Grant County Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Karin Slaughter is widely known for the Grant County series. Set in Heartdale, Georgia, the story takes place from the perspective of the series’s three main characters, Sara Linton who happens to be a part time coroner and Georgia’s pediatrician, Jeffrey Tolliver, Sara’s ex-husband and chief of police and finally Lena Adams who is Jeffrey’s subordinate. The most recent book in this series was published in the year 2007. With that said, Karin Slaughter was born and raised in a small town in Georgia town, ever since she was a child, she has been writing novels and short stories. Apart from being an author, Karin is also the editor of Like a Charm which is a combination of American and British crime fiction writers. Karin currently resides in Atlanta.

Grant County is a fictional area of Georgia that was created by the crime fiction author Karin Slaughter. It is the setting for several of Slaughter’s books, more specifically the fictional town of Heartsdale. The Grant County series features the main characters of Sara Linton, Jeffrey Tolliver and Lena Adams.

Get notified when Karin Slaughter releases a new book at

Order of Grant County Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blindsighted ( By: Karin Slaughter) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Kisscut ( By: Karin Slaughter) 2002 Description / Buy
3 A Faint Cold Fear ( By: Karin Slaughter) 2003 Description / Buy
4 Indelible (By: Karin Slaughter) 2004 Description / Buy
5 Faithless ( By: Karin Slaughter) 2005 Description / Buy
6 Beyond Reach / Skin Privilege ( By: Karin Slaughter) 2007 Description / Buy
7 Genesis / Undone (By: Karin Slaughter) 2009 Description / Buy
8 Short Story (Short Story) (By: Karin Slaughter, Michael Koryta) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Grant County was first featured in Karin Slaughter’s debut novel, Blindsighted. Slaughter herself has said that she made up Grant County from her memories of the small towns that she encountered as a child while living in the US state of Georgia, as well as the characters she came across during her time there. She has also claimed that she decided to create a fictional county and a fictional town to set her series of books in to avoid geographical issues, allowing her to map the town in her mind, instead of having to rely on hard facts.

There are six books in the Grant County series, as Slaughter combined two of her fictional worlds, the Grant County series and her Will Trent series into one world. The last book to be solely set in Grant County was Beyond Reach, which is also cited as one of Slaughter’s most controversial pieces of work, although not for the traditional reasons of how graphic the content is. The story starts off with the series’ heroine Sara Linton being hounded by the town of Heartsdale in a malpractice suit. It then shifts focus onto Linton’s extended family, as well as trouble involving her ex-husband, Jeffrey Tolliver, and Detective Lena Adams, who is lying in hospital beaten and suffering from smoke inhalation. Linton’s back story has repercussions that endanger those around her and could change things forever.

Best Grant County Books

One of the most popular books in the Grant County series is A Faint Cold Fear. It shares most of the preoccupations and characters who were present in the previous books in the series. A Faint Cold Heart talks about a small town coroner, Sara Linton who is caught in an exceedingly complicated relationship with the police chief who happens to be her former lover. She also disapproves some of his brutal methods. Lena was at one time, one of Jeffrey’s trusted employees but now she is a security guard at a local college. She is also coping up with the death of her sister and her own rape and abduction.

Apart from A Faint Cold Heart another popular book in this series is Blindsighted which happens to be the first installment in this series. Just like all the other books in this series, A Faint Cold Heart is set in Grant County. It involves a medical examiner and a pediatrician, Sara and police Chief Jeffrey. In this debut, we are presented with an exceedingly sickly and vicious murder of a young woman. The woman was not only murdered but she was raped before being killed. After the woman is found dead, a series of investigation is launched to look into the issue.

Sara begins performing post-mortem on the body until the extent of the murderer’s brutality is found. Sara’s ex-husband is placed in charge of the investigation. A few days later, a second body is found and this time instead of being dumped the body is crucified. After the body is found, it becomes clear, that Sibyl’s murder was not a one off attack. Blindsighted is truly a great read and will keep you entertained from the beginning to the end.

Other Book Series You May Like

If you are an ardent fan of Karin Slaughter, then you are definitely going to like the “Will Trent/Atlanta” series. Triptych is the first installment in this series. Karin throws a large plot wise net by basing her story in Atlanta. Despite setting the story in Atlanta, Karin does an excellent job in maintaining a close focus on her well portrayed characters. While there maybe a little similarities between the characters in this book and those in the Grant County novel, there are still some original creations in this book. Karin also does an excellent job in throwing a little bit of surprise here and there. The Will Trent/Atlanta series is an exceedingly touching series in a number of ways and it also portrays the other side of trust.

The “Cincinnati” series is also another great read from the critically acclaimed author, Karen Rose. If you are a fan of crime and romance, then this is unquestionably the book for you. It not only has brilliant stories but also excellent characters. The main characters in this series are Scarlett Bishop and Marcus O’Bannon. One night, Scarlet receives a phone call in the middle of the night. Despite the fact that they had met briefly, Scarlet immediately recognizes that it is Marcus O’Bannon. He was asking her to meet him up in one of the most dangerous places in Cincinnati. Upon arriving at the scene, she finds a dead body lying on the scene and Marcus badly hurt. This was the beginning of a rollercoaster ride.

Grant County FAQ

Q: Who writes the Grant County series of books?

A: The Grant County series of books is written by crime fiction author Karin Slaughter.

Q: Where is Grant County?

A: Grant County is a fictional county in the state of Georgia. Although it’s not real, Karin Slaughter did base it on real places she encountered in the state.

What Is The Next Book in The Grant County Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Grant County Series. The newest book is Short Story and was released on June, 7th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *