A Cats in Trouble Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Cats in Trouble Mystery is a series of cozy mystery novels written by Leann Sweeney. The books follow the exploits of an intelligent cat lover who solves crimes. Sweeney was born in Niagara Falls. She studied Behavioral Science at the University. She spent many years dreaming about her writing ambitions before finally deciding to go back to school in order to perfect her writing skills.

Get notified when Leann Sweeney releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Cats In Trouble Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Cat, the Quilt and the Corpse ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Cat, the Professor and the Poison ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Cat, the Lady and the Liar ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Cat, the Wife and the Weapon ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Cat, the Mill and the Murder ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Cat, the Vagabond and the Victim ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Cat, the Sneak and the Secret ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2015 Description / Buy
8 The Cat, the Collector and the Killer ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Sweeney has since written numerous mystery and suspense novels, winning a number of accolades along the way.

Her Cats in Trouble Mystery series tells the story of Jillian and her three cats. Jill is a widow when she is first introduced in The Cat, the Quilt, and the Corpse’, the first of the Cats in Trouble Mystery series books.

Jill and her husband were quite happy when they migrated to their retirement home in the small community of Mercy. But then Jill’s husband died and she was left alone to care for their three rescue cats.

For a long time, Jill’s life revolved largely around her cats. She owned a quilting business that she operated over the internet. But when she wasn’t making and selling quilts, Jill was locked away in her home, hanging with her cats.

She was so immersed in her grief over the passing of her husband that she refused to mingle with the residents of her community.

When The cat, the Quilt, and the Corpse starts, Jill is still struggling to move on. But then the unexpected happens; Jill gets home one day to find that someone broke into her house and took one of her cats.

She tries to enlist the help of the police but they refuse to take her plight seriously. Fortunately, Jill draws the sympathy of Candace Carson, a police officer with a knack for gathering and analyzing forensic evidence.

Candace is determined to climb through the ranks until she becomes a proper detective. She and Jill become fast friends and it isn’t long before they are out and about in their small town, looking for clues, talking to suspects and hunting a potential catnapper.

The rest of the Cats in Trouble Mystery series is spent following Jill around as she finally comes out of her shell, learns to mingle with the residents of her community and makes new friends.

Jill also finds that she has a talent for solving mysteries, and she continues to do just that during her stay in Mercy. The heroine keeps worming her way into Mercy’s most intriguing occurrences, most of which are animal related and using her burgeoning deductive skills to resolve them.

Best Cats in Trouble Mystery Series Books

These novels have been criticized for getting a little preachy about the importance of loving and treating animals right, going so far as to paint every character who hates cats as a bad guy, with some of the best books in this series including:

The Cat, the Sneak and the Secret: Jillian and Tom are just about ready to tie the knot. But before they can make their union official, they are determined to make certain that Finn, Tom’s stepson, is comfortable in the lake house that will soon become their home.

It is for this reason that they permit him to bring Kitty home. Kitty is a cat that Finn fell for, and unfortunately, she is quite the kleptomaniac. At first, Finn is content to simply watch as Kitty sneaks away and returns with one trinket after another.

But then, on one particular occasion, Kitty brings an antique locket home. Now Finn needs Tom and Jill’s help to find the owner.

The Cat, the Collector, and the Killer: A woman is found wandering the streets of Mercy with a kitten in her bag. This becomes Jillian’s problem because her husband is the chief of police. When Tom investigates the woman’s house, he finds a bevy of cats and a dead body.

Now Jillian must prove that the woman isn’t a killer before Tom takes drastic measures.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great series to check out is “The Athenian Mysteries” Series by Gary Corby. Nicolaos is the son of a minor sculptor living in Classical Athens. The ambitious fellow works as an agent for Pericles, a promising young politician. When Nicolaos isn’t too busy babysitting his irritating little brother Socrates or maneuvering the complicated corridors of love, he can be found solving mysteries for Pericles.

The “Flavia de Luce” Series by Alan Bradley is another great one. Flavia de Luce is an intelligent 11-year-old girl living in an English Hamlet in the 1950s. Besides her love of chemistry, Flavia spends her days using her considerable intelligence to solve murders.

What Is The Next Book in The Cats In Trouble Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Cats In Trouble Mysteries Series. The newest book is The Cat, the Collector and the Killer and was released on August, 2nd 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *