Americana Books

Americana is a series of romance novels written by best-selling American author Janet Dailey. The author before her death wrote romance books which have been translated into nineteen languages and over three hundred million copies of her books had been sold globally. The author provided first look at heroes, heroines, and courtships that take place in America, with American assumptions, sensibilities and above all, settings. She introduced western romance, fantasy books set in the American West.

Order of Americana Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savage Land: Texas 1974 Description / Buy
2 Darling Jenny: Wyoming 1974 Description / Buy
3 Fire and Ice: California 1975 Description / Buy
4 Land of Enchantment: New Mexico 1975 Description / Buy
5 After the Storm: Colorado (Short Story) 1975 Description / Buy
6 Boss Man From Ogallala: Nebraska 1975 Description / Buy
7 Show Me: Missouri 1976 Description / Buy
8 The Homeplace: Iowa 1976 Description / Buy
9 Dangerous Masquerade: Alabama (Short Story) 1976 Description / Buy
10 Night of the Cotillion: Georgia (Short Story) 1976 Description / Buy
11 Valley of the Vapours: Arkansas (Short Story) 1976 Description / Buy
12 A Lyon\'s Share: Illinois (Short Story) 1976 Description / Buy
13 Big Sky Country: Montana (Short Story) 1977 Description / Buy
14 The Matchmakers: Delaware (Short Story) 1977 Description / Buy
15 Reilly\'s Woman: Nevada 1977 Description / Buy
16 The Indy Man: Indiana 1977 Description / Buy
17 Six White Horses: Oklahoma (Short Story) 1977 Description / Buy
18 The Widow and the Wastrel: Ohio 1977 Description / Buy
19 Bluegrass King: KY 1977 Description / Buy
20 To Tell the Truth: OR 1977 Description / Buy
21 Sonora Sundown: Arizona 1978 Description / Buy
22 Summer Mahogany: Maine (Short Story) 1978 Description / Buy
23 The Bride of the Delta Queen: Louisiana 1978 Description / Buy
24 Green Mountain Man: Vermont (Short Story) 1978 Description / Buy
25 Beware of the Stranger: NY (Short Story) 1978 Description / Buy
26 Giant of Mesabi: MN (Short Story) 1978 Description / Buy
27 Low Country Liar: SC (Short Story) 1978 Description / Buy
28 Tidewater Lover: VA 1978 Description / Buy
29 Bed of Grass: Maryland 1979 Description / Buy
30 Kona Winds: Hawaii 1979 Description / Buy
31 That Boston Man: Massachusetts 1979 Description / Buy
32 Strange Bedfellow: RI 1979 Description / Buy
33 Sentimental Journey: TN (Short Story) 1979 Description / Buy
34 For Mike\'s Sake: Washington 1979 Description / Buy
35 A Land Called Deseret: UT (Short Story) 1979 Description / Buy
36 Lord of the High Lonesome: ND 1980 Description / Buy
37 Heart of Stone: New Hampshire (Short Story) 1980 Description / Buy
38 Wild and Wonderful: West Virginia 1980 Description / Buy
39 Enemy in Camp: MI 1980 Description / Buy
40 The Mating Season: KS 1980 Description / Buy
41 Southern Nights: Florida (Short Story) 1980 Description / Buy
42 The Thawing of a Mara: Pennsylvania 1980 Description / Buy
43 Difficult Decision: Connecticut (Short Story) 1980 Description / Buy
44 A Tradition of Pride: Mississippi 1981 Description / Buy
45 Dakota Dreamin\': South Dakota (Short Story) 1981 Description / Buy
46 With a Little Luck: Wisconsin (Short Story) 1981 Description / Buy
47 That Carolina Summer: North Carolina (Short Story) 1981 Description / Buy
48 The Travelling Kind: Idaho 1981 Description / Buy
49 Northern Magic: Alaska 1982 Description / Buy
50 One of the Boys: New Jersey 1983 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The love of the west mainly focused on the female who was mostly discriminated in traditional western novels. The Americana series is your passport to a romantic tour of the USA in which each single state is represented.


These are three best books written by Janet Dailey, Dangerous Masquerade, and Northern Magic

Dangerous Masquerade: This is the first novel in Americana series by Janet Dailey. The book introduces the readers to Laurie who is an orphan and raised by her father’s brother, and his charming wife adores their daughter LaRaine, and never paying attention to Laurie but instead constantly abuses her and tells her what a burden she is to her uncle’s family. When Laurie attains 18 years she moves out but LaRaine want to move out too, and thus Laurie aunt guilts her into moving in with her to help her where possible.

It is revealed that unlike the beautiful Laurie, LaRaine is a gold digger whose only ambition is to get herself a rich man to marry her and later become a movie star. Her prayers are finally answered, and successfully gets the opportunity to do both, but to achieve this, she must fly to Alabama to meet her man’s old aunt. But she convinces Laurie to travel to Alabama and get to meet her fiancé aunt, while LaRaine fiancé is in South America on a business trip. But when he returns home, he discovers the truth, and Laurie tries to convince him through explanation, but he doesn’t offer her a chance but instead tells Laurie to continue with her pretense.

The man proves to be a womanizer and abusive as well and mostly grabs Laurie painfully leaving marks in both her arms and wrists. He threatens her both physically and emotionally, but despite all these tortures, Laurie sees a strong man in him, the type of man who can take care of her and also ravish her in bed. Will the two couples who are in constant arguments finally come to terms with each other?

The first novel in Americana series is an interesting read; the characters have been well crafted, the plot is uniquely woven. There is no graphic sex and what the author has instead added to this novel to make it a brilliant read are some light loving. You will love how the characters featured in this book develop and mature as the story progresses.

Northern Magic: The second book in Americana series by Janet Dailey. The book was written in 1982, and it is set in Alaska a time when there were no cell phones, no mention of GPS, or even Global Warming. Shannon Hayes receives a one-way flight ticket from her fiancé. No phone call, no letter just the plane ticket. She packs her belongings and informs her parents that the wedding is that weekend and takes off to the Last Frontier.

However, upon her arrival, she does not find her fiancé, there is no phone number she can use to call him, and no one has seen or even heard him in two weeks, and Shannon Hayes is stuck with in a friendly hotel with nowhere to go. She has an unlimited resource, and she offers to pay for a search party to fly around and search for him. It is later discovered that he crashed in the wilderness and during this search party; Shannon meets Cody Steele who at an instant captures her heart. However Cody is rogue, and he pursues her without hesitation telling her he always gets what he wants. Who will end up marrying Shannon Hayes? Is it Rick her missing fiancé or the arrogant Cody?


If you like Americana book series by Janet Dailey; you will also love these two other novel series. “The Carsons of Mustang Creek” Series written by Linda Lael Miller, a series that features three distinct young men who personify the West and gives a true definition of a rancher. The “Morgan Ranch” series written by Kate Pearce is also an ideal novel series for you.

What Is The Next Book in The Americana Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Americana Series. The newest book is One of the Boys: New Jersey and was released on January, 1st 1983.