P J Tracy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

P.J Tracy is the collective nom de plume of two American women of letters named P.J. Lambrecht alongside Traci Lambrecht. Interestingly, the former penwoman is the mother of the latter author. Accordingly, the collective pen name is a synthesis of the initials of the parent and the first name of the daughter.

Get notified when P J Tracy releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Detective Margaret Nolan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deep into the Dark 2021 Description / Buy
2 Desolation Canyon 2022 Description / Buy
3 The Devil You Know 2023 Description / Buy
4 City of Secrets 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Monkeewrench Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Monkeewrench / Want to Play? 2003 Description / Buy
2 Live Bait 2004 Description / Buy
3 Dead Run 2005 Description / Buy
4 Snow Blind 2006 Description / Buy
5 Shoot to Thrill / Play to Kill 2010 Description / Buy
6 Off the Grid / Two Evils 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Sixth Idea / Cold Kill 2016 Description / Buy
8 Nothing Stays Buried 2017 Description / Buy
9 The Guilty Dead 2018 Description / Buy
10 Ice Cold Heart 2019 Description / Buy

Order of P J Tracy Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Return of the Magi 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

On the one hand, P.J. Lambrecht’s full name was Patricia Jean Lambrecht and was born in the 1940s. For her O-Levels, Lambrecht schooled at Brillion High School and was in the class of 1947. Lambrecht, who passed away in late 2016 aged seventy, dropped out of college and described herself as an exultant freelancer despite the fact that she lacked professional qualifications.

On the other hand, Traci Lambrecht is a quinquagenarian. Traci’s place of birth is Twin Cities upon Minnesota and was born in 1967. For her O-Levels, Traci attended the Lindstrom-based Chisago Lakes High School. For her undergraduate studies, Traci schooled at St. Olaf College wherein she majored in Russian Studies.

For P.J. Lambrecht, plunging into writing was more or less escapism. She started writing when her daughter was still young. Lambrecht’s earliest story was published in a notable magazine around 1975. During Lambrecht’s formative years of her career, she wrote under the pseudonym Melinda Cross. Traci Lambrecht started writing in a bid to fund her irksome travelling tendency. Traci’s mother was grateful when she eventually joined her in the book writing career after shelving her ambitions of becoming an undercover agent.

Initially, P.J. and Traci wanted to write a standalone book but the ensuing literary acclaim upon the publication of the first book encouraged them to make it a book series. All in all, there are eight major works in their co-authored Monkeewrench series. There are 36 editions of the first book in the Monkeewrench series. The first edition was initially published in 2003, titled Monkeewrench; and the book is shelved under the mystery, crime, fiction, and thriller genres.

Grace MacBride is the featured central character in the Monkeewrench series. Protagonist MacBride heads a Minneapolis-based game software-oriented company called Monkeewrench. The gun-carrying MacBride is among the brains behind the invention of a dangerously motivating computer game. On the flip side, MacBride is a recluse and paranoiac woman, and apparently has superiority complex.

Thing take a nasty turn when the computer game created by the Grace MacBride-led team leads to a replica of the murderous scene in the game. Subsequently, people have been murdered, including a youthful woman and a jogger. It is out-and-out evident that the actual murders are connected with the fictitious murders in the game. Detectives are called in but do not instantly connect the dots. The Monkeewrench team is torn between: one, tipping the police and nipping the killings in the bud; and, two, holding their peace due to their vested interests and related secrets, and witnessing a series of murders. The climax is mind-blowing in this multi-award-winning book.

P. J. Tracy Awards

P.J. Tracy has clinched several prestigious literary prizes. In 2004, P.J. Tracy clinched these: the Barry Award, in the Best First Novel category; Gumshoe Award, in the Best First Novel section; and Minnesota Book Award, in the Popular Fiction. In the three cases, P.J Tracy was awarded in virtue of their 2003 book Monkeewrench—it was nominated for the Dilys Award too.
In 2006, P.J. Tracy bagged the RT Reviewers Choice Award, in the Contemporary Mystery category, thanks to the 2006 book titled Snow Blind. In 2005, the duo’s 2004 book titled Live Bait was nominated for Minnesota Book Award, in the Popular Fiction category.

Best P.J. Tracy Books

These are the best three books in P.J. Tracy’s bibliography. The first is the aforementioned Monkeewrench.

Snow Blind: The fourth book in the serialized Monkeewrench. It is all about a chagrined serial killer on the prowl whose targets are especially law enforcers and takes advantage of the snowfall when dumping the corpses.

Live Bait: The second book in the Monkeewrench series. There is a series of murders involving elderly people; computer whizz-kid Grace MacBride is assisting the police by searching databases which is privacy infringement.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked P.J. Tracy’s books also liked these literary series. Julie Kramer’s sextet, “Riley Spartz: series, features protagonist Riley Spartz, a TV investigative journalist. Brian Freeman‘s 8-book “Jonathan Stride” series features protagonist John Stride and antagonist Maggie Bei, two homicide detectives. Marshall Karp’s quintet, “Lomax and Biggs” series, revolves around detectives Mike Lomax and Terry Biggs’ quest for unraveling murder mysteries.

When Does The Next P J Tracy book come out?

The next book by P J Tracy is City of Secrets and will be released on August, 20th 2024. It is the newest book in the Detective Margaret Nolan Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *