Alan Saxon Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alan Saxon is the lead protagonist of the “Alan Saxon” series of novels written by Keith Miles under the pseudonym Edward Marston. The series debuted with “Bullet Hole”, a critically acclaimed novel that was published in 2002 and went on to become a critically acclaimed title, launching one of the most popular crime fiction series.

Get notified when Edward Marston releases a new book at

Order of Alan Saxon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bullet Hole ( By: Edward Marston) 1986 Description / Buy
2 Double Eagle ( By: Edward Marston) 1987 Description / Buy
3 Green Murder ( By: Edward Marston) 1990 Description / Buy
4 Bermuda Grass ( By: Edward Marston) 2002 Description / Buy
5 Honolulu Play-Off ( As: Keith Miles) 2004 Description / Buy
6 Flagstick ( By: Edward Marston) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alan Saxon is a professional championship golfer who has won many championships and is passionate about the game. When the series starts he has several golf championships under his belt and has just hit a rich vein of form going into one of the most important golf tournaments of his career, the British Open Championship.

Being the consummate professional that he is he has been preparing for a long time for this tournament. However, his preparation rituals are thrown into disarray when a pretty golf fan just will not leave him alone. She follows him around the course, asks for a lift and finally ends up in his bed naked

But things get even more complicated when Saxon wakes up to find her dead in his bed. A quick evaluation of the situation soon reveals that the girl may not be the only casualty and that whoever took her out is out in the shadows drawing him out into the open. As the championship enters into its heady finale, Saxon thinks he has an idea of who might be the killer but he has a big decision to make. It is an explosive detective crime story that propelled Keith Miles into the ranks of one of the best mystery writers to emerge in the 1980s.


Double Eagle: This is one of the best and most popular novels in the Alan Saxon series. Alan just hit rock bottom after his golf career flounders, his girlfriend threatens to leave him, he is harassed by an ex and his bank is hounding him to pay back a loan. As such, the offer to leave the dreary and bleak English Winter and go play at the Golden Haze Golf Club in the US comes at the perfect time.

However, he soon finds himself embroiled in an intriguing web of vicious violence as his friend gets murdered with himself the lead suspect. He has to find the killer in the midst of police badgering, betrayal, and beatings or end up in prison for a murder he did not commit. It is a novel full of breathless suspense, humor, and clever plotting interspersed with golf lingo that is a delight right from the first page to the last.

Green Murder: The second novel of the Alan Saxon series is a delightful novel of intrigue following Saxon who has just accepted an offer to go play in Australia. But Sydney is the city where he had spent his honeymoon with his wife and brings a bad taste to his mouth, especially now that his wife is getting married and has denied him visitation rights to their daughter. But that is the least of his troubles as he soon gets invited by Diane Oxley the wife of his benefactor to become her caddy.

What should have been a lazy afternoon on the green turns bad when his charge is abducted resulting in a nightmare of sexual obsession, financial intrigue, murder, betrayal, violence and environmental politics. He can only get back his sanity by playing in the Skins Game where the golf club can help him stave off deepening heartache and extreme danger.

Flagstick: The fourth novel of the series is an incredible thriller with a great plot-line. Saxon flies home for a funeral which just makes his pain worse when old wounds are opened. He flies off to Bangkok where he meets up with a golf obsessed corporate mogul named Shoei Ogino who has a striking resemblance in character to his father. His easy life in Bangkok is cut short when Ogino is murdered and Saxon finds himself deep in family intrigues and a relationship with the patriarch’s daughter.


Many fans of the Alan Saxon series of novels also love the “Sam Skarda mysteries” by Rick Shefchik. The novels are detective thrillers following the professional and romantic life of amateur golfer and Minneapolis police detective Sam Skarda.

Alan Saxon fans also enjoy the “Jack Austin Mystery” series by John R. Corrigan. The lead in the series is Jack Austin a dyslexic PGA golfer and amateur who fights for the game he loves while having to navigate betrayal, murder, violence, and intrigues of love and politics.

What Is The Next Book in The Alan Saxon Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Alan Saxon Series. The newest book is Flagstick and was released on May, 8th 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *