Court Gentry Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Court Gentry is the lead character and one of the most enduring characters in action thriller series written by all time writers and New York bestselling author Mark Greaney. In the series, he is popularly referred to as the Gray Man. He is a former CIA operative, but now after being betrayed, he turns out to be a professional assassin. Gentry’s father was a SWAT instructor and a professional weapon trainer. Gentry grew up and trained as a weapons expert, later sent prison after indulging in a fight. While serving his time in the state penitentiary, he was approached by the CIA, and upon their request, he agreed to join them. While working with the CIA, he was considered the best CIA-trained killer in its history. Things turn sour when the CIA frame him and now put on the Most Wanted List, and a shoot on sight order tagged on him. With no other alternative, he is prompted to serving as a professional assassin, and for him to earn a living, people must die.

Get notified when Mark Greaney releases a new book at

Order of Court Gentry / Gray Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gray Man ( By: Mark Greaney) 2009 Description / Buy
2 On Target ( By: Mark Greaney) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Ballistic ( By: Mark Greaney) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Dead Eye ( By: Mark Greaney) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Back Blast ( By: Mark Greaney) 2016 Description / Buy
6 Gunmetal Gray ( By: Mark Greaney) 2017 Description / Buy
7 Agent in Place ( By: Mark Greaney) 2018 Description / Buy
8 Mission Critical ( By: Mark Greaney) 2019 Description / Buy
9 One Minute Out ( By: Mark Greaney) 2020 Description / Buy
10 Relentless ( By: Mark Greaney) 2021 Description / Buy
11 Sierra Six (By: Mark Greaney) 2022 Description / Buy
12 Burner (By: Mark Greaney) 2023 Description / Buy
13 The Chaos Agent ( By: Mark Greaney) 2024 Description / Buy
14 Midnight Black (By: Mark Greaney) 2025 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Court Gentry made his first debut in the novel The Gray Man released in 2009. Subsequently, the book received positive acclaims and had been subject to various awards. The book describes Gentry early life and his betrayal while in the CIA.


The Gray Man first book in Court Gentry series by Mark Greaney was nominated for Barry Award under Best Thriller Category. The novel On Target was also nominated for 2011 Barry Award.


New Regency Pictures is planning to produce motion pictures based on The Gray Man novel. The screenplay for the movie was written by Adam Cozad, who also co-wrote the screenplay for Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit.


These are two best books of Court Gentry series by Mark Greaney.

The Gray Man is one of Greaney action-packed debut novel of the Gray Man series. The main character, Gentry, an ex-CIA agent now a professional assassin for hire is on his mission in Iraq and Syria. To his surprise, he learns that a team sent to rescue him has him marked for elimination. While on the run, he soon discovers that forces have united to eliminate him from the CIA to the one man he has trusted always trusted. With his quick survival skills and powers, Gentry quickly escapes a team of mercenaries and the vicious traps set for him. Court must do whatever it takes to ensure that he stays alive as he kills both to earn a living and to survive.

On Target – the events of this novel take place four years after Gentry is tagged a traitor and forced to assassinate his brothers in arms. Now serving as a master assassin, he makes a living by murdering other people. Sooner, he finds his life in the crosshairs when he discovers that his former CIA team leader he presumed dead is alive. A Russian criminal boss wants the Sudan president dead while the CIA wants Gentry to kidnap the president and the CIA in return remove the shoot on sight tag on him.

With a merciless Russian boss on one side and a treacherous CIA leader on the other, and an almost impossible mission ahead, the Gray man must kill to stay alive.

This novel is a military type thriller and certainly reads like an action movie in a book form. The book seems to focus its attention towards men; this is because it features a naïve lady and most of the reader will sympathize with Gentry as a hero dealing with an incomprehensible woman. However for readers seeking out a fast paced, suspense and action packed novel, then this novel is the perfect match.


If you love action-packed thrillers such as Gray Man series, you will also find these book series appealing. “John Rain” series written by a retired CIA agent Barry Eisler, the series features a fictional character named John Rain, half American, and half Japanese ex-US Special Forces officer.

Jonathan Quinn” series by New York bestselling spy thriller author Brett Battles. The series features Quinn the lead character works as an agent for a US secret intelligence agency- The Office.

Pike Logan” series by American author Brad Taylor is also an ideal match for those seeking action-packed military type thrillers.

What Is The Next Book in The Court Gentry / Gray Man Series?

The next book in the The Court Gentry / Gray Man Series by Mark Greaney is Midnight Black and will be released on February, 18th 2025.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *