Dakota Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Dakota series refers to a series of books by Debbie Macomber. The “Dakota” in the title refers to North Dakota, specifically the small town of Buffalo Valley. The town is struggling a bit as Linsday Snyder returns to the town that she spent much of her youth on vacation with her family. Macomber breathes real life into the small town and the romance in the book is very real and uplifiting.

Get notified when Debbie Macomber releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dakota Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dakota Born ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Dakota Home ( By: Debbie Macomber) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Always Dakota ( By: Debbie Macomber) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Buffalo Valley ( By: Debbie Macomber) 2001 Description / Buy
5 Dakota Farm / The Farmer Takes a Wife (By: Debbie Macomber) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Debbie Macomber is a New York Times bestselling novelist most famous writer who has sold over 200 million copies of her novels worldwide. In her books, Debbie illustrates various relationships that hold family values and lasting friendships, uplifting one another with love and hope.

Macomber is a true success story. She is dyslexic and her highest education is a high school diploma. Despite that, she remained determined to become a writer and kept at it. She rented a typewriter and worked for years writing manuscripts in her kitchen while at the same time managing to raise four children. She received many rejections over the years, but she kept at it. She did some freelance magazine writing as well.

Fate intervened when she went to a romance writer’s conference and had one of her manuscripts selected to be critiqued by an editor from Harlequin Enterprises. The editor tore apart her novel and even went so far as to recommend that she throw it away. This didn’t deter Macomber though who sent the same book to one of Harlequin’s rivals, Silhouette Books, who was the value in the book and bought and published it. That book was Heartsong which then become the first romance novel to actually be reviewed by Publishers Weekly. Not bad for a dyslexic with a high school education.

Debbie has went on to be known as “the official Christmas storyteller,” her annual Christmas tales warm our hearts with endurance and love. Five of her books have been produced into Hallmark TV movies. Besides writing, Debbie is an entrepreneur running two successful businesses in Port Orchard, Washington; The Grey House Café, and A Good Yarn Shop, initiated in her Blossom Street novels.

The companies operate from the Village Square campus, which Debbie also uses as her office headquarters.Debbie and her husband, Wayne, both sit on the Guideposts National Advisory Cabinet, and she also works with World Vision’s international as a spokesperson for the Knit for Kids charity program. Debbie and Wayne live in Washington and in Florida during winter.

Dakota Awards

The Dakota series has won a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award from the Romantic Times BOOK Reviews Magazine.

Dakota Books Into Movies

The Dakota series has not been featured in any movies.

Best Dakota Books

Dakota Born: The debut novel in the Dakota series, it is the most widely read and most reviewed book on Amazon and good reads online sites. Buffalo Valley, North Dakota is a small town that’s dying. The buildings are falling apart, stores are closing up, sidewalks dilapidated, and houses fading out. But residents press on with hope and a spirit of defiance. The people living in Buffalo Valley still love their town. Lyndsay Snyder is new in the small town, even though she spent her early days vacationing here. She has returned to the family house once more, to discover family secrets and to re-examine her life. Lyndsay has been seeing Monte for two years. He doesn’t show any indications of marrying her, and she must get rid of him.

Lyndsay soon finds out that the local school desperately needs a teacher, and she’s more than happy to take the position. So Lindsay takes a one year contract, partly to stay away from her boyfriend Monte. She loves Buffalo Valley; Dakota and immediately starts making changes. She’s in love with Gage Sinclair, but his obstinacy keeps them distant. Will Lindsay stay on, or leave Dakota when the year is up?

Dakota Home: The second book in the Dakota sequence novel follows Maddy, Lindsay’s childhood friend. She left her hometown to follow her friend Lindsay to Buffalo Valley. Maddy bought the run-down grocery store and warms herself towards Jeb; she gradually falls in love with the farmer that lost his leg in a horrifying farming accident. Maddy finds out that she’s pregnant while crushing at Jeb’s house during a snowfall, but Jeb keeps frustrating Maddy by pushing her away. He suffers from low self-esteem because of his disability and doesn’t think that Maddy truly loves him. Jeb finally loosens up, loving Maddy and accepting her pregnancy. They later marry and welcome their newborn baby in a lovely atmosphere. Lindsay and Gage are also expecting a baby; they coincidentally have a little girl along with Maddy and Jeb. Other couples in the town; Sarah (Jeb’s sister) and Dennis (Jeb’s best friend) and Buffalo Bob Merrily get married as well.

Always Dakota: The third series book of Dakota; Buffalo Valley introduces us to Margaret Clemens and Matt Eilers who have been together for several years. Margaret loves Matt, but she acts like a roughneck rancher and entirely oblivious of her femininity. Her father passed away, leaving her a large ranch to run. She proposes to Matt who is an equally hard working farmer. Matt is sensitive, and quite the gentleman. He is dating Sheryl, a beautiful devious waitress. When Margaret declares an interest in marrying Matt, Sheryl wants him to deceive Margaret and marry her for the cash then later divorce her. Matt instead breaks off with Sheryl and proposes to Margaret for her hand in marriage. Sheryl is not pleased and doesn’t fade off easily. Matt is predominantly featured in the story as a man of honor. Margaret says she loves Matt and is prepared to accept him with his faults eternally. She must prove that she loves him even through the worse times.

What Is The Next Book in The Dakota Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dakota Series. The newest book is Dakota Farm / The Farmer Takes a Wife and was released on August, 1st 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *