All the Wrong Questions Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “ATWQ” written by author Lemony Snicket (which is the pen name of an author by the name of Daniel Handler) explores Snicket’s childhood apprenticeship with the VFD. He narrates the series, and is set when he is only twelve years old. The books are four adventures that he had in Stain’d By The Sea that each revolve around a certain question that he asked wrong.

Get notified when Lemony Snicket releases a new book at

Order of All the Wrong Questions Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Who Could That Be at This Hour? (By: Lemony Snicket) 2012 Description / Buy
2 When Did You See Her Last? (By: Lemony Snicket) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Shouldn't You Be in School? (By: Lemony Snicket) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? (By: Lemony Snicket) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The town the series is set in was abandoned after Ink Inc. (which was a giant factory that made ink) closed down, and then the town’s sea was drained. While both Lemony and S. Theodora Markson (his chaperone and is known for her unruly hair and being an incompetent member of the VFD) investigate different crimes that come their way, Lemony makes some foes (one of which is an infamous villain that is known by the handle of Hangfire) and some friends. He has to protect the Bombinating Beast, which is a statue that many desire, including Hangfire. This is Lemony’s main mission while apprenticing for VFD.

This series is a prequel to Snicket’s “A Series of Unfortunate Events” series, and it is from the young adult genre. This series provides an expansion of the fictional universe that Lemony Snicket created in “A Series of Unfortunate Events” series. It is set before the Baudelaire children (who are the main characters in the “Unfortunate Events” books) were born. The series has four parts to it, and runs alongside Kit’s (Lemony’s sister) main mission for VFD. It began in the year 2012 with the release of “Who Could That Be at This Hour?”.


For those readers looking to get into the “ATWQ.” written by author Lemony Snicket, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Who Could That Be at This Hour?”, “When Did You See Her Last?”, and “Shouldn’t You Be in School?”.

Who Could That Be at This Hour?: This is the first novel in the “ATWQ” series and was released in the year 2012. This adventure all started in a town that was fading. Lemony Snicket (only a young boy) is far from those that he knew or trusted and begins an apprenticeship for an organization that is held in both secrecy and mystery. Lemony asked some questions that should not have been in his mind.

It is now that he has written an account he should not have and no one should read. Absolutely no one, he is not even sure if he should be reading it. And he is the one that actually wrote it all out.

When Did You See Her Last?: This is the second novel in the “ATWQ” series and was released in the year 2013. What he should have asked was how someone that was missing could be in more than one place at the same time. Instead he asked four wrong questions. Here is the second one.

Here is a new case that Lemony has to solve when his chaperon get a job to find a missing girl. Is she a runaway or was she abducted by someone? Could she have stopped in at a diner somewhere or was she spotted at the store? Is any of this really your business?

Shouldn’t You Be in School?: This is the third novel in the “ATWQ” series and was released in the year 2014. Lemony is now investigating an arson, and quickly finds himself thrust into a big mystery that envelopes the entire town. He wonders who is setting the fires in Stain’d by the Sea.

What secrets are being kept hidden with the Education Department ? Why are there so many school kids in danger? Maybe it was Hangfire, the infamous villain? But why would anyone even ask something like that? Maybe that person should be in school?


The “Diary of A Wimpy Kid” series by Jeff Kinney is another great one. This series is for children and teens, and is from the satirical realistic fiction comedy genre. It is about the struggles for a kid, named Greg Heffley, and the hard time he has fitting in at the start of middle school.

You may also like the “Magnus Chase” series by Rick Riordan. This trilogy of fantasy novels was based on some of Norse mythology. It stars Magnus Chase, who is the son Frey (who is the Vanir god of fertility). Magnus narrates the books in the first person.

What Is The Next Book in The All The Wrong Questions Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The All The Wrong Questions Series. The newest book is Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? and was released on September, 29th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *