Richard Castle Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Richard Castle is a bestselling author responsible for the Derrick Storm series of novels. The son of Martha Rodgers and Jackson Hunt, Castle was born in 1969. He never knew his father and he would often say that he had many father figures as a child, a reference to all the men that Martha brought into their home. She often told him that she never knew who his father was, a lie that allowed Richard Castle to build fantasies about the perfect father.

Order of Nikki Heat Series

1Heat Wave 2008Description / Buy
2Naked Heat 2010Description / Buy
3Heat Rises 2011Description / Buy
4Frozen Heat 2012Description / Buy
5Deadly Heat 2013Description / Buy
6Raging Heat 2014Description / Buy
7Driving Heat 2015Description / Buy
8High Heat 2016Description / Buy
9Heat Storm 2017Description / Buy
10Crashing Heat 2019Description / Buy

Order of Derrick Storm Series

1A Brewing Storm (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
2A Raging Storm (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
3A Bloody Storm (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
4Storm Front 2013Description / Buy
5Wild Storm 2014Description / Buy
6Heat Storm 2017Description / Buy

Order of Derrick Storm Graphic Novels

1Deadly Storm (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
2Storm Season (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
3A Calm Before the Storm (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
4Unholy Storm (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Castle’s mother initially enjoyed a successful career in entertainment, and her lifestyle and antics were such that Castle grew accustomed to taking care of her, primarily because she was always falling into trouble of one sort or another.

Richard Castle wrote a lot as a child. The author had an affinity for thrillers and produced numerous short stories, many of which scared his friends witless. Castle quickly realized that he had the ability to manipulate the emotions of his readers which, in turn, should have put him on the path to becoming a storyteller.

However, once he entered his teens, Castle’s interest in reading and writing waned. The author was always getting into trouble, and it wasn’t until he went to Edgewyck Academy that his love for writing was ignited once more. Castle has often imputed his success to an editor he met at Edgewyck who encouraged him to pursue his writing and even mentored him throughout the process.

The author wrote his first book while in college. In a Hail of Bullets was rejected a painful number of times before Castle finally landed a publisher. Even though the book was a bestseller, Castle blew through the money he made in a matter of months and was forced to throw another novel together in order to fix his finances.

Richard Castle writes thrillers, most of them revolving around gruff heroes and sultry heroines with unrivaled intelligence and physical abilities. The author often does very extensive research before launching new series, usually by finding professionals in the espionage or law enforcement field that he can shadow in order to get a better understanding of their world.

Richard Castle Awards

Castle is a recipient of the Tom Straw Mystery Literature Award from the Nom Deplume Society.

Best Richard Castle Books

Richard Castle hit the ground running with his first book, and he hasn’t slowed down since, with some of the best books in the author’s bibliography including the following:

Heat Wave: Nikki Heat is a New York Police Department Detective with a complicated work situation. Her ride along, a journalist by the names of Jameson Rook, not only brings so much more to the table than she expected, but the sparks flying between them are impossible to ignore.

Meanwhile, there is a litany of cases that Nikki must solve, this including a dead real estate tycoon, a trophy wife with a dangerous past and a wealthy family with a whole host of secrets.

Heat Wave, the first novel in the Nikki Heat series, has been described as fluff and funny literature. Nikki Heat’s story begins with the death of Mathew Starr, a New York Real Estate agent who fell from his balcony. Mathew made many an enemy when he was alive, so it doesn’t take the authorities long to conclude that he was murdered.

Nikki Heat has already proven that she is a pretty competent detective, so she is put on the case. However, finding a dangerous murderer this time around won’t be easy, not when Nikki has a nosy journalist following her wherever she goes.

Naked Heat: When a gossip columnist is stabbed to death and the case leaves a trail that drags an actor and a Yankee pitcher into the mix, Nikki Heat is put on the case, followed closely by reporter Jameson Rook.

The second novel in the Nikki Heat series is pretty straight forward. Like the first one, someone is murdered, Nikki and Jameson are put on the case; they follow the clues and try to avoid all the pointed innuendoes they keep exchanging.

This novel delves deeper into the lives of the characters. Richard Castle provides some insight into reporter Jameson Rook’s career, specifically the fact that he sometimes ghost writes romance novels.

It also revealed that Nikki is an avid fan of Jameson’s romance fiction and she has read everything he has ever written.

When Does The Next Richard Castle book come out?

Richard Castle doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Crashing Heat and was released on March, 12th 2019. It is the newest book in the Nikki Heat Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *