Books by the Bay Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Generally, murderers prefer to remain anonymous; as such, they do not leave evidence or hints knowingly. Why, pray, would a murderer intentionally leave a clue at the scene of crime? And yet this is what transpires in the Books by the Bay Mystery series, prompting the characters contained therein to start deciphering.

Get notified when Ellery Adams releases a new book at

Order of Books By The Bay Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Killer Plot ( By: Ellery Adams) 2010 Description / Buy
2 A Deadly Cliché ( By: Ellery Adams) 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Last Word ( By: Ellery Adams) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Written in Stone ( By: Ellery Adams) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Poisoned Prose ( By: Ellery Adams) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Lethal Letters ( By: Ellery Adams) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Writing All Wrongs ( By: Ellery Adams) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Killer Characters ( By: Ellery Adams) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

For starters, Olivia Limoges is the featured central character in the Books by the Bay Mysteries series authored by American penwoman Ellery Adams. The first book portraying Olivia Limoges was originally published in 2010, titled A Killer Plot; and this series of books is classified under fiction, mystery (cozy mystery sub-genre), and suspense genres.

Meet protagonist Olivia Limoges. Limoges, who is a woman in her forties, is still single, apparently by choice because her relationships are merely casual. Behind the facade of the dazzling and moneyed woman, is a person who plumbed the depths of problems during her formative years. Limoges, who was born and bled in Oyster Bay upon North Carolina, had a troubled childhood. First, a fatal accident claimed the life of her mother while she was aged ten. Secondly, her father absconded her parental responsibility when he left the then young girl behind and eventually disappeared. It was Limoges’ grandmother who took her in and saw her through a boarding school, a period during which she left her coastal hometown.

On the flip side, Limoges is badly flawed. She is inconsiderate, a serial offender, loner, unfriendly, withdrawn, snobbish, arrogant, grouchy, and easy to dislike. She has a penchant for flouting her wealth such as through generous tips and mistreating other shoppers by destroying their items before paying twofold. She also gives scant credence to facilities for the disabled.

In the first book in the Books by the Bay Mystery series, A Killer Plot, the turning point are the events–especially joining a writing group– that transpire hard on the heels of relocating to Oyster Bay wherein Limoges operates a restaurant. By the time Olivia Limoges returns–prompting gossip– to Oyster Bay, a highly-rated town that is attracting new residents in droves, she is well-off and has considerable assets in the real estate industry. Incidentally, Limoges, who has a beloved poodle named Captain Haviland, is a yet-to-be-published author. As such, she gets interested in a discussion about writing. She is prompted by an established author to become a member of a regional writing group called Bayside Book Writers. The group founder is Camden Ford, a foreigner. Limoges refurbishes a lighthouse that she owns, making it a meeting place for the writing group.

Unfortunately, Ford disappears and is found murdered shortly thereafter. Interestingly, the murderer has left behind clues in the form of haiku poems; this prompts the writing group members to start sleuthing, assisted by the canny poodle. Author Ellery Adams crafts a remarkable story, infused with humor.

Best Books by the Bay Mystery series Books

The following are the three best books in the Books by the Bay Mystery series.

A Killer Plot: This has been discussed in the previous part.

A Deadly Cliché: This is the second book in the Books by the Bay Mystery series and was initially published in 2011. Hereby, Limoges and her poodle have chanced upon a corpse on the beach which is, apparently, associated with a quick succession of burglary incidents. There are clues, albeit cliched ones. She reaches out to the other members of the writing group and they start deciphering.

The Last Word: The other book, titled The Last Word, is the third book in the said series and was first published in 2011. Hereby, a renowned author has visited Oyster Bay on a working holiday. He is murdered in his residence and, Limoges bumps into his corpse. The writing group is mandated to investigate by the local sheriff.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who enjoyed the Books by the Bay Mystery series also liked the following series of books. The first one is “Library Lover’s Mystery” series, penned by Jenn McKinlay. Lindsey Norris, the featured protagonist, serves as a library director in a Connecticut-based public library. The second one is called “Cheese Shop Mystery” series, authored by Avery Aames. Charlotte Bessette, the featured protagonist, operates a cheese shop that is associated with a series of murders.

The third one is entitled “Embroidery Mystery” series, penned by Amanda Lee. Marcy Singer, a tricenarian protagonist, operates an embroidery shop located in a coastal Oregon town; the premises and Singer are associated with murders, prompting homicide investigations.

What Is The Next Book in The Books By The Bay Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Books By The Bay Mystery Series. The newest book is Killer Characters and was released on May, 2nd 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *