Bess Crawford Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Charles Todd is the pen-name of a mother and son writing team. Most of their books feature the shell-shocked World War I veteran and policemen, Ian Rutledge and have been exceedingly popular and have been awarded every critical accolade. However, a few years ago, the two decided that they were not contented with writing a single book every year; thus they began another series, which features World War I battleground nurse, Bess Crawford. The Shattered Tree is the latest installment from the mother and son writing team.

Get notified when Charles Todd releases a new book at

Order of Bess Crawford Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Duty to the Dead ( By: Charles Todd) 2009 Description / Buy
2 An Impartial Witness ( By: Charles Todd) 2010 Description / Buy
3 A Bitter Truth ( By: Charles Todd) 2011 Description / Buy
4 An Unmarked Grave ( By: Charles Todd) 2012 Description / Buy
5 A Question of Honor ( By: Charles Todd) 2013 Description / Buy
6 An Unwilling Accomplice ( By: Charles Todd) 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Maharani's Pearls ( By: Charles Todd) 2014 Description / Buy
8 A Pattern of Lies ( By: Charles Todd) 2015 Description / Buy
9 The Shattered Tree ( By: Charles Todd) 2016 Description / Buy
10 A Casualty of War ( By: Charles Todd) 2017 Description / Buy
11 A Forgotten Place ( By: Charles Todd) 2018 Description / Buy
12 A Cruel Deception ( By: Charles Todd) 2019 Description / Buy
13 A Hanging at Dawn (Short Story) (By: Charles Todd) 2020 Description / Buy
14 An Irish Hostage (By: Charles Todd) 2021 Description / Buy
15 The Cliff's Edge (By: Charles Todd) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Bess Crawford Awards

The fourth installment in the Bess Crawford book series, an Unmarked Grave was nominated for an Agatha award for the category, Best Historical Novel.

Bess Crawford Books into Movies

None of the books in this series have been adapted into a screenplay.

Best Bess Crawford Books

A Duty to the Dead: This is a story about a good looking, upper-class woman, who has decided to become a volunteer nurse during the World War I. Bess is the daughter of a military officer and is exceedingly proud of her military background. During the first scene in the novel, she is not only calm, but she is also fearless during the terrifying shipwreck almost claimed her life. The descriptions that the author gives during the mine explosion and the panicky escape from the sinking ship are not only truly explosive but have also been written with so much realism, thus making everything appear as if they are all in slow motion. As all this happens, Bess comes an exceedingly cool and resolute person who is irresistible and caring.

After introducing the reader to a totally fascinating and admirable heroine, the author also introduces the reader to another incredible hero. Graham is a madman who had managed to escape from an asylum where he was being held for more than fifteen years. When he was a young boy, he decided to murder Peregrine Young, an exceedingly young and good-looking girl. However as expected the killing was not proved. As expected, this is not a romance novel, but rather a cozy English mystery. Despite the fact that both Peregrine and Bess had an almost sizzling physical chemistry, the mystery was not only muddled but also confusing and unintentionally funny.

One day as Bess was serving on the ill-fated Britannia, she meets with an officer known as LT. Arthur Graham. As they get to know one another, Bess gets attached to Arthur Graham, who decides to entrust her with her cryptic secret right before he dies under her care. Since he died in her arms, guilt overwhelms her before the ship is destroyed. As the ship is destroyed, Bess is injured, but she vows to ensure that the message to Arthur’s brother back home. After she successfully recovers from the injuries that she had attained when the ship was destroyed, Bess decides to venture into their estate, only to find out that Arthur’s brother has no idea as what the message meant. Thus, Bess decides to conduct her investigation into their family secret. As she conducts the investigation, she discovers that there was a murder which was committed long ago, and thus it is up to her to find out who the guilty person is.

Other Book Series That You May Like

The “Charles Lennox mystery” series is the USA today bestseller and a classic read from Charles Todd. The first installment in this series is The Shattered Tree, and it begins as Charles Lennox has just received a cryptic plea for assistance from Gerald Leigh, an old schoolmate of his. However, when he begins to look into the issue, he discovers that his old friend had disappeared without any trace. Since the two were extremely close, they shared a secret. After the death of Leigh’s father, a bequest from an exceedingly mysterious benefactor had smoothened Leigh’s path into the world. Because Lennox, has a passionate interest in detective work, his first task is uncovering the mysterious benefactor.

Several years later, Lennox is once again the recipient of another bequest, this time around being even more generous. The question that lingers in Lennox’s mind is whether this bequest is the same person? Or is the money being given poisoned by hidden motives? After his disappearance, it becomes evident that someone who had hidden motives was giving the money. As Lennox tries to save his friend’s life, he is forced into conflicts with the most precarious gangs of the east ends. Lennox must delve into the deep to find out the identity of the person who had been handing out the bequest. With that said, the author’s writing especially in this book series is exceptional. The characters are well developed, and all the books in the series have been well written.

What Is The Next Book in The Bess Crawford Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Bess Crawford Series. The newest book is The Cliff's Edge and was released on February, 14th 2023.

1 thought on “Bess Crawford”

  1. While I thoroughly enjoyed the Ian Rutledge books, I am fairly disappointed in this series (at least those books that I’ve read from it, about 3 total). The plots are circular, predictable, and have been done before. The author (or author duo as I’ve learned from this post) still do a great job of writing realistic dialogue, but I won’t be reading anymore of these books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *