Dana Cutler Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dana Cutler is a fictional character in the Dana Cutler series of novels written by legal thriller author Phillip Margolin. The Dana Cutler character was first introduced in Executive Privilege, the first novel of the series published in 2008.

Get notified when Phillip Margolin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Brad Miller / Dana Cutler Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Executive Privilege ( By: Phillip Margolin) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Supreme Justice ( By: Phillip Margolin) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Capitol Murder ( By: Phillip Margolin) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Sleight of Hand ( By: Phillip Margolin) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Dana Cutler is a young private detective working in Washington DC. The series begins with Dana as a successful private detective that has the extraordinary talent of solving the most intricate of mysteries. A powerful attorney, who needs to locate Charlotte Walsh a college girl, hires Cutler.

Cutler witnesses a rendezvous between the young college girl and the president only to wake up to the news that the mutilated body of Walsh had been found, and that she is the main suspect. Dana is now in the fight of her life for her life as well as her career, knowing that fighting a person with the might of the presidency as a foe is one tough proposition.

Meanwhile Brad Miller an associate at an Oregon law firm gets the assignment of defending a killer on death row that is appealing an earlier decision. The convicted man tells Miller that he was not responsible for one of the murder charges brought against him – He did not kill the young woman that worked for the state governor and now president. With the two stories seemingly convergent, Margolin spins a pulse-pounding thriller like no other writer can.


All of the Dana Cutler legal thrillers went on to become New York Times bestsellers making Margolin one of the top writers in the legal thriller genre. Executive Privilege published in 2008 was the recipient of the Spotted Owl Award for the Best Northwest Mystery. In 2009 Margolin was the winner of the Distinguished Northwest Writers Award by Willamette Writers for his literary achievements.


That Margolin had several of his novels and short stories made into movies and TV series, speaks to his exceptional writing skills. One of the author’s most popular novels The Last Innocent Man published in 1981 was adapted into a movie by HBO starring Ed Harris in the main role. Warner Bros adapted the 1993 published novel Gone But Not Forgotten into a TV series that had Scott Glen and Brook Shield in the starring roles. Angie’s Delight a short story that was part of the Murder for Revenge Compilation was adapted into a 13-minute movie starring Chris Farnsworth and Jeff Osterhage.


Of all the Dana Cutler titles, the first book in the series Executive Privilege is deemed one of the best in the series.

Supreme Justice the second book in the Dana Cutler series published in 2010 is a book that is highly regarded by Margolin fans. In this all action novel, Margolin takes the readers on a thrilling journey of nonstop action involving a rogue element of the American intelligence services with whom the presidential nominee is highly involved. After one justice mysteriously resigns and another is viciously attacked, Cutler is called in to investigate the bizarre happenings. Together with Keith Evans and Brad Miller, they uncover a conspiracy and soon find themselves facing vicious foes that would not hesitate to kill to protect their secrets.

Capitol Murder, the third book in the Dana Cutler series is a high-octane thriller that will have readers on the edge of their seat. Coming from successfully unmasking a conspiracy by rogue elements in the CIA and saving a justice’s life, Cutler now working for an American senator in Washington, gets roped in to investigate a mysterious murder at his home. Meanwhile the senator has disappeared with no trace. After a little digging in Oregon, she uncovers a terrorist plot that seems to dovetail into the senator’s shady background.


Many Dana Cutler fans will enjoy the “Dismas Hardy” series of novels by John Lescroart. These are legal thrillers full of multiple murders, political intrigue, and blackmail. Dismas Hardy is a lawyer in Francisco who defends a wide range of clients often putting his life at risk to ferret out the truth. Dana Cutler fans will also find the “Butch Karp” series by Robert K. Tanenbaum quite to their liking. Butch Karp is a New York Assistant DA, who solves mysterious crimes in the city at all costs, even if it means bending the rules.

What Is The Next Book in The Brad Miller / Dana Cutler Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Brad Miller / Dana Cutler Series. The newest book is Sleight of Hand and was released on April, 1st 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *