Martha Grimes Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Martha Grimes was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on May 2, 1931, and writes detective fiction. Her father was Pittsburgh’s city solicitor and her mother owned and operated Mountain Lake Hotel in Western Maryland; it was here that her and her brother spent a lot of their childhood. Grimes earned both her BA and MA from the University of Maryland; she has also taught at University of Iowa, Montgomery College, and Frostburg State University. She started writing mystery novels after sending a poem in to a poem publisher. With the release of “The Man With a Load of Mischief”, her fiction writing career started. Her first novel she sent to many publishers, and in 1979, a Little, Brown, Inc. editor found the book in its pile of unsolicited manuscripts meant for the editor’s assistants to read (which they call the “slush file”). The company offered to print three thousand copies in its first printing of the novel. She has one son that works as a public relations executive, and has two grandsons.

Get notified when Martha Grimes releases a new book at

Order of Richard Jury Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Man With a Load of Mischief 1981 Description / Buy
2 The Old Fox Deceiv'd 1982 Description / Buy
3 The Anodyne Necklace 1983 Description / Buy
4 The Dirty Duck 1984 Description / Buy
5 Jerusalem Inn 1984 Description / Buy
6 Help the Poor Struggler 1985 Description / Buy
7 The Deer Leap 1985 Description / Buy
8 I Am the Only Running Footman 1986 Description / Buy
9 The Five Bells and Bladebone 1987 Description / Buy
10 The Old Silent 1989 Description / Buy
11 The Old Contemptibles 1991 Description / Buy
12 The Horse You Came In On 1993 Description / Buy
13 Rainbow's End 1995 Description / Buy
14 The Case Has Altered 1997 Description / Buy
15 The Stargazey 1998 Description / Buy
16 The Lamorna Wink 1999 Description / Buy
17 The Blue Last 2001 Description / Buy
18 The Grave Maurice 2002 Description / Buy
19 The Winds of Change 2004 Description / Buy
20 The Old Wine Shades 2006 Description / Buy
21 Dust 2007 Description / Buy
22 The Black Cat 2010 Description / Buy
23 Vertigo 42 2014 Description / Buy
24 The Knowledge 2018 Description / Buy
25 The Old Success 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Emma Graham Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hotel Paradise 1995 Description / Buy
2 Cold Flat Junction 2000 Description / Buy
3 Belle Ruin 2005 Description / Buy
4 Fadeaway Girl 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Andi Oliver Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Biting the Moon 1999 Description / Buy
2 Dakota 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Foul Matter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Foul Matter 2003 Description / Buy
2 The Way of All Fish 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Martha Grimes Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Send Bygraves (Short Story) 1989 Description / Buy
2 The End of the Pier 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Martha Grimes Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Train Now Departing 2000 Description / Buy

Order of Martha Grimes Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Double Double: A Dual Memoir of Alcoholism 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Grimes has written the “Emma Graham” series (about a twelve year old girl who solves mysteries), the “Andi Olivier” series, some stand alone work, poetry, and the “Richard Jury” series. It is the “Richard Jury” series, that she is most known for; all of the novels are named for a pub. The novels she writes are in the cozy part of the mystery genre. She tries to focus on writing about characters, rather than on violence. For the novel “Hotel Paradise”, she drew on experiences she had while staying at her mother’s hotel in Maryland during the summer time.


She was given the Nero Wolfe Award for the best mystery of the year for her novel “The Anodyne Necklace” in the year 1983.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Martha Grimes, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Man With a Load of Mischief”, “The Old Fox Deceiv’d”, and “The Anodyne Necklace”.

The Man With a Load of Mischief: This is the first novel in the “Richard Jury” series and was released in the year 1981. Piddleton is someone that has always kept a sharp eye out for newcomers. It shocked the whole quiet town when the very first stranger had ever died there. He was found in the cellar of a pub called The Men with a Load of Mischief.

Another body turned up swinging in the place of the mechanical man that was up above the door of another pub called Jack and Hammer.

Piddleton had a good reason to be keeping an eye on everyone; as the quiet town had become a place that people were killed and staged in strange ways.

The Old Fox Deceiv’d: This is the second novel in the “Richard Jury” series and was released in the year 1982. This Twelfth Night is chilly and foggy, made wild with a North Sea wind, when a murder disrupts the outward peace of Rackmoor (which is a small Yorkshire fishing village). The town has a past, full of a tangled maze of all kinds of things like unrequited love, murders that were never discovered, and wrongs that justice was never served in.

There are no easy answers waiting for Inspector Jury, not even the young and beautiful woman that was killed. Was it Gemma Temple (who is an impostor) or Dillys March (who is Colonel Titus Crael’s ward who left long ago). Dillys who would be returning after almost a decade away to share in his fortune. The biggest question for him, is who the killer is.

The Anodyne Necklace: This is the third novel in the “Richard Jury” series and was released in the year 1983. A bird watching spinster, a penny pinching and dotty peer, and a confounding murder makes Littlebourne (a small village) an extraordinary place to be. The local constables go from a dead body to a boggy path to a beautiful lady’s mansion is found through a severed finger, it’s quite an important and ghastly clue.

Richard goes down a less traveled path to a pub (called The Anodyne Necklace), it kind of has a bad reputation, but the booze would loosen the tongues of the people in the bar. It would link a mugging in London to the Littlebourne killing with a treasure map where another spine tingling crime could be found.

When Does The Next Martha Grimes book come out?

Martha Grimes doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Old Success and was released on August, 6th 2019. It is the newest book in the Richard Jury Series.

2 thoughts on “Martha Grimes”

  1. I was totally disappointed with the ending to “Old Wine Shades”. Whatever became of Harry? Was Jury able to prove he killed Rosa? How are we to know what his motive was and the TRUE story behind his carefully planned scheme? Why did Jury give up so easily? Is there by any chance a sequel to this book that explains it all?

    1. Dust is the next book in that series although not sure if it covers what happened in Old Wine Shades or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *