Island Worlds Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Island Worlds” are a series of fantasy and science fiction novels by John Maddox Roberts that are themed on intergalactic science fiction elements. The first novel of the series was “Act of God” that was first published in 1985 to much critical acclaim. After much commercial success with the first novel, Roberts went on to publish three more titles culminating in the 1990 published “Delta Pavonis”.

Order of Act Of God Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Act of God ( By: John Maddox Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
2 The Island Worlds ( By: John Maddox Roberts) 1987 Description / Buy
3 Between the Stars ( By: John Maddox Roberts) 1988 Description / Buy
4 Delta Pavonis ( By: John Maddox Roberts) 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novels of the “Island Worlds” series are about the interactions and interrelations between space and humanity on planet earth. The themes of the novels range from attacks on planet Earth from outer space, natural phenomenon from space that threaten the planet. and the struggle for resources which can often spill into outer space. The protagonists are in a continual struggle for supremacy on Earth and in space that combine ideologies of equality and fight against servitude in explosive fantasy narratives.

The first novel of the series “Act of God” is set in the Cold War era when Soviet Russia and the United States were at the height of hostilities. The Soviets have been investigating a century old explosion in a remote area of Siberia that had been leveled in 1889. They have had a significant breakthrough and determined the secret of the explosion. They now intend to make use of the technology to attack and annihilate the United States by simulating the explosion and making it look like natural causes.

What follows is a Michael Crichton like narrative as the technology is overtaken by events and evil characters take possession of it. It is an excellent narration of just what evil humanity is capable of and the extent the heroes in our times will go to find them before they destroy the civilization. The great storytelling shows why John Maddox Roberts is deemed one of the best fantasy and science fiction authors to ever have lived.


The “Island Worlds” the second novel of the series that also gives the series its name is deemed one of the best novels of the series. The novel is set in the 21st century where everything that had been predicted for years has finally come to pass. The poor became even poorer while the rich grew even richer. Raw materials have become very expensive and scarce perhaps due to a socialistic bureaucracy that made private enterprise almost impossible or maybe it is because of profiteering capitalists that have hoarded most of it.

The only way to freedom and liberty for the masses is to get off the planet and into space where the asteroid belt is still relatively untouched by human activity. But many people on both sides of the divide do not feel like dividing the Solar system into free, and slave and want independence for all of it.

Delta Pavonis: The fourth novel is another excellent thriller and a must read in the series. The novel is set in Delta Pavonis, an alien planet where human beings migrated to after assurances that aliens found them too ugly to make a meal of. But Dierdre does not believe the assurances having never once believed the words of anyone in authority. The authorities know of her attitude and have in fact assigned her to Pavonis as some sort of punishment for insubordination. The least desirable of the planets they have found, it has some of the most dictatorial rulers though it turns out to be Deirdre’s luckiest break.

Act of God: The first novel of the series is one of the best in the series that showcases some of the most intriguing conflicts of the 20th century. It is a great narrative of just what can happen when men can harness nature for their own evil machinations.


Many fans of the “Island Worlds” series of novels also love the “Star Wars: The Corellian Trilogy” by Roger MacBride Allen. The novels are fantasy and science fiction thrillers featuring Han Solo, an intergalactic hero determined to bring justice to the universe.

Fans of the “Island Worlds” series are also fans of the “Star Trek: Voyager” series of novels by Dean Wesley Smith. The lead in the series is Captain Kathryn Janeway, an intergalactic captain who goes on dangerous adventures in space where he makes allies and encounters a range of adversaries.

What Is The Next Book in The Act Of God Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Act Of God Series. The newest book is Delta Pavonis and was released on October, 1st 1990.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *