T. Frank Muir Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

T. Frank Muir is a Scottish author that writes crime fiction. Muir read a lot of fiction when he was young. However, his love for books began to fade when his secondary school education forced him to read Dickens, Austen, Chaucer, etc.

Get notified when T. Frank Muir releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of DCI Andy Gilchrist Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Eye for an Eye 2007 Description / Buy
2 Hand for a Hand 2009 Description / Buy
3 Tooth for a Tooth 2012 Description / Buy
4 Life for a Life 2013 Description / Buy
5 A Christmas Tail 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Meating Room 2014 Description / Buy
7 Blood Torment 2016 Description / Buy
8 The Killing Connection 2018 Description / Buy
9 Dead Catch 2019 Description / Buy
10 Dead Still 2020 Description / Buy
11 The Murder List 2021 Description / Buy
12 Dead Find 2023 Description / Buy
13 The Killing Mood 2023 Description / Buy
14 Dead Cold 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Classic literature bored Muir, and he lost interest in the written word. As a result, his English scores suffered. The author responded by leaning toward Math and Engineering, a decision that led him to Strathclyde University.

By the time he graduated, Muir was sure that publishing was his calling. But the demands of life kept getting in his way. He had bills to pay, which meant going overseas to ply his trade.

In his late thirties, the author realized that he had to make a choice. If he continued on the same track, Muir would reach his seventies without writing the novel of his dreams, and he would regret it.
Determined to take a stab at publishing, he bought a computer, taught himself how to type, and started writing novels.

But finding a publisher for his work was easier said than done. An editor at Random House, NY, almost signed him. But the fellow was new, and he did not want to take a chance on an unpublished author.

That was just one rejection among hundreds the author accumulated in the eighteen years that followed. Initially, Muir wrote thrillers, but he couldn’t find a willing publisher to buy them.

So, the author turned to other genres, trying his hand at comedy, psychological suspense, and even action-romance. His affair with St. Andrews began innocuously.

He was walking with his wife on a cold winter night when they turned into a street, and something about the look of St. Andrews inspired him to set a series of crime fiction novels in the area.

He loved the cathedral ruins, stone houses, and cobbled streets. Muir was also drawn to the cold, wet weather and the location’s connection to Prince William. St. Andrews was the perfect setting for the DCI Gilchrist books.

The author followed his instincts, wrote ‘Eye for an Eye,’ and secured an agent. Gilchrist is still Muir’s best-known creation. Even with all the books he’s written about the character, the author’s work is still challenging.

The first draft is the most difficult. The process only becomes easier once he transitions to the revision process. Deadlines suit Muir. When he has a tight deadline to beat, the author is forced to work harder. Also, the stories he writes during this period have less fluff.

Every book is carefully researched. The author relies on working and retired law enforcement officers that are kind enough to tell him everything he needs to know about police work. Muir is confident in all the information he provides to readers.

Best T. Frank Muir Books

The author’s literary influences include Frederick Forsyth and Robert Ludlum. Muir’s best books include:

Eye for an Eye: St. Andrews had a killer, the worst it had ever seen. This particular predator used thunderstorms as cover. His victims were criminals, men that abused women. Nonetheless, Inspector Gilchrist and his men had to do everything in their power to catch the so-called Stabber.

By the time the sixth victim, a respected bank manager, turned up, the public’s faith in the police’s capabilities had dwindled. The media was in an uproar, and Gilchrist’s boss did not care that the inspector had just secured a promising lead.

DCI Mark Patterson was looking for an excuse to replace Gilchrist and his embittered partner with the Scottish Crime Squad. But Gilchrist had no intention of giving up. He was determined to prove himself.

Hand For A Hand: Someone left a message for Gilchrist by shoving a note in an amputated hand. The note had one word on it, and unfortunately, it wasn’t the only one. Amputated body parts with additional notes began to appear, painting a clear picture of who the murderer was and what he wanted.

To catch the demented madman, Gilchrist had to confront the demons of his past. He wanted to rely on Nance Wilson, but the sexy DC had an agenda, one Gilchrist couldn’t fully fathom. The murderer left him with few good choices. The woman whose life he valued more than any other was in the crosshairs.

When Does The Next T. Frank Muir book come out?

The next book by T. Frank Muir is Dead Cold and will be released on November, 7th 2024. It is the newest book in the DCI Andy Gilchrist Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *