Liam Campbell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Liam Campbell stars in this series, which is set in Newenham, Alaska. Liam is a state trooper. He is one of the two most known characters that Dana Stabenow has written about; the other being Kate Shugak. Both series are set in the same universe. Unlike the Shugak stories, these focus on relationship that Wy and Liam have with one another. There are both novels and short stories to the series.

Get notified when Dana Stabenow releases a new book at

Order of Liam Campbell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fire And Ice ( By: Dana Stabenow) 1998 Description / Buy
2 So Sure Of Death ( By: Dana Stabenow) 1999 Description / Buy
3 Nothing Gold Can Stay ( By: Dana Stabenow) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Better To Rest ( By: Dana Stabenow) 2002 Description / Buy
5 Missing, Presumed... (Short Story) (By: Dana Stabenow) 2004 Description / Buy
6 On the Evidence (Short Story) (By: Dana Stabenow) 2004 Description / Buy
7 Spoils of the Dead (By: Dana Stabenow) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series made its debut in the year 1998, when the first novel, “Fire and Ice” was released. The fact that Dana was born in Alaska helps her write the series, as it gives her the ability to describe the scenery and make it feel as though the readers are there with the characters.


Library Journal named “Fire and Ice” the Best Mystery novel that came out in the year 1998.


For those readers looking to get into the “Liam Campbell” series by Dana Stabenow, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Fire and Ice”, “So Sure of Death”, and “Nothing Gold Can Stay”.

Fire and Ice: This is the first novel in the “Liam Campbell” series and was released in the year 1998. The city of Newenham, Alaska is not as luxurious as Anchorage; it is also quite far away. Anchorage is where Liam made a name for himself as a state trooper on the rise, and everything was going his way. Then his life fell apart. Newenham is the end of the line, he got transferred here in disgrace. It is a rough and tumble town near the shores where a lot of fishing happens. This is the one last chance he will get to turn things around, and get his life back. He will land very rough. Even at the airstrip at Newenham, he steps onto a crime scene, and sees a body that has been torn up by a Piper Super Cub propeller. Quite the welcome to town. Wyanet Chouinard, the woman that Liam sees bending over the body. She is also the one and only woman that Liam has ever loved; not to mention, his current prime suspect. The town has one good place to get a burger, and a man is held hostage there. He is held for shooting out a jukebox that was playing Margaritaville by Jimmy Buffet. And this all happens before Liam can put his uniform on.

So Sure of Death: This is the second novel in the “Liam Campbell” series and was released in the year 1999. A local family is found after being horribly murdered, while adrift at sea. State Trooper Liam Campbell gets pulled right into the middle of a big circus. One that involves tribal taboos, a romance that is forbidden, and adultery. Liam is going to have to get through the politics of the Native-Alaskan population, something that will prove to be murky. He will also have to look into tribal mores, as well as some deeply held secrets.

Nothing Gold Can Stay: This is the third novel in the “Liam Campbell” series and was released in the year 2000. A tragic accident caused Liam Campbell to lose both his son and his wife. After all of that, he has finally begun to put his life back together, in Newenham. It is a fishing village full of independent and proud natives; things are heavy with loyalty, violence, and fear in this town. There is a case he is working, something that looks like it should be a routine thing, when more murders happen. It started as a robbery gone bad, but two more murders happen after the first. There is a chilling pattern that he notices emerging. He is taken down a twisting and turning path that leads him back some years and right to a sinister killer. This killer has a agenda that no one else knows about; one that could prove lethal for Campbell and those he loves.


“Jacob Rohn” series by R. A. Quinn. One of the many novels set in the beautiful and harsh Alaskan wilderness, this series stars Jacob Rohn (or Jake as he has been called). He is an investigator in Fort Yukon.

“Sam Westin” series by Pamela Beason stars Sam Westin (real name is Summer) as a wildlife biologist that writes an outdoor adventure blog. She stars in this series that debuted in the year 2011.

What Is The Next Book in The Liam Campbell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Liam Campbell Series. The newest book is Spoils of the Dead and was released on February, 4th 2021.

1 thought on “Liam Campbell”

  1. What about the ending of Better To Rest, leaving the reader in limbo about the gold coins, Liam’s Dad saying he knew who the book/diary belonged to, many unanswered questions. Seems a few of the Liam stories were left unanswered, thinking the next book would finish that part of the story but it doesn’t. It just starts a new story. I have read all of the Kate Shugak stories and they end with the story, if not it does continue in the next book in a brief way. I like along with many of my friends who read these books, to have the story finished.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *