Mark Greaney Books

Mark Greaney is an American novelist who was born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee, where he continues to live with his family. Mark who writes in the mystery and thriller genres, has co-authored several books with the late Tom Clancy. Two of their books in the Jack Ryan novels – Locked On and Threat Vector – became number one New York Times bestsellers. He is also best known for his international thriller series, The Gray Man. The series which began in 2009 has a total of 5 books including The Gray Man (2009), On Target (2010), and Ballistic (2011). Mark’s books have been published in multiple languages and are also available as audio books and ebooks.

Mark has a degree in Political Science and International Relations and is currently pursuing his master’s degree in Intelligence Studies. In his research for the Tom Clancy novels and The Gray Man series, he has traveled to several countries and intelligence agencies. He has also trained alongside law enforcement and military on the use of firearms, close range combative tactics as well as battlefield medicine.

Order of The Gray Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gray Man 2009 Description / Buy
2 On Target 2010 Description / Buy
3 Ballistic 2011 Description / Buy
4 Dead Eye 2013 Description / Buy
5 Back Blast 2016 Description / Buy
6 Gunmetal Gray 2017 Description / Buy
7 Agent in Place 2018 Description / Buy
8 Weaponized 2018 Description / Buy
9 Mission Critical 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Mark Greaney Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Red Metal 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


Mark’s debut thriller, The Gray Man was released in 2009 by Jove Books. The novel received numerous glowing reviews and became a national bestseller. It was nominated for a Barry Award in the Best Thriller category. The follow-up novel, On Target, which was released in 2010, was also nominated for the same award.


Because of the success of Mark Greaney’s first novel, The Gray Man, it is being adapted into a film by Columbia and Sony pictures, with Joe Roth as the director.


Here is a summary of three best books by Mark Greaney in The Gray Man series:

Ballistic: This is the third book in The Gray Man series. In the novel, a former CIA agent turned master assassin, Court Gentry, finds refuge living in Amazon rain forest. However, his dark past soon catches up with him when a bitter and revengeful Russian crime lord finds him in his hideout, forcing him to flee again.

Court decides to seek refuge from his friend, Eddie Gamboa – one of the few people he trusted in the whole world. However, when he arrives, he finds his friend already dead and buried. He has been killed by a notorious drug cartel that he always fought to take down. Court soon finds out that he is in the middle of a war that he never anticipated. He has to act fast and do everything within his power to stay alive.

Dead Eye: This is the fourth novel in The Gray Man series. In this book, Court Gentry is again portrayed as a former CIA assassin, who takes pride in his ability to appear and disappear at will in order to survive. However, when he decides to seek revenge on his former boss who betrayed him, he comes face to face with Russell Whitlock (named Dead Eye), a cold-blooded killer just like him.

You see, both Gentry and Whitlock were been trained and controlled by the same ultra secret Autonomous Asset Program. However, Whitlock is currently a free agent and has been instructed to eliminate his fellow student – Gentry. He is very good at his job and knows exactly what to do to end Gentry’s life. He understands the way his target thinks, moves and kills. He also knows that the best way to terminate his target is to make him run for his dear life, right until he finds the perfect opportunity to end it.

Back Blast: This is the fifth novel in the explosive thriller series, The Gray Man, Court Gentry was the best agent for the CIA. However, the agency soon turned against him and ordered him to be killed. That’s the moment Gentry turned into an international assassin and become the Gray who now works for himself.

Gentry has now returned in Washington and is determined to find out what made his former Agency turn against him. He plans to interrogate several people, including his ex-partners, as well as the people who sent him on his last mission. However, as he seeks for answers to his questions, he stumbles upon a secret that powerful people in the U.S. intelligence Service want to be kept under wraps. This puts his life in danger again, and he must find a way to avoid being captured or killed.

When Does The Next Mark Greaney book come out?

Mark Greaney doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Red Metal and was released on July, 16th 2019.