Bone Quest Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Bone Quest is a series of short stories written by Jonathan Moeller which explore the adventures of Ridmark Arban, a swordsman of considerable renown who spends his days roaming the land, slaying monsters and looking for a way to stop an ancient threat from emerging.

Get notified when Jonathan Moeller releases a new book at

Order of Bone Quest Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Bone Orcs (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Skull Trees (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Dagger Jaws (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
4 The Ghost Halfling (Short Story) (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Ruin Gate (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
6 The Elder Shamans (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Bone Quest novels are basically spin-offs of the Frostborn books. It wouldn’t be erroneous to call them prequels in a sense seeing as they chronicle events situated within the history of Frostborn’s protagonist.

The Frostborn novels tell a variation of the Arthurian legend. In Jonathan Moeller’s fictional universe, the grandson of Arthur Pendragon led his people through a magical gate to a new world brimming with mythical creatures and magic.

The purpose was to escape a catastrophe that had overtaken Britain. Over many generations, the survivors of Britain carved out a new kingdom for themselves under the leadership of the High King.

When he was first introduced, Ridmark Arban was a former swordbearer who had lost his rank and title and eventually branded a traitor. Ridmark spent the Frostborn novels fighting to keep his people safe from the threat of the Frostborn which everyone simply refused to see.

The Bone Quest series takes readers into the past, some years before the first Frostborn novel. The short stories, most of which are no longer than fifty pages, follow Ridmark as he tries to locate the Elder Shamans who he believes hold the secret of the return of the Frostborn.

Each story pits Ridmark against some obstacle that he must overcome before he can find the answers he seeks.

The Bone Quest stories first elicited interest when Jonathan Moeller, the author started giving them away to the subscribers of his new-release newsletter. Moeller had written numerous Frostborn short stories before this point, most of them detailing the origins of the companions that eventually joined Ridmark on his quest to stop the Frostborn.

Moeller eventually reached a point where he had explored every story of significance concerning Ridmark’s allies. So he decided to turn his attention to something else, a project that would further expand the Frostborn mythos.

The author will tell you that Bone Quest began as an experiment. He knew that short stories rarely sold, so there was never any doubt that he would have to give them away for free with his newsletters.

But he also believed that the short stories might serve an additional marketing purpose down the line. And if people responded positively to the Bone Quest series, it wasn’t beyond Jonathan Moeller’s abilities to combine all of Ridmark’s stories into a single novel.

With that goal in mind, Moeller made certain that all the stories under the Bone Quest series had a noteworthy connecting thread that he could use to amalgamate them down the line.

It is worth noting that some of Moeller’s fans criticized him for his decision to publish the Bone Quest novels with artwork that so closely mirrored that of the full-length Frostborn novels. They complained that they accidentally purchased Bone Quest titles under the assumption that they were acquiring full-length Frostborn novels.

This development drove Moeller to make alterations to his marketing campaign, making certain that his readers knew what they were purchasing beforehand.

Best Bone Quest Books

The Bone Quest stories are written primarily with fans of the Frostborn series in mind, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Bone Orcs: Ridmark Arban was once a swordbearer of great renown. But then he lost his rank and his title and now he is alone; a disgraced, exiled outcast. But Ridmark hasn’t forgotten who he is or what he was trained to fight for.

So when death cultists assault a village, Ridmark does not hesitate to leap into action, proving once more why he has no peer as a warrior.

The Skull Trees: Ridmark Arban might have had everything of value taken from him but he still has his honor. A former swordbearer, now exiled and disgraced, Ridmak is determined to find the secrets of the return of the Frostborn, secrets that only the Elder Shamans know.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out “The Dragonwalker” Series by D.K.Holmberg. A war fought so many centuries ago eliminated the threat of the dragons. Fire mages grew in prominence, having learned to use the bones of dragons to fuel their magic. Fes is an ordinary thief who is about to realize his grand destiny as the descendant of the Dragonwalkers.

Another series you may enjoy is “The Ghosts” Series by Jonathan Moeller. In a world of magic and fantasy, Caina Amalas is a young girl whose troubled childhood drove her to find solace in her books. When tragedy destroys her life, she finds sanctuary among the Ghosts, a collection of legendary spies and assassins.

What Is The Next Book in The Bone Quest Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Bone Quest Series. The newest book is The Elder Shamans and was released on April, 30th 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *