Kyle Swanson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kyle Swanson is the chief protagonist in the Kyle Swanson series of novels by the American writer Jack Coughlin. Coughlin published the first novel in the series “Kill Zone” in 2007, before he went on to publish several more titles in the still ongoing detective thriller series.

Get notified when Jack Coughlin releases a new book at

Order of Kyle Swanson Sniper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Kill Zone ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Dead Shot ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Clean Kill ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2010 Description / Buy
4 An Act of Treason ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Running the Maze ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Time to Kill ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2013 Description / Buy
7 On Scope ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2014 Description / Buy
8 Night of the Cobra / One Hit ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2015 Description / Buy
9 Long Shot ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2016 Description / Buy
10 In the Crosshairs ( By: Jack Coughlin) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Gunnery sergeant Kyle Swanson is an elite marine sniper, and a member of a special operations team facing up to intrigue and betrayal in the modern day battlefield. He is a Bob Lee Swagger type of character, though he has served in Somalia rather than Vietnam. Having served in Special Operations he has the skill set to track, investigate, and unravel the plots of dangerous conspirators, terrorists, and all manner of crooks working against the United States.

The first novel in the series “Kill Zone” begins the story of Kyle Swanson, who gets a call to go on a top-secret rescue mission of a high-ranking American general, while he is on vacation in the Mediterranean. He is told that Middle Eastern terrorists are holding the general in an undisclosed location and threatening to behead him. As Kyle and his fellow Marine prepare for landing in the Syrian Desert, they unexpectedly crash with Swanson the only man to emerge alive from the wreckage to realize that they had been set up for an ambush. Just who had leaked the information about such a top-secret mission to the enemy?

Taking off across the unforgiving desert, Swanson is up against a dangerous and ruthless enemy, who will do anything to thwart his mission of rescuing the general. It turns out that his adversaries are high-ranking American officials with powerful friends in the White House, who will do anything to gain total control over the US military. What follows is an incredible narrative as Swanson battles vicious assailants who will stop at nothing to achieve their mission. The novel is an excellent piece of storytelling that speaks to why the series of novels has made Coughlin one of the most popular military thriller writer from the US.


Kill Zone: Similar in plot and characterization to Stephen Hunter’s Point of Impact, the first novel “Kill Zone” is one of the best novels in the Kyle Swanson series of novels. The story of a sniper who battles the desert and an assortment of expert assailants out to kill an American general for the control of the American military is a thrilling read. The fact that the terrorists happen to be American rather than your usual Middle Easterners makes for quite an innovative feel.

In The Crosshairs: The tenth novel in the series. Things come to a head when the Central Intelligence Agency and their elite field agent Kyle Swanson come under attack at the same time. Kyle is in a somber mood at a friend’s funeral, when a terrorist detonates a bomb blowing up the grave. Barely a week after the funeral, he narrowly escapes death when he is attacked with a grenade while working in Berlin. Meanwhile, his bosses in Washington have been fed wrong information asserting that he has turned rogue. Teaming up with Luke Gibson, Swanson must now fight a war on two fronts. He needs to find the person so keen to frame or kill him and while at it, clear his name in Washington.

An Act of Treason: The fourth novel in the series is a gripping novel that opens with Swanson and CIA agent Lauren Carson who is also his girlfriend, having their world turned upside down while on a mission in Pakistan. Swanson is arrested and imprisoned while his girlfriend is accused of being a spy. The only person they could have hoped would get them out of their predicament is Jim Hall, who used to be Swanson’s mentor and Laurens former lover and boss. However, the man has gone rogue and is selling American secrets to the enemy and looking to finish off his two protégées. What follows is a game of chicken, as Kyle and Hall stalk each other from the Bavarian Alps to the streets of Washington.


Many fans of the Kyle Swanson series of novels also love the “Dan Shepherd” series of novels by Stephen Leather. Dan who has been christened “Spider” is a crack SAS trooper who has retired to join an undercover elite special ops squad that undertakes some of the most dangerous assignments in law enforcement.

Fans of the Kyle Swanson series also loved the “Sniper Elite” series of novels by Scott McEwen. The lead in the series is Gil Shannon, a man who leads a Special Ops unit in carrying out dangerous clandestine operations inside hostile countries.

What Is The Next Book in The Kyle Swanson Sniper Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kyle Swanson Sniper Series. The newest book is In the Crosshairs and was released on August, 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *