Kate Burrows Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Kate Burrows refers to a series of crime fiction novels written by Martina Cole. The books, which started publication in 1993, tell the stories of a Detective Inspector who must juggle the realities of her career with the challenges of pursuing a romantic relationship with a controversial figure.

Get notified when Martina Cole releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of DI Kate Burrows Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Ladykiller ( By: Martina Cole) 1993 Description / Buy
2 Broken ( By: Martina Cole) 2001 Description / Buy
3 Hard Girls (By: Martina Cole) 2008 Description / Buy
4 Damaged ( By: Martina Cole) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When readers first encountered DI Kate Burrows in The Lady Killer, the first novel in the series, the detective thought she had seen everything there was to see on the job.

But then George Markham came into the picture. Dubbed The Grantley Ripper, George had made it his business in life to rape and murder women. And he had already made quite a bit of headway in his efforts to terrorize his English community when he blundered.

The serial criminal murdered the daughter of Patrick Kelly, a local hard man. Patrick was already the most fearsome man in the community, and his daughter was the only thing he cared about.

So when the girl was so savagely taken away from him, Patrick was more than happy to put his illegal businesses on hold to get some much-deserved revenge.

In was in the process of identifying and locating the Grantley Ripper that DI Kate Burrows met Patrick.

She never meant to fall for him. In the beginning, Burrows merely pitied the man. She knew that any association with Patrick would color her reputation. But the man was grieving and she didn’t think that she was going too far in trying to get Patrick justice.

But then the mutual attraction between them grew and Burrows realized that she had begun to love a man whose criminal behavior would ultimately bring her career to ruin.

However, her reservations did little to keep Burrows from falling headlong into a passionate affair with the one person she was better off avoiding.

The Kate Burrows series tells DI Kate Burrows’ tale of love, romance, and crime.

These books, which are set in London, have a fair amount of romance. The heroine has to keep confronting her decision to entertain a relationship with a criminal element.

But at their core, the Kate Burrows novels are crime-fiction. Each installment in the series introduces a savage criminal of some sort that Kate must combat.

The Grantley Ripper who she faces in the first novel was the most depraved soul Burrows had ever faced. And for a time, the DI believed that The Ladykiller would mark her final and most harrowing encounter with evil.

However, Martina Cole, the author, keeps finding ways of raising the stakes. The villains that Burrows faces only grow more depraved with each new novel. And with each new challenge, Burrows must grow an extra layer of skin to survive the assaults on her mind and body.

Best Kate Burrows Books

The Kate Burrows novels have been commended for tackling some very difficult topics, disturbing issues that have continued to plague contemporary society, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Lady Killer: George Markham was a man with horrible appetites. And once he finally surrendered to his lusts, nothing could stop him from raining terror down on those poor women that crossed his path.

But then George killed Patrick Kelly’s son, and everything changed. George was a bad man but Patrick was worse, and his daughter had been the most important thing in his life.

Now DI Kate Burrows must bring George to justice before Patrick draws her into his whirlwind of vengeance.

Damaged: Kate Burrows was a pretty competent DCI. But then she retired. Now a rash of missing schoolgirls has drawn her out of retirement.

There is a new Grantley Killer in town and DCI Carr is going to need all the help she can get to bring him to book.

Other Book Series You May Like

You should check out the Helen Grace series by M.J. Arlidge as well. DI Helen Grace is intimately familiar with the dark side of humanity. It is for this reason that she always keeps everyone at arm’s length, unwilling to give in to love or compassion.

Helen and her team must repeatedly test their mettle against society’s most twisted criminals.

Another great series is the DI Kim Stone Series by Angela Marsons. Kim Stone has many demons in her past. She is forced to confront them when killers and sociopaths begin to emerge, determined to cut through Kim and anyone else that would dare keep them from meting out their unique brand of terrorism.

What Is The Next Book in The Di Kate Burrows Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Di Kate Burrows Series. The newest book is Damaged and was released on September, 19th 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *