Dead of Night Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dead of Night is a set of zombie apocalypse books written by a bestselling American author of comics & graphic novels, horror and mystery & thriller books Jonathan Maberry. Set in fictional Stebbins County in Pennsylvania the series features several overlapping characters from Joe Ledger Series among other books. Maberry began the publication of Dead of Night series in 2011 when Dead of Night the first book in the series was published.

Get notified when Jonathan Maberry releases a new book at

Order of Dead of Night Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead of Night ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Fall of Night ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Still of Night ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


These are two best books in Dead of Night series by Jonathan Maberry, Dead of Night and Fall of Night (2014).

Dead of Night: The first book in Dead of Night series is set in a small fictional Pennsylvania town that comes infested with brain-eating zombies after an infamous serial killer injected with a serum that would make his consciousness to stay awake once he is buried awakens in the local funeral home and starts feeding on unsuspecting residents.

The zombie feeding frenzy spreads quickly like a bushfire through the small town, and soon even the cops become the walking dead.

The series debut novel mainly follows officers JT and Dez Fox and journalist Billy Trout through a horrific, approximately 24-hour span in the fictional rural Pennsylvania County. As serial killer had been executed and his only living relative requests that he be sent home for burial. But the doctor administering the injection of death decides to play god, and we all know how it finally turns out. Does the serial killer Homer Gibbons really die? Of course not and this is what sends the whole town into chaos.

The first book in the series is a wonderful read. The main character, Dez Fox, is a broken character. She is snarky and not well like unless you can get close to her. But if you manage to get too close, she is going to treat you in a humiliating way, as reporter Billy knows only too well. Dez’s partner JT is actually the opposite of her. He is open and an excellent fatherly figure to her.

The narrative goes back and forth between Detective Dez Fox and her partner J.T, and Billy Trout and the cameraman and some interludes involving the upper arms of the United States government and the military. Billy and Dez have an off and on relationship and Billy would love nothing more than to be with the woman that he loves. Unfortunately, Dez has spent most of her life pushing away anyone who genuinely cares about her. She is an orphan and J.T. is more of a father figure to her. But Dez is a tough cookie though and when the government starts to turn on the residents of Stebbins; she may be their last hope.

Fall of Night: In the second book in the series, Jonathan Maberry continues the story of what happens to the small Pennsylvania town after a serial killer Homer is injected with a deadly virus which causes him to go on a bloody rampage causing a zombie scene in the small town. Infecting others and ultimately almost causing a zombie apocalypse, Stebbin’s local detective Dez Fox along with his former lover and the reporter Billy attempt to save the townspeople and the kids hiding out in the town’s elementary school but they become trapped by a group of bloodthirsty zombies.

In the meantime Goat, Billy’s cameraman who is in possession of flash disk with valuable information about the zombie virus created by the veteran cold war scientist Volker gets abducted by the serial killer turned zombie, Gibbon. What the serial killer has in his mind is something that no one expected. The president, government officials, and the military must race against time and stop the virus from the further spread, but their techniques only dash along the inevitable.

Fall of Night, the second book in Dead of Night series is a nail-biting sequel- on a wild goose chase for a missing scientist and the zombie infecting the residents, its chilling, hair-raising scary and fast-paced thriller.


If you enjoyed reading Dead of Night series by Jonathan Maberry, then you would find these two book series worth reading; “As the World Dies” by Rhiannon Frater and “Rise Again” by Ben Tripp.

What Is The Next Book in The Dead Of Night Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dead Of Night Series. The newest book is Still of Night and was released on November, 9th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *