Derrick Storm Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Derrick Storm refers to a series of novels written by Richard Castle. The books are international thrillers filled with action, adventure, murder, and espionage.

Get notified when Richard Castle releases a new book at

Order of Derrick Storm Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Brewing Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
2 A Raging Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
3 A Bloody Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Storm Front ( By: Richard Castle) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Wild Storm ( By: Richard Castle) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Heat Storm (By: Richard Castle) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Richard Castle releases a new book at

Order of Derrick Storm Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deadly Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Storm Season (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
3 A Calm Before the Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Unholy Storm (Short Story) ( By: Richard Castle) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Once upon a time, Derrick Storm was just a private investigator. His talents were such that he was able to catch and follow the trail of a very dangerous man. Derrick technically failed in his quest but his actions were enough to elicit the interest of the CIA and, in particular, Clara Strike.

The operative brought Derrick Storm into the CIA fold, though only for the purposes of catching his target, a man they had been hunting for months. It wasn’t long before Derrick was knee deep in espionage, undertaking one dangerous spy mission after another and contending with the worst kinds of criminals.

Having garnered a reputation for his intelligence and competence as a CIA operative, Derrick’s spy career came to a head when he died in Clara’s arms. A Brewing Storm, the first novel in the Derrick Storm series, reveals that Derrick Storm never died.

Rather, the Agency helped Derrick fake his death. Tired of all the violence and hair raising antagonists, Derrick retired. But, as with most competent CIA operatives, Derrick’s retirement doesn’t last.

When Derrick’s old boss tasks him with undertaking a very sensitive mission, Derrick is forced to blow his cover as he dives back into the murky waters of espionage, dealing with crooked criminals and nefarious cabals.

The spy reconnects with old allies, makes new friends and draws the ire of some old enemies. Derrick tries to stay off the radar of the bad guys by taking on an alias. It is during his undercover stint in the FBI that Derrick meets April Showers, a colleague, and potential love interest.

The Derrick Storm books are very short, designed to deliver momentary entertainment and, thus, avoiding overly complicated plots and concepts.

Derrick Storm Books into Movies/TV

Following the success of the Castle television series, ABC has spent the last several years talking about the possibility of creating a spinoff series based on the Derrick Storm books. These rumors have yet to deliver results.

Best Derrick Storm Books

The Derrick Storm books might be short and simplistic but they definitely have a following of fans that are excited about the prospect of exploring stories set in the Richard Castle Universe, with some of the best books in the series including:

A Brewing Storm: As most operatives will tell you, the CIA is not the sort of agency you conventionally retire from. Derrick Storm wanted a normal life so he took drastic steps to get his way. He faked his death and disappeared.

But most CIA Operatives will also tell you that spies never really retire. When someone important is kidnapped, Derrick’s old boss drags him out of retirement and onto a case of considerable importance.

To maneuver the political waters in Washington, Derrick assumes an alias and joins FBI Investigator April Showers as she works to find a missing Senator’s son. Derrick knows there’s more going on than just the kidnapping. He must get to the bottom of a conspiracy before the storm he knows is brewing hits.

The first Derrick Storm novel doesn’t try to be anything other than a fun story filled with a bit of action and adventure, and a lot of electricity between Derrick and his new bombshell of a partner.

A Raging Storm: Coming out of retirement was the worst decision Derrick Storm ever made. He thought he would be saving lives. Now he has a dead senator on his hands. Finding the Assassin that carried out the deed will take all of Derrick’s resources, not to mention tracking down a fortune in gold bars that have been hidden somewhere in the former USSR.

Derrick’s problems seem to start and stop with Ivan Petrov, a mysterious millionaire that might shed light on Derrick’s enemies. Derrick will have to maneuver some difficult political and bureaucratic waters even while contending against the sexual tension between himself and his partner.

Other Book Series You May Like

You probably know about this, but the “Rizzoli and Isles” Series by Tess Gerritsen is great. These books tell the story of Jane Rizzoli, a member of the Boston Police Department and her partner Doctor Maura Isles, a Chief Medical Examiner.

Fans also love the “Nikki Heat” Series by Richard Castle. Nikki Heat is a tough homicide detective in New York who is forced to partner with a journalist by the names of Jameson Rook to solve crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Derrick Storm Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Derrick Storm Series. The newest book is Heat Storm and was released on May, 2nd 2017.

1 thought on “Derrick Storm”

  1. The Storm story line is truly excellent. The books are well designed and make a very good read.

    I truly hope that additional stories will be built and delivered for us to read and listen to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *