Kitty Norville Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Kitty Norville refers to a series of novels written by Carrie Vaughn. It is also the name of the protagonist of the books. The Kitty Norville books began in 2005. They follow Kitty Norville, a girl that accidentally begins hosting a show on the radio about the supernatural.

Get notified when Carrie Vaughn releases a new book at

Order of Kitty Norville Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Kitty and the Midnight Hour ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Kitty Goes to Washington ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2006 Description / Buy
3 Kitty Takes a Holiday ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Kitty and the Silver Bullet ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2008 Description / Buy
5 Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2009 Description / Buy
6 Kitty Raises Hell ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2009 Description / Buy
7 Kitty's House of Horrors ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2009 Description / Buy
8 Kitty Goes to War ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2010 Description / Buy
9 Kitty's Big Trouble ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2011 Description / Buy
10 Kitty Steals the Show ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2012 Description / Buy
11 Kitty Rocks the House ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2013 Description / Buy
12 Kitty in the Underworld ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2013 Description / Buy
13 Paranormal Bromance (Short Story) ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2014 Description / Buy
14 Low Midnight ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2014 Description / Buy
15 Kitty Saves the World ( By: Carrie Vaughn) 2015 Description / Buy
16 Kitty's Mix-Tape (By: Carrie Vaughn) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Kitty Norville Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Kitty's Greatest Hits (By: Carrie Vaughn) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Called The Midnight Hour, the phone-in show, which is based in Denver, quickly catches on; this is despite the fact that no one knows their favorite late-night radio DJ is actually a real life werewolf. As a member of the very mythical creatures she talks about, Kitty is determined to keep her identity a secret, even on a radio show that might have a lot of nice things to say about her supernatural status.

The first book in the series, The Midnight Hour, introduced Kitty to readers. It also introduced Carl, the alpha of the pack, to fans, this along with a suspicious preacher whose cries for the supernatural community to come, receive salvation and join his traveling Bible show elicit suspicion and intrigue from Kitty.

The book finds Kitty all too quick to discourage others from yearning for the chance to become one of the Supernatural. Even with all the cool aspects that being a werewolf brings to the table, Kitty cannot ignore the downsides.

Carrie Vaughn has written numerous novels and short stories set in the Kitty Norville universe. The American Author has a Masters in English literature from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Her books are designed to appeal to the fantasy crowd. Indeed, they have been formally categorized as fantasy. However, the Kitty Norville series has so many romantic aspects that the books also tend to appeal to fans of romance.

Carrie has admitted to being surprised by this fact. She was always a fan of fantasy and science fiction. That is all she read as a child and that is what she intended to write. So it came as a surprise when she learned that many considered her to be a romance writer more than anything else.

Kitty Norville Awards

Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Norville books have attracted recognition for their unique and exciting concept, this including awards like the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award in 2005 (Best First Mystery).

Carrie has also garnered credits like The Year’s Best Science Fiction and The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror.

Best Kitty Norville Books

Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Norville books stand out because they have such wide appeal, proving enjoyable for romance, mystery and even fantasy readers, with some of the best books in the series including the following:

Kitty Takes a Holiday: Kitty turned wolf on national television. It was a mistake that forced her to run away, retreating to a mountain cabin where she could enjoy some peace. However, she quickly realizes that escaping her infamy won’t be so easy when a werewolf hunter shows up at the cabin with Kitty’s lawyer in hand.

With a primal threat lurking in the area, Kitty doesn’t know how many of them will escape the woods with their lives. This book is suspenseful from the beginning to the end. There is an element of survival that permeates the story as Kitty and her companions struggle to overcome a powerful form of magic and the creature that is stalking her.

Where most books simply hit the climax and end there, this novel spends almost a hundred pages exploring the aftermath of the climax.

Kitty and the Deadman’s Hand: Kitty and Ben have plans to elope to Vegas and confirm their love the human way. However, the alpha pair’s plans go out the window when they find their hotel inundated by bounty hunters with a deep loathing for werewolves.

Throw in a fake magician who might have real powers and the dark secret tormenting the local vampire community, and it soon becomes clear to Kitty that eloping probably wasn’t the best idea.

The weakest aspect of this book is the relationship. Kitty and Ben spend very little time together, though they have a lot of sex.

Other Book Series you May Like

The “Mercy Thompson” books by Patricia Briggs books follow Mercedes Thompson, the daughter of a Blackfeet Indian who has the power to turn into a coyote. Mercy does different jobs for the supernatural community to make a living.

This book series by Faith Hunter follows “Jane Yellowrock“, a shapeshifting skinwalker who fights all those fiends and creatures that go bump in the night in New Orleans.

What Is The Next Book in The Kitty Norville Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kitty Norville Series. The newest book is Kitty's Mix-Tape and was released on October, 16th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *