Kingfountain Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kingfountain is a series of fantasy novels written by Jeff Wheeler and which follow the exploits of a little boy who must save a kingdom from a king he loyally serves.

Get notified when Jeff Wheeler releases a new book at

Order of Kingfountain Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Queen's Poisoner ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Thief's Daughter ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2016 Description / Buy
3 The King's Traitor ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2016 Description / Buy
4 The Hollow Crown ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Silent Shield ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2017 Description / Buy
6 The Forsaken Throne ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Kingfountain series begins with The Queen’s Prisoner. The first book in the series, The King’s Prisoner introduces readers to King Severn Argentine, a ruthless monarch whose reputation of having usurped the throne and killed every other claimant to his authority has allowed him to control the Kingdom with fear.

Severn’s fortunes look like they might fall when the Duke of Kiskaddon attempts to remove him from power. However, his plot fails and, in an attempt to punish him, not to mention keeping him under the thumb of the throne, Severn commands the Duke to send his young son to the palace.

Owen was only 8-years-old when he became Severn’s hostage. His family was given little choice but to give him up. Failure to do so would have seen their entire line destroyed.

By the time he arrived at King Severn’s court, Owen knew that he stood on a knife’s edge and that any treacherous actions on the part of his family would see his life ended. So Owen had to learn to play his part. He blended into his captor’s world, grew his skills, and found a way to thrive.

The first quarter of the Kingfountain series primarily explores Owen’s childhood in King Severn’s court. Severn is ever suspicious of the little boy and Owen keeps taking drastic steps to prove that he is a loyal and relevant servant of the throne.

While shy and uncertain at the start, the little boy begins to find his stride. He discovers his magic, learns the sword and slowly transforms into a strong and capable warrior that Severn has little choice but to recognize.

As the Kingfountain series progresses, it becomes clear that King Severn is an irredeemable megalomaniac who will stop at nothing to attain absolute power. So Owen has to plot and strategize in secret, looking for allies inside and outside the kingdom in the hopes of eventually overthrowing Severn.

The first Kingfountan novel is the most popular of the bunch, primarily because most readers had no problem falling in love with Owen as a little boy discovering magic and trying to survive the political intrigue of his new home.

Opinions become more divisive as Owen grows into his late teens and early twenties, with some readers suggesting that the transformation strips some of the whimsy and wonder out of the novels.

The Kingfountain’s political intrigue bears a lot of resemblance to European history’s War of the Roses. This has driven some people to call the series a child-friendly version of Game of Thrones.

Best Kingfountain Books

The Kingfountain series is most commonly praised for its extensively developed world and exciting political machinations, with some of the best books in the series including:

The King’s Traitor: Owen was just a scared little boy when he came to King Severn’s court. But he has since become a skilled and trusted officer. Owen realizes that it might be time to initiate his plot against his King when Severn’s ruthlessness reaches new heights.

With Severn’s campaign for conquest presently in full swing, Owen must team up with a neighboring Kingdom’s beautiful, powerful ruler if he wants to free Kingfountain from its corrupt monarch.

The Silent Shield: Kingfountain is in chaos. Owen has disappeared and Trynne Kiskaddon must step up to the plate, learn to wield her new powers and forge new alliances if she is to keep the kingdom intact and her people safe.

King Gahalatine won’t make things easy for her, having unleashed his forces against the land.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Endarian Prophecy” Series by Richard Phillips is another fantastic read. Lorness carol is the daughter of a warlord and a wielder of powerful magic. According to prophesy, she will also rise up one day to destroy a great evil. When that evil sends Blade to kill her, it has no idea that the ruthless assassin loves Carol more than life itself.

Readers also enjoy the “Throne of Glass” Series by Sarah J. Mass. Throne of glass is a series of young adult fantasy novels that follow the exploits a young girl who agrees to work as an assassin for a corrupt kingdom in an attempt to gain her freedom.

What Is The Next Book in The Kingfountain Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kingfountain Series. The newest book is The Forsaken Throne and was released on November, 14th 2017.

2 thoughts on “Kingfountain”

  1. The first book in this series is actually named “The Queen’s POISONER…… (not Prisoner) I made the same mistake when I first read the title.

  2. I can’t wait to give The Queen’s Prisoner to my nephew so he can start reading this series. I think he’ll really enjoy it. I’ve read the first three books and I plan on finishing the series (hopefully soon). Wheeler, the author, creates a beautiful setting and the characters are written so well; it’s hard not to like this series. The books have it all: fantasy, wizards, war, peace, monsters. They’re great!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *