Kate Shugak Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kate Shugak stars in her very own series of mystery novels that is written by award winning author Dana Stabenow. Except for the break in between the fourteenth and fifteenth books in the series (that saw no books come out in either the year 2005 or the year 2006), a novel has been released once a year.

Order of Kate Shugak Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Cold Day For Murder 1992 Description / Buy
2 A Fatal Thaw 1992 Description / Buy
3 Dead in the Water 1993 Description / Buy
4 A Cold-Blooded Business 1994 Description / Buy
5 Play with Fire 1995 Description / Buy
6 Blood Will Tell 1996 Description / Buy
7 Breakup 1997 Description / Buy
8 Killing Grounds 1998 Description / Buy
9 Hunter's Moon 1999 Description / Buy
10 Midnight Come Again 2000 Description / Buy
11 The Singing of the Dead 2001 Description / Buy
12 Under the Influence (Short Story) 2001 Description / Buy
13 A Fine and Bitter Snow 2002 Description / Buy
14 A Grave Denied 2003 Description / Buy
15 A Taint in the Blood 2004 Description / Buy
16 Wreck Rights (Short Story) 2004 Description / Buy
17 A Deeper Sleep 2006 Description / Buy
18 Conspiracy (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
19 Whisper to the Blood 2009 Description / Buy
20 A Night Too Dark 2010 Description / Buy
21 Though Not Dead 2010 Description / Buy
22 Nooses Give (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
23 Restless in the Grave 2012 Description / Buy
24 Bad Blood 2013 Description / Buy
25 Less than a Treason 2017 Description / Buy
26 No Fixed Line 2019 Description / Buy
27 Not the Ones Dead 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series began in the year 1992 when “A Cold Day for Murder” came out. Stabenow set the series in her native state of Alaska. Kate mainly interacts with an indigenous group of people near where she lives called Aleuts (of which she is one), and the Eskimos that are in Alaska. She lives on a national park (which is on 160 acre homestead) with her wolf dog (a half husky and half wolf mix) that she has named Mutt. Kate is an ex- investigator for the District Attorney in Anchorage, and was quite a big deal at her job.


The first novel in the series, “A Cold Day for Murder” won an Edgar Award in the Best Paperback Original category in the year 1993. In the year 2012, “Though Not Dead” (which is the eighteenth novel in the series) won a Nero Award.


For those readers looking to get into the “Kate Shugak” series by Dana Stabenow, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “A Cold Day for Murder”, “A Fatal Thaw”, and “Dead in the Water”.

A Cold Day for Murder: This is the first novel in the “Kate Shugak” series and was released in the year 1992. A National Park Ranger has gone missing, in the many acres that make up “The Park” (which is found in the hinterlands of Alaska). The detective that is supposed to find the young man also goes missing. Anchorage District Attorney’s department has nowhere left to turn but to their ex-investigator. None other than Kate Shugak. She is of the Park and knows it like the back of her hand. The search pushes her back into a world that she had left behind. Not to mention people and other problems that she never wanted to look at again.

A Fatal Thaw: This is the second novel in the “Kate Shugak” series and was released in the year 1992. Kate Shugak is doing her spring cleaning, not knowing that just a few miles away a man is losing his sanity. When the gunfire dies out, nine of his neighbors are dead in the snow. Is he responsible for killing eight of the victims or all nine? Victim number nine was killed with a different weapon than the other victims. Mutt and Kate have to figure things out. Especially about the life of the deceased blonde woman with the troubled past to find her killer. It is not going to be an easy thing t do, as every other Park rat had a motive for killing her. It could have been a wife wanting revenge or an ex-lover, wanting the same thing. Did a deal she was working on with some ivory smuggler go wrong? Jim Chopin (the state trooper that lives in the park) even had a past with the victim.

Dead in the Water: This is the third novel in the “Kate Shugak” series and was released in the year 1993. A crab vessel, called the Avilda, just had two crew members go missing; and under circumstances that fills a lot of people with suspicion. There is plenty of means and opportunity in the Bering Sea, but there are no bodies, evidence of foul play, or motive. So there is no case for the DA’s office. Kate Shugak is freelancing for her old employers. This time, she works undercover as a crab fisherman. One of the most dangerous professions you get can into in Alaska. Either the crew mates will kill her or the job will. She will go from Dutch Harbor to very isolated Aleutians.


“Alaska Mystery” series by Sue Henry. Also called “Alex Jensen and Jessie Arnold” series, it is a series that has won Henry some awards. She is able to make you feel as though you are in Alaska while these characters are fighting for their lives.

Sharon McCone Mystery” series by Marcia Muller. Sharon McCone is a private eye in the city of San Francisco. Books in the series started coming out in the late seventies and now has over thirty novels to the series.

What Is The Next Book in The Kate Shugak Series?

The next book in the The Kate Shugak Series by Dana Stabenow is Not the Ones Dead and will be released on April, 13th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.