to survive.

The Killing Game: After the killing of her daughter and working for years as a Forensic figure in the community, Eve figured out that maybe she could find some peace by taking a semi-retirement. But just before she does this, her friend Joe Quinn comes to inform her about the finding of several bodies including those of children, she just can’t help but get involved. With the help of her loyal friend Joe Quinn, Eve is now more determined than ever to find the mysterious killer behind this murders.

In order to maintain the chief objective, she starts to reconstruct the faces of her victims. The mysterious killer is actually luring her unknowingly to become more involved so that they can manipulate the life of Eve and even be able to use her like a puppet. Eve is a bit terrified about the killer but the memories of her daughter motivates her to keep on working.

She decides to take a gamble with her life because this is a life-threatening decision. She decides that she will do whatever she can in her power. She is more than willing now to do whatever the murder demands of her: she is ready to be used as bait, so as to be able to save other people. She even goes ahead to state that she is ready to bet her life on the chance that she can be able to save the surviving children and families from this murderer.

Generally, in the whole series of books, Eve’s main goal and driving force is to find the bones of her long missing daughter, Bonnie and be able to bring her back home and bury them in a peaceful place. This is why you see that she is more determined in her job.

Other Books You May Like

Apart from the books described above, here are some other books that you would also be interested to read:

“Ready to Die” By Lisa Jackson. The books tells the story of Detective Regan Pescoli and her co-worker Selena Alvarez. They are presented with six guilty faces that they have to investigate on and bring to justice.

“Bombshell” by Catherine Coulter is about an FBI special agent going by the name of Griffin Hammersmith is recruited to join Dillon Savich’s unit in Washington DC, and it’s all because Savich knows Griffin has a prenatural knack to catch criminals.

What Is The Next Book in The Eve Duncan Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Eve Duncan Series. The newest book is The Survivor and was released on June, 6th 2023.


1 thought on “Eve Duncan”

  1. Normally I’m not a fan of detective or science-y books like the ones in this series, but Irish Johansen is a phenomenal author if I do say so myself. This series is captivating to say the least and I appreciate the continuity of Johansen releasing a new book every year. You get to watch the characters grow and develop, which is really interesting.

    The books are great reads and you won’t be able to put them down. Make sure to carve out a good portion of time whenever you pick one up. Highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *