Michelle Sagara West Books

Michelle Sagara West is a Japanese Canadian author. She writes epic fantasy, though some of her works have been described as Urban Fantasy and YA.

Order of Books of the Sundered Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Into the Dark Lands 1991 Description / Buy
2 Children of the Blood 1992 Description / Buy
3 Lady of Mercy 1993 Description / Buy
4 Chains of Darkness, Chains of Light 1994 Description / Buy

Order of Chronicles of Elantra Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cast in Shadow 2005 Description / Buy
2 Cast In Courtlight 2006 Description / Buy
3 Cast in Secret 2007 Description / Buy
4 Cast in Fury 2008 Description / Buy
5 Cast in Silence 2009 Description / Buy
6 Cast in Chaos 2010 Description / Buy
7 Cast in Ruin 2011 Description / Buy
8 Cast in Peril 2012 Description / Buy
9 Cast in Sorrow 2013 Description / Buy
10 Cast in Honor 2015 Description / Buy
11 Cast in Deception 2018 Description / Buy
12 Cast in Oblivion 2019 Description / Buy
13 Cast in Wisdom 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Essalieyan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Memory of Stone & Other Stories 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Short Stories (Michelle Sagara West) Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Echoes (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Birthnight (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
3 For the Love of God (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Shadow of a Change (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Hunger (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy

Order of The House War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hidden City 2008 Description / Buy
2 City of Night 2009 Description / Buy
3 House Name 2011 Description / Buy
4 Skirmish 2012 Description / Buy
5 Battle 2012 Description / Buy
6 Oracle 2015 Description / Buy
7 Firstborn 2019 Description / Buy
8 War 2019 Description / Buy

Order of The Queen of the Dead Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Silence 2012 Description / Buy
2 Touch 2014 Description / Buy
3 Grave 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The Sacred Hunt Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hunter's Oath 1995 Description / Buy
2 Hunter's Death 1996 Description / Buy

Order of The Sun Sword Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Broken Crown 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Uncrowned King 1998 Description / Buy
3 The Shining Court 1999 Description / Buy
4 Sea of Sorrows 2001 Description / Buy
5 The Riven Shield 2003 Description / Buy
6 The Sun Sword 2004 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Sagara worked in a number of bookstores as a part-timer before finally settling down at Bakka-Phoenix, a retailer that specializes in science fiction and fantasy.

When she was young, Sagara’s parents were always reading to her. Like most children, she started with the picture books her parents bought her. She had no real choice in the literature she read.

Over time, as her tastes matured, she moved on to non-picture books. By the time she was six, the author had devoured every Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys book she could find. Then she moved on to Enid Blyton, C.S. Lewis, and Tolkien.

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings were particularly impactful to the author. At first, Sagara loved The Hobbit, and when she realized that The Lord of the Rings had discarded the protagonist of the first book in favor of introducing an entirely new cast, she chose to abandon The Lord of the Rings altogether.

But when she was 11, Michelle Sagara West gave Tolkien’s most popular book another chance and it blew her mind. She was amazed by the language, the elegance of the story and the themes of sacrifice, friendship and loss.

It is little wonder that The Sundered, her first series of epic fantasy novels, has been described as “Tolkienesque”.

There was never a question in the author’s mind that she would write epic fantasy. The genre appealed to her because it always transported her to worlds that had limitless possibilities.

The stories that fantasy told were so wide-ranging in scope and she could not wait to tell stories with similar settings. As a successful author, Sagara has published books as Michelle Sagara West, Michelle West, and Michelle Sagara.

This separation between her writing identities wasn’t intentional. Her first novel was published by Del Rey under the Michelle Sagara name. That was in 1991. Sagara was working fulltime at Bakka.

She was already married, and once the decision to have children was made, the author concluded that the months she would spend at home caring for her first child would afford her plenty of opportunities to write.

But the books Del Rey published did not sell quite as well as Sagara would have liked. So she reached out to DAW in the hopes of landing a second publishing avenue.

Because she did not yet know the final direction her Del Rey-published novels would take, whether they would soar or ultimately crash, she asked DAW to publish her next book under the Michelle West name.

In the years that followed, various circumstances pushed Sagara to nurture the growth of her pen names. Today, Sagara’s fans will tell you that the books she publishes as Michelle Sagara are shockingly distinct from her Michelle West works.

Best Michelle Sagara West Books

Sagara loves to write stories with multiple points of view because they allow her to increase the scope and unpredictability of her books, with some of the best titles in her bibliography including:

Cast in Shadow: Kaylin escaped Nightshade. Children were being marked and then killed, and those same markings had appeared on her skin. So she knew her only option was to flee, and she did just that.

When she finally emerged, Kaylin had changed. She had started over in the city of Elantra. She could read and fight and, as a member of the Hawks, it was her job to police Elantra.

Kaylin thought she had successfully buried her past. But then children started to die again and Kaylin was ordered to return to Nightshade to investigate the matter.

Cast in Courtlight: Kaylin defeated a great evil and for her reward, she was assigned an even more dangerous task.

The girl has to infiltrate the Barrani High Court. She must become someone else and use her magic to keep the High Lord’s Heir alive even as she maneuvers the traps that have been laid out to stop her.

But her mission is easier said than done. The Barrani High Court is a complicated place. It would only take a careless word for Kaylin to forfeit her life. She must proceed carefully, lest she steps on all the wrong toes.

When Does The Next Michelle Sagara West book come out?

Michelle Sagara West doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Cast in Wisdom and was released on January, 28th 2020. It is the newest book in the Chronicles of Elantra Series.