Legendary Lovers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Legendary Lovers is a series of novels that were written by Debbie Macomber back in the 1980s. They were some of the first books Debbie ever wrote. Debbie’s story is an inspirational one.

Get notified when Debbie Macomber releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Legendary Lovers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cindy and the Prince ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Some Kind of Wonderful ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1988 Description / Buy
3 Almost Paradise ( By: Debbie Macomber) 1988 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in 1948, Debbie was diagnosed with dyslexia at a very young age. And as such, her dream of writing always seemed like an impossibility. However, she refused to allow this handicap to keep her from her goals.

Even after her first real story was decimated by an editor who encouraged her to throw it out altogether and her first manuscripts were rejected, Debbie still persevered, eventually selling her first novel to Silhouette Books.

Today, Debbie is one of the greatest Romance novelists in publishing. She has become renowned for writing unique Women’s Fiction. The author writes a lot about the relationships women have with other women, not to mention the struggles they face and how they overcome.

Her Legendary Lovers series constitute three books which basically retell fairy tales set in modern times. Using variations of stories like Beauty and the Beast and Snow White, Debbie endeavors to deliver uplifting messages about life that inspire and provide hope.

Because of her Christian Faith, while these romance novels feature elements of sensuality, there are no explicit sex scenes in the books. Some of the scenarios Debbie creates in the Legendary Lovers books are a little unrealistic.

But her message usually comes through, and the story eventually comes together to deliver fun and entertainment.

For her efforts as a romance writer, Debbie has attracted accolades like the Quill Award and RITA award.

Best Legendary Lovers Books

Debbie Macomber has written so many books that her legendary Lovers novels, having been published so early, often go unnoticed. Though, fans of the author have begun to discover them anew, with the best books in the series including the following:

Some Kind of Wonderful: Judy Lovin isn’t like other Socialites in New York. She is a rare gem, beautiful on the outside but also quite attractive on the inside. And for Judy, her family comes first, even above any fame or fortune that life might have to offer.

As such, when her father’s business falls into ruin and the only other person offering to help the family out turns out to be John McFarland, Judy accepts his assistance. This is despite the fact that John is her father’s most powerful enemy.

John’s expectations catch Judy off guard. He wants her to join him on a remote Caribbean Island, and she agrees. Once they begin spending time together, Judy is startled to learn that John isn’t exactly the person she imagined.

Debbie uses Some Kind of Wonderful to retell the Beauty and the Beast story. John McFarland is the beast in this case, and people actually refer to him as such. Judy, on the other hand, has spent her life hearing her father call her Beauty, and for good reason.

The two couldn’t be more different from one another. Everyone knows John for being difficult and overbearing. Judy is a sweet and delicate teacher. Debbie’s determination to maintain the structure of the original Beauty and the Beast Tale definitely restricts her.

Almost Paradise: Sherry White loves to have fun. However, her well-intentioned stepmother makes things a little difficult, which is why Sherry is delighted when she receives an opportunity to attend a summer camp for intellectually gifted children.

However, the actual camp is hardly the getaway she expected, not with the seven girls with whom she must share a cabin and the handsome but disapproving camp director who keeps a strict eye on things.

Jeff Roarke is all business and he has no time for romance.

This book tells a fun and sweet love story. The book is predictable, for the most part; however, that isn’t surprising. The book is a retelling of Snow White, and Debbie makes an effort to stick to the dynamics of the original story.

But the characters are still fun, even with the simplistic story.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Steel Brothers Saga” books by Helen Hardt follow the Steel Brothers, young men that have been broken by childhood trauma and who struggle they meet women who could heal them but might just as easily shatter them into smaller pieces.

The “Trinity Harbor” novels are written by Sherryl Woods. They center on the Spencers, a powerful family that is often the talk of Trinity Harbor for the controversies that arise from amongst their ranks when it comes to matters of love.

What Is The Next Book in The Legendary Lovers Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Legendary Lovers Series. The newest book is Almost Paradise and was released on September, 1st 1988.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *