Nikki Heat Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Richard Castle is a character on the television show Castle. He is a bestselling author, who is widely known for the Derick Storm book series and the Nikki Heat book series as well. His debut novel, In a Hall of Bullets, was published when Richard Castle was still in college. Later on, in his writing career, Nom DePlume Society awarded Richard Castle with a Tom Straw Award. Currently, Richard Castle resides in Manhattan, with his mother and daughter, who happen to be a source of inspiration for the author.

Get notified when Richard Castle releases a new book at

Order of Nikki Heat Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heat Wave ( By: Richard Castle) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Naked Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Heat Rises ( By: Richard Castle) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Frozen Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Deadly Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Raging Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Driving Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2015 Description / Buy
8 High Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2016 Description / Buy
9 Heat Storm (By: Richard Castle) 2017 Description / Buy
10 Crashing Heat ( By: Richard Castle) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Richard Castle’s first book Heat Wave was released in conjunction with the debut of the show and in a case of art imitating life, the book became a New York Times bestseller. This has led to the books becoming a genre unto themselves with numerous books released for Nikki Heat as well as Derrick Storm. The books have been an overwhelming success and are continuing to be released.

Nikki Heat Books Into Movies/TV

In the show Castle, the book character of Nikki Heat is somewhat based on the story of the TV character, and New York Police detective, Kate Beckett. The book character and the TC character share a similar backstory in that they were both motivated by the death of someone close to them. The first book is based on several real life cases that author Richard Castle helped Beckett solve.

There is a season two episode where the character of Kate Beckett discovers Nikki Heat and attempts to convince Castle to change the name of the character, but Castle is too excited about the potential titles offered by a great name like Nikki Heat.

So while none of the Nikki Heat books have been actually adapted into a movie or television show, the character plays a large role in one of the top TV shows out there. Within the show one of the Nikki Heat novels was made into a movie starring Natalie Rhodes (played by Laura Prepon of That 70’s Show and Orange is the New Black), but the movie ended up being plagued with problems and went straight to DVD.

Nikki Heat Best Books

Heat Wave: The first installment in the Nikki Heat book series. In this installment, author Richard Castle introduces his newest protagonist, NYPD Homicide Detective, Nikki Heat. The sexy, tough and professional, Nikki Heat has an undying passion for justice, which she employs in her leadership. In Heat Wave, the protagonist is hit with an unexpected challenge, when the police commissioner decides to assign James Rook, a superstar magazine journalist to tag along with her as he writes a research article on one of the best homicide detectives in New York City. Rook is a good-looking Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist.

However, as Nikki Heat continues with her investigation, James Rook decides to meddle with the investigations. Nonetheless, James Rook’s meddling and wise-cracking are the least of her problems, as she is forced to confront the spark that is present between her and James Rook.

As the first installment in the Nikki Heat book series, Nikki Heat is not only dynamic but also catching and realistic as well, to the point that it appears as if it was based on real events. The author, Richard Castle has done an excellent job of ensuring that the reader keeps on wondering who is the bad guy to the very last page. All the characters in the book were intriguing and unique as well. The characters were also well described while the detective work met the expected standards of any top-notch series.

Naked Heat: The second installment in the Nikki Heat book series by author, Richard Castle. Naked Heat begins when one of the most vicious columnists in New York City is found dead. As Nikki Heat conducts her investigation, she manages to uncover a list of high profile suspects, all with convincing motives for murdering one of the most feared gossip mongers in Manhattan. Heat’s investigations are complicated once again when she reunites with James Rook, the superstar magazine journalist. Because of their most recent breakup, Nikki Heat opts not to deal with their emotional baggage.

However, James Rook’s involvement in the case, in turn, forces Nikki Heat to team up with the superstar journalist once again. The residue of their crackling sexual tension and unresolved romantic conflict fills the air s Rook and Heat search for a murderer among singers and hookers, celebrities and mobsters, shamed politicians and pro-athletes.

Nikki Heat is one of the most talented police detectives in the New York Police Department, who is more than happy to put criminals behind bars. However, James Rook, an extremely famous journalist had to tag along. Rook, a friend of the mayor, manages to get himself a ticket to trail the homicide team and write about them. Rook is not only smart, but he is a good-looking journalist who lives with his daughter and mother. Nikki, on the other hand, is a good-looking detective who is living alone.

Other Book Series That You May Like

The “Supernatural” book series is also another highly entertaining series written by author, Alex Irvine. In Supernatural, we meet with Dean and Sam Winchester, who decide to take things from where the father had left off from. Dean and Sam are demon hunters, whose work mainly involved hunting down demons that had managed to escape from hell. The series begins as Dean and Sam hunt down a demon that was responsible for killing their mother. As Luck would have it, their father had recorded down his dark crusade in a journal, with the hard-won knowledge of preternatural dealings and monster hunting.

What Is The Next Book in The Nikki Heat Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Nikki Heat Series. The newest book is Crashing Heat and was released on March, 12th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *