Outlander Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“Outlander” series by Diana Gabaldon written by: Ameliana The Outlander series is a series of novels and shorter works which contain elements of mystery, historical fiction, romance, fantasy and science fiction. Written by Diana Gabaldon, this series consists of 8 published novels and several novellas and short stories which tie in with the original series and often serve as prequels. Diana Gabaldon started the series in 1980 as an experiment which served to test her skills as writer, as well as whether she actually enjoyed writing, both of which resulted in a positive conclusion, with the first book in the series being officially published in 1991.

Get notified when Diana Gabaldon releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Outlander Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Outlander / Cross Stitch ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 1991 Description / Buy
2 Dragonfly in Amber ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 1992 Description / Buy
3 Voyager ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 1993 Description / Buy
4 Drums of Autumn (By: Diana Gabaldon) 1996 Description / Buy
5 The Fiery Cross ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 2001 Description / Buy
6 A Breath of Snow and Ashes ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 2005 Description / Buy
7 An Echo in the Bone ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 2009 Description / Buy
8 Written in My Own Heart's Blood ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Outlander Short Stories By: Diana Gabaldon, Steve Berry

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Custom of the Army (Short Story) ( By: Diana Gabaldon) 2010 Description / Buy
2 A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows (Short Story) (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2012 Description / Buy
3 A Plague of Zombies (Short Story) (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Virgins (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Space Between (Short Story) (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Past Prologue (Short Story) (By: Diana Gabaldon, Steve Berry) 2019 Description / Buy
7 A Fugitive Green (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2022 Description / Buy
8 Besieged (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Outlander Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Trail of Fire (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Seven Stones to Stand or Fall (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Outlander Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Outlander Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Outlandish Companion (By: Diana Gabaldon) 1999 Description / Buy
2 The Outlandish Companion Volume Two (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2015 Description / Buy
3 The Official Outlander Coloring Book: An Adult Coloring Book (By: Diana Gabaldon) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Outlander Companion Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Official Outlander Companion Cookbook ( By: Theresa Carle-Sanders) 2016 Description / Buy
2 To the New World and Back Again (By: Diana Gabaldon, Theresa Carle-Sanders) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series centers around Claire Beauchamp Randall, a British World War II nurse who finds herself facing the challenge of her life when she indulges in time-travel. The first novel, Outlander, opens with Claire as she accidentally travels through time to the 18th century while on a second honeymoon through the Scottish Highlands with her husband Frank Randall. As she is no longer in 1945, Claire must overcome the intrigues and dangers presented by 1743, as war rages through Scotland, and Claire finds herself torn between two men residing in two different timelines. In order to escape the often sadistic Jack Randall, her first husbands’ ancestor who questions her origins, Claire is forced to marry Jamie Fraser, a young Scots warrior who will have her questioning her true feelings. As the vibrant world of 1743 Scotland unveils with its specific mythology, customs, traditions, beliefs, clans and clashes, Claire must decide whether she wishes to become a part of this unfamiliar, yet enchanting world or return to her first husband and the 1940s. Each of the following books covers a certain time period from the past, alongside with its customs traditions and beliefs, all in great detail and accuracy.


Gabaldon’s book series Outlander has had the honor of receiving certain prestige awards during the course of its publication. The first book in the series, Outlander, won the RITA award for Best Romance novel of 1991, while the 6th novel in the series, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, won the Quill Award for best Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror in 2006, after debuting as the #1 best-seller according to New York Times. The latter award is especially considered an outstanding success, as that year, Gabaldon had beaten acclaimed masters of these genres, George R.R. Martin and Stephen King.


On August 9, 2014, the Outlander series debuted as a TV show on Starz, with Caitriona Balfe starring as Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser and Sam Heughan starring as Jamie Fraser. The first two seasons cover the first two books in 35 hour-long episodes. This critically acclaimed adaptation quickly found audience among the fans of the books, as well as among those who enjoy multi-genre TV fiction.


The two best books in the Outlander series are the 6th book, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, and the 8th book, Written in My Own Heart’s Blood.

A Breath of Snow and Ashes: The 6th book opens in 1772 as the American Revolution rages, and Independence approaches, while Jamie Fraser contemplates his own death which is allegedly recorded to be in 1776. Once again, time-travel reveals mysteries, and raises new questions, as politics, unrest and the matter of loyalty challenge the Fraser family and everything the care about.

Written In My Own Heart’s Blood: The 8th book in the Outlander series once again delivers an account of a turbulent historical period from the view of an outsider of the era, while the fortunes of war turn in the battles of the American Revolution. As rebels gain the upper hand in 1778, back in the 20th century, Claire’s descendants face their own plights when her daughter Brianna must save her son from criminals and her husband Roger encounters his own time-traveling difficulty.


For those who enjoyed the Outlander series, there are several other similar book series. “The Ghosts of Culloden Moor” by L.L. Muir cover a range of romantic ghost stories set in the Highlands. Each of the 19 books focuses on one of the ghosts of Culloden Moor, as they dwell on romance and the revenge they crave beyond the grave.

Also an interesting read for Outlander fans is the “Wilderness” series by Sara Donati. This series focuses on another unsustainable romance at the end of the 18th century, as an Englishwoman falls in love with an American in the American wilderness.

What Is The Next Book in The Outlander Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Outlander Series. The newest book is Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone and was released on November, 23rd 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *