Legacy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Legacy is the name of Catherine Coulter’s romance series. The books fall squarely within Coulter’s Regency series. Before Coulter began to succeed on the mainstream market with her FBI series, she was most prominently known for her Regency series.

Get notified when Catherine Coulter releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Legacy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wyndham Legacy ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1994 Description / Buy
2 The Nightingale Legacy ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1994 Description / Buy
3 The Valentine Legacy ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1995 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

These were books set in England several centuries ago, and they followed the lives of largely wealthy and privileged men and women who struggled with their passions with one another for various reasons. The Legacy series is among Coulter’s Regency books.

It is also set in the Regency era of England. As has become the case with many of Coulter’s books set within this time period, the heroes of the Legacy series are not particularly likable. Even the most decent ones seem to have a casual attitude about issues like rape.

And it should be noted that rape features rather prominently in the Legacy books. While many readers have expressed concern about Coulter’s penchant for treating the issue so casually, the author cannot be blamed for representing the Regency era in the most truthful light possible.

Historians will tell you that things like rape were hardly an issue back then, and even the incestuous elements in Coulter’s Legacy books wouldn’t have attracted much attention. Of course, that hasn’t stopped some readers from decrying Coulter’s decision to bring two first cousins together in a sexual and sometimes violent relationship.

Catherine Coulter studied European history in college. The subject fascinated her, and it comes as no surprise that she so easily gravitated towards the historical aspects of Europe as a writer.

Her Legacy books are filled with very misogynistic characters that Coulter tries to represent in a sympathetic light. The fact that her heroines are so aloof and docile, often treated as doormats, doesn’t help the opinions surrounding the Legacy series.

The books are not very intimately connected, though characters from different books have brief interactions throughout the trilogy.

Best Legacy Books

Catherine Coulter’s Legacy Books do not actually differ that drastically from her other Regency Era novels, though there are more incestuous elements in this series, with some of the best Legacy books available including the following:

The Wyndham Legacy: Marcus Wyndham and the Duchess are in difficult situations. He had no interest in becoming Earl of Chase, to begin with. She never wanted to be illegitimate, and now it looks like their destinies have been forced together.

Marcus and the Duchess are such different people. Marcus is extreme in everything. He gets angry a little too easily. However, he laughs just as quickly. The tough Earl tries to dominate the serene and aloof Duchess who maintains control at all times ad rarely smiles.

The Duchess relies upon no one and looks to her own strength at all times, especially in light of discovering a talent that only she has. This pair comes together in the company of three unlikely servants who are nowhere near as servile as they should be.

This book is very representative of the times. In other words, the romance between the hero and heroine isn’t very romantic. This isn’t even taking into account the fact that the protagonists are first cousins.

Both the hero and heroine deploy so many uncouth strategies in order to get their way that it is hard to root for either of them. The servants surrounding Marcus and the Duchess are surprisingly interesting and very easy to cheer for. The conclusion of this book is very quick and straightforward.

The Nightingale Legacy: As she approaches her 19th birthday, Caroline Derwent-Jones cannot wait to leave the frighteningly obsessing auspices of her guardian Roland Ffalkes. She runs away from him the first chance she gets, only to encounter Lord Chilton, a man that claims to be a nothing more than a lonely beggar but to whom Caroline is drawn.

There are a lot of charming aspects in this book, this including a house filled with only men. Despite all the abuse and misogyny, the hero and heroine eventually evolve to become protagonists worthy of the support and praise of readers.

Other Book Series you May Like

The “Outlander” series is written by Diana Gabaldon. It is one epic story broken into single volumes, each of which acts like a chapter in the massive tale. The series follows Claire Randall, a nurse from World War II who finds herself in Scotland in the 18th century.

Written by Meljean Brook, the “Iron Series” is a steampunk inspired collection of novels with elements of romance within which nanotechnology and pirates are brought together to engage in conflict in the Victorian era.

What Is The Next Book in The Legacy Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Legacy Series. The newest book is The Valentine Legacy and was released on August, 1st 1995.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *