Mary Jane Clark Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mary Jane Clark (born with the name Mary Jane Elizabeth Behrends) in the year 1954 and writes suspense novels. One of her parents worked as a special agent with the FBI, and they found out about Russian espionage, worked on kidnappings and extortion cases. This helped her gain an interest in suspense from an early age. Clark got degrees in political science and journalism from the University of Rhode Island, which she did because she wanted to work in the field of television news. She worked as a producer and writer for CBS News, after starting as a desk assistant in the network’s headquarters in New York City. She worked for CBS News for almost three decades. The books that she has written have been translated into more than twenty languages. Clark’s former in laws are Carol Higgins Clark and Mary Higgins Clark. She has two kids, a daughter (an actress and is named Elizabeth) and a son (who is named David). She supports a non-profit organization called FRAXA Research Foundation that works looking for a cure or treatment for Fragile X Syndrome (which is what her son, David, has).

Get notified when Mary Jane Clark releases a new book at

Order of KEY News Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Do You Want to Know a Secret? 1998 Description / Buy
2 Do You Promise Not to Tell? 1999 Description / Buy
3 Let Me Whisper in Your Ear 2000 Description / Buy
4 Close to You 2001 Description / Buy
5 Nobody Knows 2002 Description / Buy
6 Nowhere to Run 2003 Description / Buy
7 Hide Yourself Away 2004 Description / Buy
8 Dancing in the Dark 2005 Description / Buy
9 Lights Out Tonight 2006 Description / Buy
10 When Day Breaks 2007 Description / Buy
11 It Only Takes a Moment 2008 Description / Buy
12 Dying for Mercy 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Piper Donovan / Wedding Cake Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 To Have and to Kill 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Bracelet (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Look of Love 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Friend (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Footprints in the Sand 2013 Description / Buy
6 That Old Black Magic 2014 Description / Buy

Mary Jane Clark Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Naked Came the Phoenix 2001 Description / Buy
2 Silent Night, Deadly Night 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She has written the “Key News” series and the “Wedding Cake Mysteries”. For the “Key News” series (which are media thrillers), she draws on her experience working in broadcast journalism field. The “Wedding Cake Mysteries” stars an actress who turns to designing wedding cakes, and is involved in different homicide cases that threaten to make the weddings get canceled. She began her work as an author with the release of “Do You Want to Know a Secret”, which was released in the year 1998.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Mary Jane Clark, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Do You Want to Know a Secret”, “Do You Promise Not to Tell”, and “Let Me Whisper in Your Ear”.

Do You Want to Know a Secret: This is the first novel in the “Key News” series and was released in the year 1998. Eliza Blake’s career is on the rise (a New York television anchor woman). She has finally gotten over her husband dying and the depression that overwhelmed her in the wake of his death. She enjoys spending time with her adoring young daughter, and she has a new romance that makes her believe in love again.

One of the senior anchors (named Bill Kendall) dies unexpectedly and it pushes Eliza into the limelight. She is able to get her biggest shot that she ever has. Everything seems to be going right, but then at the same time, wrong.

She starts thinking that Kendall’s death has bigger ramifications beyond the set of the television show; she starts to find out about a plot that involves jealousy, greed, and murder that involves people high up. Like people in the White House.

Do You Promise Not to Tell: This is the second novel in the “Key News” series and was released in the year 1999. Farrell Slater (she is a television producer) finds herself at a crossroads. The job she has at Key News is on the line when she cannot get her boss to broadcast the story about the auctioning of the famous Faberge Moon Egg.

She tries to figure out her plans for the future, and learns that the Egg is not all that it appears to be. She takes the chance to expose the story, and along the way, hopefully save her career.

Let Me Whisper in Your Ear: This is the third novel in the “Key News” series and was released in the year 2000. Laura has been called the Angel of Death due to her being able to have obituaries ready to go for celebrities who are not even expected to die. Someone has been telling her some secrets about some of the rich and famous that are not long for the world.

A twelve year old boy (that has been missing for thirty years) is found buried, where the Palisades Amusement Park used to be. Laura sees her shot to go from writing up obituaries to doing the show “Hourglass”, which is KEY News‘ attempt to compete with 60 Minutes.

An “Hourglass” host named Gwyneth Gilpatric dies in a devastating way. Laura has her obit ready to go, and it raises eyebrows, both the police’s and her co-workers.

When Does The Next Mary Jane Clark book come out?

Mary Jane Clark doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is That Old Black Magic and was released on January, 1st 2014. It is the newest book in the Piper Donovan / Wedding Cake Mysteries Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *