Frostborn Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Frostborn is a series of epic fantasy novels written by Jonathan Moeller. The books, which began publication in 2013, follow the exploits of a disgraced knight trying to stop a dangerous threat from destroying the land.

Get notified when Jonathan Moeller releases a new book at

Order of Frostborn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The First Quest ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Gray Knight ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Eightfold Knife ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Undying Wizard ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Master Thief ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Iron Tower ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Assassin's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
8 The Dark Warden ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
9 The Gorgon Spirit ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
10 The Broken Mage ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
11 The Knight's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
12 The World Gate ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
13 The Soldier's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
14 The Knight Quests (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
15 The High Lords ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
16 The False King ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
17 The Dwarven Prince ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2016 Description / Buy
18 Excalibur ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
19 The Dragon Knight ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
20 The Shadow Prison ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Frostborn books are pretty small in size. In fact, some readers have accused them of being too short, touching upon a few interesting ideas but ultimately failing to thoroughly explore the concepts of the Frostborn world and the plight of the protagonists.

The Frostborn series starts out like another retelling of the Arthur legend. However, it quickly takes an unexpected turn when readers learn that, following the renowned adventures of Arthur and the tragedies that ultimately befell his rule, the last grandson of Britain’s greatest King chose to lead his people through a gate to a world filled with myth and magic.

There they created a kingdom vast and prosperous enough to put that of their ancestors to shame. And for a time they lived in peace and harmony under the leadership of a High King.

By the time The Gray Knight, the first novel in the Frostborn series kicks off, things have begun to change. There is a threat looming on the horizon and only one man and his companions are willing to take the necessary steps to stop it.

When Ridmark is first introduced to readers, he is just another skilled knight roaming the land. His adventures begin when he is tasked with finding a baptized dwarf that had descended upon a particular community with the intention of evangelizing a bunch of orcs.

Before he grew desperate enough to take menial jobs from random strangers, Ridmark was a great knight, a swordbearer. He possessed a soulblade, a weapon of great magical power, and with it he defended the realm from numerous threats, using his talent with killing to garner a powerful reputation.

But then Ridmark did something he shouldn’t have. For his crimes, he was stripped of his soulblade, forbidden from ever wielding a sword of any kind and banished from the ranks of the knights of the realm.

So now Ridmark is a Gray Knight. Armed with nothing more than a quarterstaff, he spends his days roaming the land, hoping to stumble upon some sort of purpose.

And a purpose is what he finds in Calliande. Calliande is a mage. Her powers were instrumental in defeating a deadly threat to the realm known as the Frostborn. Their first attempt at conquering the world was thwarted.

After that, it became necessary to place Calliande in a magical coma, the idea being to only wake her when her special powers were required; when the Frostborn were on the verge of making a return.

Calliande doesn’t really know any of this when she awakens, though. Her coma has stripped her of vital memories. Only she and Ridmark understand the threat that the Frostborn pose.

The pair spends the Frostborn series trying to find a way of stopping the Frostborn from returning, this as they also search for Calliande’s lost memories in the hopes that she will recover the power they need to save the world.

Best Frostborn Books

Even though these novels have been criticized for utilizing every common trope the fantasy genre has to offer, fans of Jonathan Moeller believe that he has done an amazing job of breathing new life into fantasy fiction, with some of the best books in this series including:

The Dragon Knight: After so much turmoil, Andomhaim is finally united. Its people stand as one force under the rule of a true High King. The achievement should have left the realm better prepared to stop the Frostborn.

But Andomhaim is still weak and it is unlikely that they will have time to muster their strength before the enemy destroys them. Their only hope is the sword of the Dragon Knight. Ridmark Arban must claim it before it’s too late.

The Shadow Prison: The time has come. The Frostborn are finally here, the threat Ridmark has spent all his life readying to fight. But things are not quite as they seem. Terrible as the Frostborn appear to be, they are merely puppets, tools deployed by a darker force. Can Ridmark survive the scourge of the Shadowbearer?

Other Book Series You May Like

Fans of Frostborn also enjoy the “Tides of Blood” Series by Baileigh Higgins. Ava thought life was hard. It took all the strength she could muster to keep herself and her kid sister alive in an increasingly harsh world. But then the Black Tide came, an incurable disease that destroyed the world and civilization as she knew it. Now Ava will learn the true meaning of hardship.

Be sure to check out the “Mageborn” Series by Michael G. Manning as well. Mordecai thought he was just a simple man with a simple life ahead of him as the son of a blacksmith. But then he discovered that he was a mage of considerable strength and that his hands would determine the fate of both men and gods.

What Is The Next Book in The Frostborn Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Frostborn Series. The newest book is The Shadow Prison and was released on May, 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *