Alpha & Omega Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Alpha & Omega series takes place in the Mercy Thompson universe. While the Mercy books are concerned with the Washington State Werewolves, Alpha & Omega tells stories associated with the Montana Wolves.

Order of Alpha and Omega Series By: Patricia Briggs, Peter S. Beagle

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cry Wolf 2008 Description / Buy
2 Alpha and Omega / On the Prowl 2008 Description / Buy
3 Hunting Ground 2009 Description / Buy
4 Fair Game 2012 Description / Buy
5 Dead Heat 2015 Description / Buy
6 Burn Bright 2018 Description / Buy
7 Wild Sign 2021 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Alpha and Omega Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Alpha and Omega / On the Prowl 2008 Description / Buy
2 Cry Wolf 2008 Description / Buy
3 Hunting Ground 2009 Description / Buy
4 Fair Game 2012 Description / Buy
5 Dead Heat 2015 Description / Buy
6 Burn Bright 2018 Description / Buy
7 Wild Sign 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Both series inhabit a world in which supernatural creatures live in secret alongside mankind. They do what they can to pursue normal lives. But every so often, conflict will arise.

While the Mercy Thompson series follows a Native American woman who can take the form of a Coyote, Alpha & Omega is concerned with the lives of Charles, an alpha, and Anna, an Omega.

Anna thought werewolves were a myth. But then she survived a violent attack and woke up to find that she had become one. When readers first meet her in Cry Wolf, the first novel in the series, Anna’s life has taken a problematic turn.

The heroine is part of a pack that mistreats her. Leo, the alpha, is cruel and controlling. And he has no qualms about abusing her and passing her off to his men who will either beat or rape her.

Anna has suffered this horror for three years. And for a while, she feared that the nightmare would never end. When an innocent young man goes missing and Anna determines that Leo is to blame, she takes a calculated risk and contacts Bran, the Alpha of all the werewolves in North America.

The heroine has no idea what to expect when Bran promises to send his enforcer to remedy her situation. But the moment she lays eyes on Charles, she concludes that someone truly special has walked into her life.

And she isn’t wrong. Charles was born a werewolf. That makes him stronger than most other wolves. This is also the reason why he works as Bran’s enforcer. Initially, Charles is determined to quickly deal with Leo and then depart.

But as he gets to know Anna, his priorities shift. He quickly realizes that he is willing to do anything, to kill anyone, to keep her safe. This unexpected emergence of love changes Charles’ life forever, placing both the alpha and his new mate on an unexpected path to a violent future.

The Alpha & Omega series is relatively typical of the YA genre. The hero and the heroine are extraordinary. Not only is Charles an alpha like no other but Anna is a Beta, a rare wolf that has the power to calm other werewolves.

The two fall for one another the instant they meet. But they can’t be together, not initially. Charles has spent so many decades killing his kind that he has made a vow to never form any attachments to other werewolves, lest he is ordered to eliminate them.

Anna, for her part, fears strong wolves. Her brutal history has compelled her to approach everyone with suspicion.

Together, Charles and Anna must overcome their personal demons in order to maneuver the political and supernatural machinations threatening to ruin their existence.

A lot of emphases is placed on Charles and Anna’s lustful desires for one another. Time is also spent exploring Anna’s growth as she transforms from a scared little girl into a powerful werewolf worthy of the position her relationship with Charles affords her.

Best Alpha & Omega Books

Even though these novels are mostly concerned with the love story brewing between the protagonists, there isn’t quite as much sex as one might expect, with some of the best books in the series including:

Cry Wolf: Anna was turned into a werewolf against her will. Then she joined a pack that abused her. After suffering from repeated assaults, Anna finally took action. She called the alpha of all the wolves in North America.

And that alpha sent his son to sort Anna’s situation out. The girl did not know what Charles would do when he came. But the moment she laid eyes on him, she knew that she would never love anyone else.

Hunting Ground: Anna became a werewolf. Then she became Charles’ mate, the son of the alpha of all wolves in North America.

Now they have both been tasked with attending a crucial summit. Bran, Charles’ father, wants the werewolves to reveal their existence to humanity. But Europe’s alpha won’t have it.

However, he is hardly their biggest concern. A pack of vampires is on the loose and they are using magic that only the werewolves can harness.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the “Riley Jenson Guardian” Series by Keri Arthur. Riley is a rare werewolf and vampire hybrid. She works for an organization that polices her kind. However, she mostly performs office work primarily because her supernatural attributes fill her with an all-consuming desire to mate.

When her twin brother goes missing, Riley must control her urges and take action.

Another good series is the Kitty Norville Series by Carrie Vaughn. Kitty is a late-night DJ who uses her airtime to talk about mythical creatures. No one knows that Kitty is a real werewolf. While she would rather stay behind her microphone, circumstances keep conspiring to draw Kitty out into the world.

What Is The Next Book in The Alpha And Omega Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Alpha And Omega Series. The newest book is Wild Sign and was released on March, 16th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *